PIC16LF1828 FCDX file

For Flowcode users to discuss projects, flowcharts, and any other issues related to Flowcode 6.

Moderator: Benj

Post Reply
rnicos
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Oct 01, 2013 6:53 am
Contact:

PIC16LF1828 FCDX file

Post by rnicos »

Most PIC16LF1828 sold today are 7K program memory (some are still 4k), but the FCDX file or BoostC complier LIB restricts you to 4K.

Is there an updated file for this chip that allows 7K program? Or is there a work-around?

User avatar
Benj
Matrix Staff
Posts: 14865
Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2006 10:48 am
Location: Matrix TS Ltd
Contact:

Re: PIC16LF1828 FCDX file

Post by Benj »

Hello,

Have you tried Flowcode 7 or 8? It doesn't use BoostC and so the compile limit has been removed.

You can use Flowcode 8 completely unlocked for 30-days for free if you want to try it out.

rnicos
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Oct 01, 2013 6:53 am
Contact:

Re: PIC16LF1828 FCDX file

Post by rnicos »

I am using licensed copy of Flowcode 6, so no, I have not tried Flowcode 7 or 8. Maybe we will look into an upgrade if it will fix the problem.

rnicos
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Oct 01, 2013 6:53 am
Contact:

Re: PIC16LF1828 FCDX file

Post by rnicos »

Hi Benj, I did try Flowcode 8 and the PIC16LF1828 chip is still limited to 4K words.

Is there a why to update the compiler to allow the use of 7k words?

Thanks, Reg

User avatar
medelec35
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
Posts: 8927
Joined: Sat May 05, 2007 2:27 pm
Location: Northamptonshire, UK
Contact:

Re: PIC16LF1828 FCDX file

Post by medelec35 »

rnicos wrote:
Sun Oct 28, 2018 4:05 pm
Most PIC16LF1828 sold today are 7K program memory (some are still 4k),
Are you confusing words with kB?
For example if you look a Farnell you will see that pic16F1828 has 7kB of flash memory.
However the datasheet shows memory as 4k words.
Therefore 7kB = 4k words
One is in bytes the other is words.
To convert words to bytes x 1.75
Since PIC microcontrollers has 14bit instruction words.
Reason for the 1.75 is 1 word = 14bits
= 14/8 bytes
= 1.75 bytes

I believe it is very unlikely the microcontroller have 4K in one batch and 7K in another.
It would be a manufactures nightmare that will use the microcontroller.
For example suppose they had 7K then accidentally got sent 4k and the memory used is 6K.
Martin

Post Reply