PIC16F19156

For Flowcode users to discuss projects, flowcharts, and any other issues related to Flowcode 6.

Moderator: Benj

User avatar
JLeith
Posts: 521
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2012 7:49 pm
Location: British Columbia Canada
Has thanked: 143 times
Been thanked: 26 times
Contact:

PIC16F19156

Postby JLeith » Fri Jul 05, 2019 4:27 pm

Hello
I'm using Flowcode 6 and I need a PIC16 with higher ram for a OLED display project

I selected PIC16F19156 for the task but I can't find the chip (Build - Find Target)

PIC16F19156 I/SP-ND from DigiKey

John

User avatar
Benj
Matrix Staff
Posts: 14223
Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2006 10:48 am
Location: Matrix TS Ltd
Has thanked: 4363 times
Been thanked: 4096 times
Contact:

Re: PIC16F19156

Postby Benj » Fri Jul 05, 2019 4:32 pm

Hi John,

We currently do not support this device, even in Flowcode 8. I could look at adding it into v8 if that would be useful.

I'm afraid that the compiler shipped with Flowcode 6 will not support this chip.

User avatar
JLeith
Posts: 521
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2012 7:49 pm
Location: British Columbia Canada
Has thanked: 143 times
Been thanked: 26 times
Contact:

Re: PIC16F19156

Postby JLeith » Sat Jul 06, 2019 12:30 am

Hi Benj

That is a sad time. I would of thought PIC16 family would cover all chips or at least have a update to Compiler.

The chips arrived this morning $16 dollars down the drain

Benj do you happen to know a 28pin chip with SRAM Byte 2048 ?

I have a SSD3106 OLED display that needs more memory other then 1024.

The PIC16F family in Flowcode 6 all work work with my Compiler ?

John

User avatar
medelec35
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
Posts: 8384
Joined: Sat May 05, 2007 2:27 pm
Location: Northamptonshire, UK
Has thanked: 2389 times
Been thanked: 3418 times
Contact:

Re: PIC16F19156

Postby medelec35 » Sat Jul 06, 2019 12:58 am

Hi John,
JLeith wrote:Benj do you happen to know a 28pin chip with SRAM Byte 2048 ?

Looking at devices Flowcode 6 supports then what about 18F26K80?
It has 3.6K of SRAM which is over 1K more than PIC16F19156.
You can't program the newer devices with PICkit 2, without a resistor in series with VPP.
Maybe best to use PICkit 3/4 or mikroProg for PIC, dsPIC, PIC24, and PIC32.
It's not PIC16F but I'm using an 18F chip to drive a 5in resistive touch LCD and its works brilliantly!
These users thanked the author medelec35 for the post:
JLeith (Sat Jul 06, 2019 1:03 am)
Rating: 5.26%
 
Martin

If you read a post that is useful, please show appreciation by clicking on thumbs up Icon.

User avatar
JLeith
Posts: 521
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2012 7:49 pm
Location: British Columbia Canada
Has thanked: 143 times
Been thanked: 26 times
Contact:

Re: PIC16F19156

Postby JLeith » Sat Jul 06, 2019 1:04 am

Thank you Martin.

Let me try the PIC18F26K80 and see if my program will complies to hex.

Back in a few minutes

John

User avatar
JLeith
Posts: 521
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2012 7:49 pm
Location: British Columbia Canada
Has thanked: 143 times
Been thanked: 26 times
Contact:

Re: PIC16F19156

Postby JLeith » Sat Jul 06, 2019 1:13 am

Hi Martin
I was able to select the PIC18F26K80 it didn't like my use of A4.
Has a internal OSC.

It compiled to Hex. Hurray...

Did get some cautions.

Caution: argument of 'delay_us' calls must have a value of 1 or more
Caution: Delay inaccurrate: 'delay_us', Delay overhead:0ms, Unit delay:0.00101725ms, Delay resolution:1 units
Caution: Delay inaccurrate: 'delay_ms', Delay overhead:0ms, Unit delay:1.00016ms, Delay resolution:1 units
Warning unreferenced functions removed:

Here is my OLED project. Flowcode
Attachments
Team OLED July 3 .fcfx
(144.58 KiB) Downloaded 17 times

User avatar
medelec35
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
Posts: 8384
Joined: Sat May 05, 2007 2:27 pm
Location: Northamptonshire, UK
Has thanked: 2389 times
Been thanked: 3418 times
Contact:

Re: PIC16F19156

Postby medelec35 » Sat Jul 06, 2019 1:44 am

JLeith wrote:Caution: Delay inaccurrate: 'delay_us', Delay overhead:0ms, Unit delay:0.00101725ms, Delay resolution:1 units
Caution: Delay inaccurrate: 'delay_ms', Delay overhead:0ms, Unit delay:1.00016ms, Delay resolution:1 units

Take a look at this post
Also at this post
Glad it compiles for you that is promising.
These users thanked the author medelec35 for the post:
JLeith (Sat Jul 06, 2019 4:17 pm)
Rating: 5.26%
 
Martin

If you read a post that is useful, please show appreciation by clicking on thumbs up Icon.

User avatar
JLeith
Posts: 521
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2012 7:49 pm
Location: British Columbia Canada
Has thanked: 143 times
Been thanked: 26 times
Contact:

Re: PIC16F19156

Postby JLeith » Sat Jul 06, 2019 4:19 pm

Morning Martin.

Thank you for the info on the "Caution". New beginnings for me in the PIC18 world.

John

User avatar
medelec35
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
Posts: 8384
Joined: Sat May 05, 2007 2:27 pm
Location: Northamptonshire, UK
Has thanked: 2389 times
Been thanked: 3418 times
Contact:

Re: PIC16F19156

Postby medelec35 » Sat Jul 06, 2019 8:16 pm

Hi John, not just for the 18f world but same applies to the 16f world as well.
These users thanked the author medelec35 for the post:
JLeith (Wed Jul 17, 2019 7:46 pm)
Rating: 5.26%
 
Martin

If you read a post that is useful, please show appreciation by clicking on thumbs up Icon.

User avatar
JLeith
Posts: 521
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2012 7:49 pm
Location: British Columbia Canada
Has thanked: 143 times
Been thanked: 26 times
Contact:

Re: PIC16F19156

Postby JLeith » Tue Jul 23, 2019 1:23 am

Hello Martin
My new PIC18F26K80 arrived and I started the design for a OLED display

I tried to load the PIC18 and it fails code 36

Check my connections all look good.
Here is a mock up of the board.

PIC18 error.png
PIC18 error.png (196.12 KiB) Viewed 769 times


I listed the NFR905 wiring as black leads and the OLED

The error says it cant find the PIC ?
suggestions

John

User avatar
JLeith
Posts: 521
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2012 7:49 pm
Location: British Columbia Canada
Has thanked: 143 times
Been thanked: 26 times
Contact:

Re: PIC16F19156

Postby JLeith » Tue Jul 23, 2019 1:35 am

Thought maybe my PICKIT2 won't load a PIC18F26K80

I tried doing a Hex load with Pickit 2 and it could not find a PIC18F26K80

Does this mean I should purchase Pikit3

John

User avatar
JLeith
Posts: 521
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2012 7:49 pm
Location: British Columbia Canada
Has thanked: 143 times
Been thanked: 26 times
Contact:

Re: PIC16F19156

Postby JLeith » Tue Jul 23, 2019 1:51 am

I see the Pickit 3 at Microsoft is $47.95

And there is a Pickit 4 in the market for $47.95.

Not sure if I need to upgrade should I get the 4 or 3 version. seeing they are the same price ?

John

User avatar
Benj
Matrix Staff
Posts: 14223
Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2006 10:48 am
Location: Matrix TS Ltd
Has thanked: 4363 times
Been thanked: 4096 times
Contact:

Re: PIC16F19156

Postby Benj » Tue Jul 23, 2019 10:38 am

Hi John,

Wow that's expensive! I remember when you could buy the PICkit 3 with a nice dev board for £18.

The PICkit 4 is likely more future proof. I have used one but nowhere near as much as I have used a PICkit 3 so it's hard for me to make a good call.
These users thanked the author Benj for the post:
JLeith (Tue Jul 23, 2019 4:41 pm)
Rating: 5.26%
 

User avatar
JLeith
Posts: 521
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2012 7:49 pm
Location: British Columbia Canada
Has thanked: 143 times
Been thanked: 26 times
Contact:

Re: PIC16F19156

Postby JLeith » Tue Jul 23, 2019 4:52 pm

Hello Benj

Thank you for responding to my latest wow as me.

I think I will go with the PicKit 3 seeing that appears to be the most common.

I found on for sale on Amazon Prime £17.73 or $29 cdn.

Now my next mountain to climb. It only comes with the PicKit3 interface.
No CD.

Benj do you know where I can get the Software and I recall the mess I had getting my Pickit2 settings
It took 3 weeks to find the settings when I had to get a new laptop.

Pickit2 Compiler.png
Pickit2 Compiler.png (7.49 KiB) Viewed 744 times


Once I find the software to download I will purchase the new PicKit3 from Amazon.

Thank you
John

User avatar
Benj
Matrix Staff
Posts: 14223
Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2006 10:48 am
Location: Matrix TS Ltd
Has thanked: 4363 times
Been thanked: 4096 times
Contact:

Re: PIC16F19156

Postby Benj » Wed Jul 24, 2019 2:04 pm

Hi John,

Good find, that sounds like a better price!

You need MPLAB X and when installing make sure that the IPE option is ticked, this is what Flowcode uses and also allows you to program stand alone.

Flowcode details are here.
https://www.matrixtsl.com/wiki/index.ph ... _.28NEW.29

Or go to the Flowcode wiki and search for PICkit.
These users thanked the author Benj for the post:
JLeith (Wed Jul 24, 2019 7:28 pm)
Rating: 5.26%
 

User avatar
JLeith
Posts: 521
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2012 7:49 pm
Location: British Columbia Canada
Has thanked: 143 times
Been thanked: 26 times
Contact:

Re: PIC16F19156

Postby JLeith » Wed Jul 24, 2019 7:35 pm

Hello Benj

Thank you so much for the help.

I have placed my order for the PicKit3

I will let you know how it goes.

John