Page 1 of 1

GSM Flowcode

Posted: Sun Oct 09, 2016 5:57 am
by keyanyan
Hi guys im new here and im currently working a project that uses a pic16f877a microcontroller. Im just wondering if i can use the gsm component in flowcode. This is the module that i use Elecrow SIM808.

Re: GSM Flowcode

Posted: Sun Oct 09, 2016 10:25 am
by QMESAR
Hi ,
My guess would be that it would be possible as it seems that your module has RX and TX connections (UART) and it should send NEMA messages which the FC component can decode

Hook it up and give it a go :)

Re: GSM Flowcode

Posted: Sun Oct 09, 2016 11:12 am
by keyanyan
Hi QMESAR,
Thank you for the confirmation i will try it later :)

Re: GSM Flowcode

Posted: Sun Oct 09, 2016 2:51 pm
by EtsDriver
QMESAR wrote: it should send NEMA messages which the FC component can decode
NEMA? - Judging by the picture its GSM module onboard is SIMCom SIM808, so standard AT commands are the controlling messages.

The full list of commands can be downloaded on the SIMCom site when scrolling product page down.
SIM800.PNG
(33.82 KiB) Downloaded 1676 times
NMEA is GPS protocol... and there is a application example about that on the datasheet page 52.

But the Flowcode included GSM component should be able to handle this module. Just wanted to clarify its AT, not NEMA commands.

Re: GSM Flowcode

Posted: Sun Oct 09, 2016 5:24 pm
by QMESAR
But the Flowcode included GSM component should be able to handle this module. Just wanted to clarify its AT, not NEMA commands..
My sincere apologies for saying NEMA instead of AT commands thank you for correcting me ,
although I had at that moment GPS and not GSM module in my mind , in either case FC should work for the original poster as I tried to help him

Re: GSM Flowcode

Posted: Sun Oct 09, 2016 6:12 pm
by keyanyan
So i tested it and it did not work. I first tried using the command on the gsm CheckNetworkStatus and if it is connected it would send a value of 1 and 255 if no connection. Sadly i got 255. This is the sample flowcode that i use in testing it.

Re: GSM Flowcode

Posted: Mon Oct 10, 2016 5:13 pm
by Benj
Hello,

How are you powering the module. Are you using a Lipo cell battery or a DC PSU? If using a PSU then what voltage and current is it rated at?

The SIM808 module requires an input supply voltage of 3.4 - 4.4V and a current capability of 2A.

Also the PIC and GSM board will need a common ground, e.g. a wire connecting the VSS pin on the PIC and Ground pin on the GSM board.

Depending on the voltage of your microcontroller you may also need a potential divider on the TX pin to reduce the voltage from 5V to more like 3V.

This topic may help.
http://www.matrixtsl.com/mmforums/viewt ... 25&p=77104

Re: GSM Flowcode

Posted: Wed Jan 25, 2023 1:35 pm
by Zoli2496
Hello!

I use Flowcode V9 software. It contains the GSM module (EB066, Generic AT). I would like to ask how to call a specific phone number using the module. (just ring the phone) Which macro component should be used and how? Unfortunately, I couldn't find an example program in the Help menu.

Thank's

Re: GSM Flowcode

Posted: Wed Jan 25, 2023 2:40 pm
by Steve
Zoli2496 wrote:
Wed Jan 25, 2023 1:35 pm
I use Flowcode V9 software.
Can you please post your request to those forums instead of here so we and fellow users can support you better.

Re: GSM Flowcode

Posted: Wed Jan 25, 2023 2:50 pm
by chipfryer27
Hi Steve

I was just going to suggest the same :)

Meanwhile here is a link to some posts that may help in using a GSM module with "AT" commands,

viewtopic.php?p=106927#p106927

Regards