Error opening Flowcode file

For Flowcode users to discuss projects, flowcharts, and any other issues related to Flowcode 6.

Moderator: Benj

Post Reply
ncc1502
Posts: 43
Joined: Mon Apr 07, 2008 9:18 pm
Contact:

Error opening Flowcode file

Post by ncc1502 »

When I try to open my last Flowcode program, I get the error:

Failed to open document.
Can not load <schema> without a block header

OK



Can this be repaired?

User avatar
medelec35
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
Posts: 9014
Joined: Sat May 05, 2007 2:27 pm
Location: Northamptonshire, UK
Contact:

Re: Error opening Flowcode file

Post by medelec35 »

First make sure you have the latest V6 then try and open the file again.
You can try looking for.001 file from the project directory and rename to .fcfx
That file is a backup copy.
If you want to keep the file that could be corrupted the rename it before completing the above step, so you don't have two files with the same name.
Martin

ncc1502
Posts: 43
Joined: Mon Apr 07, 2008 9:18 pm
Contact:

Re: Error opening Flowcode file

Post by ncc1502 »

medelec35 wrote:First make sure you have the latest V6 then try and open the file again.
You can try looking for.001 file from the project directory and rename to .fcfx
That file is a backup copy.
If you want to keep the file that could be corrupted the rename it before completing the above step, so you don't have two files with the same name.
Thanks Martin,

Unfortunately, that did not work.

User avatar
medelec35
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
Posts: 9014
Joined: Sat May 05, 2007 2:27 pm
Location: Northamptonshire, UK
Contact:

Re: Error opening Flowcode file

Post by medelec35 »

Can you post the 001 file?
Martin

ncc1502
Posts: 43
Joined: Mon Apr 07, 2008 9:18 pm
Contact:

Re: Error opening Flowcode file

Post by ncc1502 »

Hi Martin,

I sent jou the file by PM.

Thanks for having a look at it.

User avatar
medelec35
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
Posts: 9014
Joined: Sat May 05, 2007 2:27 pm
Location: Northamptonshire, UK
Contact:

Re: Error opening Flowcode file

Post by medelec35 »

Hi,
Not a problem.
Just looked at the Flowchart you sent via pm.
There is no chance at all of any recovery.
It looks like the file has been totally wiped.
Every single byte from start to finish is a null character:
Corrupt Flowchart.png
(146.89 KiB) Downloaded 2681 times
That would be a typical file that has had an anti forensic data wiper used on it
Has one been used?
Martin

User avatar
Benj
Matrix Staff
Posts: 14929
Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2006 10:48 am
Location: Matrix TS Ltd
Contact:

Re: Error opening Flowcode file

Post by Benj »

I've seen some network attached storage do this type of thing before too.

User avatar
tiny
Posts: 197
Joined: Wed Jul 08, 2009 8:29 am
Contact:

Re: Error opening Flowcode file

Post by tiny »

Hi,
I had a similar problem. After installing a Samsung 860 EVO SSD, I installed the supplied software "Samsung Magician". Everything worked fine, until exactly this described error message came when opening a FC file. When checking with an editor (Notepad ++) I saw that parts of the file contained useless strings. After some attempts without improving the bug, I uninstalled the Samsung software and have not had any problems since then.
For me, it was a software component, maybe this post helps a bit with troubleshooting.

Christina

ncc1502
Posts: 43
Joined: Mon Apr 07, 2008 9:18 pm
Contact:

Re: Error opening Flowcode file

Post by ncc1502 »

Hi Martin,

Thanks for the effort.

@Benj
It is/was stored on a nas.


I saved the file before building the program. When the programming was finisched somehow the power of the NAS was cut of.
Due to the fact that the file was saved just before, I did not save the program local an stopped working at the project. I assume the file was not closed and that is what caused it.

Fortunate I had a backup of a week age, I did loose quite a bit of work but due to the fact that it was fresh in my memory I could program it back to where I was relatively fast.

Post Reply