Add option to send break to RS232 component

Please add any feature requests for Flowcode version 6 here

Moderator: Benj

Forum rules
Only feature requests will be considered here. General questions should not be posted in this forum.
Post Reply
kersing
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
Posts: 1953
Joined: Wed Aug 27, 2008 10:31 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Add option to send break to RS232 component

Post by kersing »

The current RS232 component does not have a macro to send a break to the output. It would be useful if this feature could be added.
“Integrity is doing the right thing, even when no one is watching.”

― C.S. Lewis

User avatar
Benj
Matrix Staff
Posts: 14948
Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2006 10:48 am
Location: Matrix TS Ltd
Contact:

Re: Add option to send break to RS232 component

Post by Benj »

Hi Jac,

Would the break simply output low for a period greater then a byte period? e.g. so the stop bit is not detected.

kersing
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
Posts: 1953
Joined: Wed Aug 27, 2008 10:31 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Add option to send break to RS232 component

Post by kersing »

Benj wrote:Would the break simply output low for a period greater then a byte period? e.g. so the stop bit is not detected.
Yes, to quote from the dsPIC33EP256MU806 datasheet:
UTXBRK: UARTx Transmit Break bit
1 = Sends Sync Break on next transmission – Start bit, followed by twelve ‘0’ bits, followed by Stop bit;
cleared by hardware upon completion
Of course different controllers use different registers/bits so it would be nice if it could be included in the component.

Some Microchip controllers like the 18F2X/45K50 series use break for auto baud or even "Auto-Wake-up on Break" (page 275 of the data sheet). The mechanism relies on the driving controller being able to send the break...
“Integrity is doing the right thing, even when no one is watching.”

― C.S. Lewis

User avatar
Benj
Matrix Staff
Posts: 14948
Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2006 10:48 am
Location: Matrix TS Ltd
Contact:

Re: Add option to send break to RS232 component

Post by Benj »

Hi Jac,

Ok so it's something that some chips support in hardware. It certainly looks possible so I'll get it on the list and try and have a go next time I get a min. Should be easy to do with the software mode and would also come in handy for LIN based comms. We currently have an intern working for us on the compiler conversion and the PIC32 chip pack so maybe I could divert him for half a day or so to investigate.

AutoBaud would be another good feature but I would have to think about this one.

Post Reply