Page 1 of 1

uart for gps with atmega16

Posted: Tue Apr 08, 2014 3:48 pm
by faran039
how can i use uart for atmega16 as i am having a gps connected with atmega16 and want to display latitude and longitude on an lcd???

Re: uart for gps with atmega16

Posted: Wed Apr 09, 2014 12:42 pm
by Benj
Hello,

The easiest way is to use the GPS component to translate the NMEA GPS messages that arrive on the UART receive pin.

There is an example here that demonstrates how to receive and display values on the LCD.

http://www.matrixmultimedia.com/wiki/in ... d1894d7e7e

Let me know how you get on.

Re: uart for gps with atmega16

Posted: Wed Apr 16, 2014 5:21 pm
by faran039
sir i am having trouble in opening this file as this file is important for me
please help me

Re: uart for gps with atmega16

Posted: Thu Apr 17, 2014 11:03 am
by medelec35
Hi faran039,
What version of Flowcode are you running?
If you have internet connection you can then load Flowcode and select 'Help', 'Check for updates....'

File opens with V6.0.7.

Do you see any warning or error messages?

Martin

Re: uart for gps with atmega16

Posted: Fri May 02, 2014 9:39 pm
by faran039
why i am not getting the values of latitude, longitude and time in flowcode when i connect my GPS module with my computer's COM port instead of using GPS data injector in flowcode???

please tell me i am having trouble here ...

Re: uart for gps with atmega16

Posted: Fri May 02, 2014 9:42 pm
by faran039
please reply as soon as possible

Re: uart for gps with atmega16

Posted: Wed May 07, 2014 4:31 pm
by Benj
Hello,

Can you confirm that the GPS module is sending out data. You can use a program like RealTerm to view the data coming from the module.

If this work ok then ensure you set the COM port and baud rate correctly in Flowcode. You should be able to use the console window to view the raw data coming through on the COM port as well as any GPS data that is being decoded.