Increment value and display in C

For C and ASSEMBLY users to post questions and code snippets for programming in C and ASSEMBLY. And for any other C or ASM course related questions.

Moderators: Benj, Mods

chouchou

Increment value and display in C

Post by chouchou »

Hi to all, want to ask some advice to me.As my primary thing with electronics is hardware, I am having some difficulties learning programming. Unfortunately, my college where I study offers no such course because my major is language, but I'm interested in programming. so for my project this year I decided to incorporate some, to force myself to learn it, however, I am struggling to understand some of it! I have been building up separate parts of my code and most of it is working, however, I am trying to display a count on an LCD010 http://www.kynix.com/Parts/3945502/LCD-010.html, and each time a button is pressed, I want it to increment by 1.

I managed to do this successfully on an Arduino (as there are many example sketches out there) but I want to do my project using an STM Nucleo (F103RB). I tried to transfer the example code over, and edit it using commands the online mbed IDE would understand, but it would not work. I then found a few different examples and each gave me different results. I eventually came up with my own code following a guide in adding/subracting in the book 'C Programming: A mordern approach'. The code I have come up with is here:

#include "mbed.h"
#include "TextLCD.h"

DigitalIn ip(D7);
TextLCD lcd(A0, A1, A2, A3, A4, A5);

int i =0;

int main() {
lcd.cls();
lcd.locate(0,0);
lcd.printf("COUNT:");
lcd.locate(0,1);
lcd.printf("%d",i);
while(1) {
if (ip ==1) {
lcd.locate(0,1);
lcd.printf("%d", ++i);
}
}