AVR Studio

For C and ASSEMBLY users to post questions and code snippets for programming in C and ASSEMBLY. And for any other C or ASM course related questions.

Moderators: Benj, Mods

Roy from New Zealand

AVR Studio

Post by Roy from New Zealand »

I am new to flowcode, how do you set up an AVR Studio 4 project that uses flowcode as it editor and compiler?

Sean
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor

Re: AVR Studio

Post by Sean »

Hello Roy,

We haven't tried to run Flowcode as an editor from within AVR Studio. We will look into this possibility.

Flowcode is supplied with its own copy of WinAVR, and the compilation is handled by batch files in the Tools/MX_bats folder of the Flowcode installation - using parameters passed from the Flowcode Chip -> Compiler Options menu. It might be possible to handle larger projects directly from Flowcode by creating project specific batch files.

The creation and use of new batch files has proved to be flexible enough to support alternative compilation sequences, including the integration of FreeRTOS.

Roy from New Zealand

Post by Roy from New Zealand »

Thanks for the response

If I use flowcode to compile a program to C can flowcode also generate the elf file so that I can then use AVR Studio and the AVR DRAGON to step through the C program and debug my program.

As AVR Studio is free and seems to be a good why of testing a program and I already have the AVR dragon I would like to be able to make full use of the AVR Dragon.

As I understand it your programmers do not handle JTAG were as the dragon does.

I already have WinAVR and this is available as an option when I want to start a new AVR studio project.

I will experiment as I may be able to specify that I am using WinAVR but use the flowcode C file as a source file.

I will let you know how I get on.

Regards Roy

Sean
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor

Post by Sean »

Hello Roy,