Programsize problems in FlowCode 7?

For Flowcode users to discuss projects, flowcharts, and any other issues related to Flowcode 7.

Moderator: Benj

Post Reply
Andreas
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2017 6:10 pm
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 1 time
Contact:

Programsize problems in FlowCode 7?

Post by Andreas »

Hi

Recently i have started using FlowCode 7, instead of FlowCode5, and in connection to this i have some programs in FlowCode 5, which i would like to continue to work with in FlowCode 7. But this isn't all without problems:

I have a file which was perfectly compiled, and worked fine on my PIC-microcontroller, when I was working with it in FC5. The compiler even said that about 13% of the ROM-space and more than 50% of the RAM-space was unused on the PIC.

When I tryi to compile the same program through FC7 i get following error

Code: Select all

0: (1347) can't find 0x73 words (0x73 withtotal) for psect "text20" in class "CODE" (largest unused contiguous range 0x51)
0: (1347) can't find 0x5B words (0x5b withtotal) for psect "text13" in class "CODE" (largest unused contiguous range 0x51)
0: (1347) can't find 0x5B words (0x5b withtotal) for psect "text15" in class "CODE" (largest unused contiguous range 0x51)
0: (1347) can't find 0x41 words (0x41 withtotal) for psect "text3" in class "CODE" (largest unused contiguous range 0x11)
0: (1347) can't find 0x39 words (0x39 withtotal) for psect "text19" in class "CODE" (largest unused contiguous range 0x11)
0: (1347) can't find 0x31 words (0x31 withtotal) for psect "text25" in class "CODE" (largest unused contiguous range 0x11)
0: (1347) can't find 0x27 words (0x27 withtotal) for psect "text26" in class "CODE" (largest unused contiguous range 0x11)
0: (1347) can't find 0x23 words (0x23 withtotal) for psect "text12" in class "CODE" (largest unused contiguous range 0x11)
0: (1347) can't find 0x22 words (0x22 withtotal) for psect "text17" in class "CODE" (largest unused contiguous range 0x11)
0: (1347) can't find 0x22 words (0x22 withtotal) for psect "text18" in class "CODE" (largest unused contiguous range 0x11)
0: (1347) can't find 0x22 words (0x22 withtotal) for psect "text28" in class "CODE" (largest unused contiguous range 0x11)
0: (1347) can't find 0x1F words (0x1f withtotal) for psect "text1" in class "CODE" (largest unused contiguous range 0x11)
0: (1347) can't find 0x1D words (0x1d withtotal) for psect "text16" in class "CODE" (largest unused contiguous range 0x11)
0: (1347) can't find 0x16 words (0x16 withtotal) for psect "strings" in class "STRING" (largest unused contiguous range 0x11)
0: (1347) can't find 0x16 words (0x16 withtotal) for psect "text23" in class "CODE" (largest unused contiguous range 0x11)
0: (1347) can't find 0x13 words (0x13 withtotal) for psect "text4" in class "CODE" (largest unused contiguous range 0x11)
0: (1347) can't find 0x13 words (0x13 withtotal) for psect "text24" in class "CODE" (largest unused contiguous range 0x11)
0: (1347) can't find 0xB words (0xb withtotal) for psect "text29" in class "CODE" (largest unused contiguous range 0x4)
0: (1347) can't find 0x8 words (0x8 withtotal) for psect "clrtext" in class "CODE" (largest unused contiguous range 0x4)
0: (1347) can't find 0x6 words (0x6 withtotal) for psect "text10" in class "CODE" (largest unused contiguous range 0x4)
0: (1347) can't find 0x4 words (0x4 withtotal) for psect "text9" in class "CODE" (largest unused contiguous range 0x3)
After searching the internet, i may have found out that it is because the microntroller is running short on space :shock:
I would like to hear if someone here can confirm this. The reason i'm curious is that the assembly-file tells me the following

Code: Select all

;! Address spaces:

;!Name              Size   Autos  Total    Cost      Usage
;!BANK3               60     19      2D       9       46.9%
;!BITBANK3            60      0       0       8        0.0%
;!SFR3                 0      0       0       4        0.0%
;!BITSFR3              0      0       0       4        0.0%
;!BANK2               60      0       0      11        0.0%
;!BITBANK2            60      0       0      10        0.0%
;!SFR2                 0      0       0       5        0.0%
;!BITSFR2              0      0       0       5        0.0%
;!BANK1               50      0      3E       7       77.5%
;!BITBANK1            50      0       0       6        0.0%
;!SFR1                 0      0       0       2        0.0%
;!BITSFR1              0      0       0       2        0.0%
;!BANK0               50     40      44       5       85.0%
;!BITBANK0            50      0       0       4        0.0%
;!SFR0                 0      0       0       1        0.0%
;!BITSFR0              0      0       0       1        0.0%
;!COMMON               E      6       A       1       71.4%
;!BITCOMMON            E      0       0       0        0.0%
;!CODE                 0      0       0       0        0.0%
;!DATA                 0      0      B9      12        0.0%
;!ABS                  0      0      B9       3        0.0%
;!NULL                 0      0       0       0        0.0%
;!STACK                0      0       0       2        0.0%
;!EEDATA             100      0       0       0        0.0%
And to me that looks like none of the banks is full. Maybe these details are not updated correct when the error occurs, but the whole file seems to be updating every time i try to compile.

Andreas

User avatar
LeighM
Matrix Staff
Posts: 2178
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2012 10:07 am
Has thanked: 481 times
Been thanked: 699 times
Contact:

Re: Programsize problems in FlowCode 7?

Post by LeighM »

Hi Andreas,
Could you attach the project.msg.txt file?
This has a Memory Summary section that will help.
The different compilers used between V5 and V7 can easily be 10% different in memory usage, both up and down,
so that 13% free ROM space sounds tight if the V7 compiler is using more ROM space for your particular application.

Andreas
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2017 6:10 pm
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 1 time
Contact:

Re: Programsize problems in FlowCode 7?

Post by Andreas »

Hi

Thanks for the answer

The error was on my shoulders. I had forgotten that i had in-commented some code wich was not used, and because it was driving a LCD-display, this of course took a lot af program space.

But everything works fine now.

Post Reply