Error Programming with Ghost enabled

A forums to allow bugs and problems with Flowcode v7 to be reported and resolved.

Moderator: Benj

Post Reply
User avatar
QMESAR
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
Posts: 1287
Joined: Sun Oct 05, 2014 3:20 pm
Location: Russia
Has thanked: 384 times
Been thanked: 614 times
Contact:

Error Programming with Ghost enabled

Post by QMESAR »

Hi All ,

I am having problems to work with my Flowkit V2 and PIC32MX250F128B
When I compile and down load the Hex to my target and then enable the ICT I can see the traces from Flowkit on the pins enabled no issues here however when I enable ICD and compile to chip all goes well till the last checks FC does after programming then it reports ICD error ,
I am just not able to use the ICD so far I use D8 as Data(PGD) and D9 as Clock(PGC) as indicated by FC What is the meaning of this error code 1 ? :D

Then also I have an LED conected to pin RB13 however in the ICT configuration under Digitals I am only able to select RB7 as it is the maximum number showed ,is this correct ,I then did select RB7 but put the D0 probe on RB13 it shows me the trace
I would have expected that I can select for D0 the RB13 ?? ,This is confusing as the trace name and the real pin has no relation :D

Thank you for the help as always
Attachments
1.JPG
1.JPG (41.37 KiB) Viewed 10006 times
2.JPG
2.JPG (28.81 KiB) Viewed 10006 times
3.JPG
3.JPG (11.02 KiB) Viewed 10006 times

User avatar
LeighM
Matrix Staff
Posts: 2178
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2012 10:07 am
Has thanked: 481 times
Been thanked: 699 times
Contact:

Re: Error Programming with Ghost enabled

Post by LeighM »

Thanks. Looks like we have some work to do first thing on Monday. :D

User avatar
QMESAR
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
Posts: 1287
Joined: Sun Oct 05, 2014 3:20 pm
Location: Russia
Has thanked: 384 times
Been thanked: 614 times
Contact:

Re: Error Programming with Ghost enabled

Post by QMESAR »

Thanks LeighM That will be appreciated :D

User avatar
QMESAR
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
Posts: 1287
Joined: Sun Oct 05, 2014 3:20 pm
Location: Russia
Has thanked: 384 times
Been thanked: 614 times
Contact:

Re: Error Programming with Ghost enabled

Post by QMESAR »

Hi Team,

Due to the fact that I have to deliver a SW package and with the bugs present with the PIC32MX250 I am forced to run a PIC18 and now the Ghost and Flowkit V2 on PIC18F2585 seems to have a problem too or is it simply me not understanding how to work with the Flowkit!

Here is my procedure please advise if I am doing something wrong !

(1) I make my Flowchart
(2) I have my PICKIT connected to the device
(3) I have Flowkit Connected also to the device D9 >> PGC on PIC18 it is pin RB6 and D8 >> PGD this is pin RB7
(4) I enable Ghost the icons turn green ,I enable Allow step through Icons(checked the check box)
(5) I now compile to chip
(6) FC compile start the IPE and program the device (No errors reported as by PIC32)
(7) I press the green run Icon in FC then the following error dialog pops up

Please help I have a customer target date to meet :D
Attachments
1.JPG
1.JPG (59.82 KiB) Viewed 9974 times

User avatar
LeighM
Matrix Staff
Posts: 2178
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2012 10:07 am
Has thanked: 481 times
Been thanked: 699 times
Contact:

Re: Error Programming with Ghost enabled

Post by LeighM »

Could you try disconnecting the PicKit from your device before running Ghost

User avatar
QMESAR
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
Posts: 1287
Joined: Sun Oct 05, 2014 3:20 pm
Location: Russia
Has thanked: 384 times
Been thanked: 614 times
Contact:

Re: Error Programming with Ghost enabled

Post by QMESAR »

LeighM wrote:Could you try disconnecting the PicKit from your device before running Ghost
LeighM

I did that a few times as I also thought it is the PICkit that interfere with the Flowkit however that makes no difference :D

User avatar
LeighM
Matrix Staff
Posts: 2178
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2012 10:07 am
Has thanked: 481 times
Been thanked: 699 times
Contact:

Re: Error Programming with Ghost enabled

Post by LeighM »

As for your original issues on PIC32:
1) The ICD download error. We will try to replicate this on some PIC32 hardware.
2) The ICD dialog inability to select pins above 7 is a Flowcode issue which I have now logged with the executable team.

User avatar
QMESAR
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
Posts: 1287
Joined: Sun Oct 05, 2014 3:20 pm
Location: Russia
Has thanked: 384 times
Been thanked: 614 times
Contact:

Re: Error Programming with Ghost enabled

Post by QMESAR »

LeighM wrote:As for your original issues on PIC32:
1) The ICD download error. We will try to replicate this on some PIC32 hardware.
2) The ICD dialog inability to select pins above 7 is a Flowcode issue which I have now logged with the executable team.
LeighM Thank you very much ,what is the situation with PIC18 and Flowkit ? Is there a chance for a solution soon or is this also going to take some time I am asking if it is the case then I have to revert back MPLAB for this as I have a deadline to meet :D

User avatar
Benj
Matrix Staff
Posts: 15312
Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2006 10:48 am
Location: Matrix TS Ltd
Has thanked: 4803 times
Been thanked: 4314 times
Contact:

Re: Error Programming with Ghost enabled

Post by Benj »

Hello,

Regarding the PIC32 and ICD, I wonder if the problem is related to Flowcode needing a .cof file to decode the global variable addresses.

Currently a coff file is being generated but it is given the default name .out instead of .cof.

You can try changing the compiler options to try and fix this.

Compiler Parameters.
-mprocessor=$(chip) -O1 -o "$(srcdir)$(target).cof" "$(srcdir)$(target).c"

Linker Parameters.
"$(srcdir)$(target).cof"

Hopefully this will make a difference. Let me know how you get on.

User avatar
LeighM
Matrix Staff
Posts: 2178
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2012 10:07 am
Has thanked: 481 times
Been thanked: 699 times
Contact:

Re: Error Programming with Ghost enabled

Post by LeighM »

PIC18 and Flowkit should be OK, I currently have a setup running.
Could you try resetting the target device each time before you Run or Step ICD?

User avatar
QMESAR
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
Posts: 1287
Joined: Sun Oct 05, 2014 3:20 pm
Location: Russia
Has thanked: 384 times
Been thanked: 614 times
Contact:

Re: Error Programming with Ghost enabled

Post by QMESAR »

Hi Ben

Thank you for the advise :D unfortunately with Ghost enabled and compiling to chip with these compiler settings FC crash after it programmed ,then I only disable Ghost with the same settings then it compiles and program the device it also reports that a .COF file was generated :(
Attachments
1.JPG
1.JPG (62.68 KiB) Viewed 9936 times
2.JPG
2.JPG (28.2 KiB) Viewed 9936 times

User avatar
QMESAR
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
Posts: 1287
Joined: Sun Oct 05, 2014 3:20 pm
Location: Russia
Has thanked: 384 times
Been thanked: 614 times
Contact:

Re: Error Programming with Ghost enabled

Post by QMESAR »

LeighM wrote:PIC18 and Flowkit should be OK, I currently have a setup running.
Could you try resetting the target device each time before you Run or Step ICD?
LeighM

I believe that it is running with you however with me it not running :D
I did the following
(1) enable Ghost
(2) Compile to hip
(3) reset the device with the Reset button on MCLR (Pin 1pulled down when button pressed) aslo did a hard reset by removing the supply
(4) remove the PicKit
Run Ghost every time results in the error shown below
Attachments
3.JPG
3.JPG (22.73 KiB) Viewed 9930 times

User avatar
Benj
Matrix Staff
Posts: 15312
Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2006 10:48 am
Location: Matrix TS Ltd
Has thanked: 4803 times
Been thanked: 4314 times
Contact:

Re: Error Programming with Ghost enabled

Post by Benj »

Looks like the XC32 default COF is not the correct .coff file format for Flowcode which is causing the crash.

I'll investigate how to generate the coff file in the right format to keep Flowcode happy. The coff file is used to determine variable addresses for ICD.

User avatar
LeighM
Matrix Staff
Posts: 2178
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2012 10:07 am
Has thanked: 481 times
Been thanked: 699 times
Contact:

Re: Error Programming with Ghost enabled

Post by LeighM »

Re the 18F and FlowKit problem, I'm stuck for suggestions, other than perhaps checking the Gnd, Clock and Data connections?

User avatar
QMESAR
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
Posts: 1287
Joined: Sun Oct 05, 2014 3:20 pm
Location: Russia
Has thanked: 384 times
Been thanked: 614 times
Contact:

Re: Error Programming with Ghost enabled

Post by QMESAR »

Thank you Ben much appreciated

User avatar
QMESAR
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
Posts: 1287
Joined: Sun Oct 05, 2014 3:20 pm
Location: Russia
Has thanked: 384 times
Been thanked: 614 times
Contact:

Re: Error Programming with Ghost enabled

Post by QMESAR »

LeighM

Thank you for trying to help :D I am not sure what this is or what happened I was programming and resetting the device many times and it would not connect then I was trying again and again and then it started to communicate
any case It is now working
just one of those mysterious things
I have question if I place a break point inside the main then the debugger will stop at the break point ,when I place a break point in a makro then it will execute the makro but does not stop at the break point in the makro is this normal
appreciate your feedback as in the screen shot the breakpoint is in side a makro and not in the main loop it does not stop at the break point
Attachments
2.JPG
2.JPG (22.16 KiB) Viewed 9911 times
1.JPG
1.JPG (30.03 KiB) Viewed 9911 times

User avatar
LeighM
Matrix Staff
Posts: 2178
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2012 10:07 am
Has thanked: 481 times
Been thanked: 699 times
Contact:

Re: Error Programming with Ghost enabled

Post by LeighM »

Thanks, that does sound like a bug that has crept in.
The Flowcode Ghost code is currently being re-written in readiness for an update release early next year.
So that's good news and bad news in that, sorry, it's very unlikely that this bug will get attention in the current code base.

User avatar
QMESAR
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
Posts: 1287
Joined: Sun Oct 05, 2014 3:20 pm
Location: Russia
Has thanked: 384 times
Been thanked: 614 times
Contact:

Re: Error Programming with Ghost enabled

Post by QMESAR »

Thanks for the info that is fine I can live with the bug :D till next year

Post Reply