Problem installing v7

A forums to allow bugs and problems with Flowcode v7 to be reported and resolved.

Moderator: Benj

Post Reply
echase
Posts: 429
Joined: Mon Jun 11, 2007 11:55 am
Contact:

Problem installing v7

Post by echase »

Tried twice to install v7 to try it out and it gets to the "end" of install and says "setup was interrupted ... run setup again." How to fix? I have Windows 7 64 bit.

User avatar
Steve
Matrix Staff
Posts: 3183
Joined: Tue Jan 03, 2006 3:59 pm
Contact:

Re: Problem installing v7

Post by Steve »

Please create a log of the install and post here so we can see what the issue is.

To do this:

1) open a command prompt window (Win-R and type cmd)
2) at the command prompt, type:

Code: Select all

msiexec.exe /i "C:\FlowCode7.3.0.5.msi" /L* "C:\flowcode.log"
You may need to alter the path to the MSI file in the parameter after /i, and you will probably need to specify a location for the log file too.

Post the log file here and we will try to work out what the problem is.

Regards,
Steve.

echase
Posts: 429
Joined: Mon Jun 11, 2007 11:55 am
Contact:

Re: Problem installing v7

Post by echase »

Thanks. Sorry I need more explanation. Do I need to run the installation again after entering this cmd line?

Does Program Files (x86)\ need to go after each C:\ as that is where the FC7 was trying to install? Tried it on the cmd line and gave error message with or without that extra bit.

There was no folder created by the install at C:\Program Files (x86)

User avatar
Steve
Matrix Staff
Posts: 3183
Joined: Tue Jan 03, 2006 3:59 pm
Contact:

Re: Problem installing v7

Post by Steve »

Running that command will reinstall Flowcode, but should provide some logging information. You should not need to download the Flowcode installation again.

So, assuming your Flowcode installation file is downloaded to C:\temp and you have read/write permissions for that same folder, then the command should look like this:

Code: Select all

msiexec.exe /i "C:\temp\FlowCode7.3.0.5.msi" /L* "C:\temp\flowcode.log"
This will attempt to install the file and will create a log file in that same "C:\temp" location.

echase
Posts: 429
Joined: Mon Jun 11, 2007 11:55 am
Contact:

Re: Problem installing v7

Post by echase »

Had to rename file as won't accept .log attchements
Attachments
flowcode.txt
(529.65 KiB) Downloaded 86 times

User avatar
medelec35
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
Posts: 8925
Joined: Sat May 05, 2007 2:27 pm
Location: Northamptonshire, UK
Contact:

Re: Problem installing v7

Post by medelec35 »

May not be the same issue.
I have had this when run the installer and just leave it to install.
Reason is I have missed selecting Administration rights required prompt.
The installer has then timed out on me.

If you doing other things on the PC as the same time of installing, the focus may have been taken away from the prompt?


Martin
Martin

echase
Posts: 429
Joined: Mon Jun 11, 2007 11:55 am
Contact:

Re: Problem installing v7

Post by echase »

Medelec, I left it running to install so don't think that is the problem.

User avatar
Steve
Matrix Staff
Posts: 3183
Joined: Tue Jan 03, 2006 3:59 pm
Contact:

Re: Problem installing v7

Post by Steve »

The log file says "User cancelled installation" after 6 minutes of installing. I'm guessing that you did not click the cancel button, so something else is happening...

I've searched for a solution and it could be a number of potential issues:
  • the installation fails to elevate UAC privileges
  • the installation file is corrupt
  • an antivirus program (or something else) is interfering with the installation
  • a virus or similar is affecting the behaviour of your PC
I would first start by completely uninstalling any existing versions of Flowcode V7. Other versions of Flowcode should be fine and can stay.

Then try to reinstall. This time, run the MSI installation with elevated privileges (see here: http://www.thewindowsclub.com/elevated- ... es-windows).

To check if the file is corrupted, right-click it and select properties. The file size reported should be 1.08 GB (1,169,088,978 bytes). If it isn't, try to download the file again. There is an alternative link on the download page. Also, some browsers are better than others at handling large downloads - you could try an alternative browser.

If the installation still fails, you could try running your PC in safe mode and then running the installation.

If you are still having problems, please create another log. This time, instead of "/L*" please use the parameters "/L*vx" (this will give verbose and extra debugging information.

I hope this helps,
Steve.

echase
Posts: 429
Joined: Mon Jun 11, 2007 11:55 am
Contact:

Re: Problem installing v7

Post by echase »

Not tried all those things yet but re downloaded it from the other site and using a different browser and all copies have a slightly larger 1,169,186,816 bits and not the size you mentioned. Why?

User avatar
medelec35
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
Posts: 8925
Joined: Sat May 05, 2007 2:27 pm
Location: Northamptonshire, UK
Contact:

Re: Problem installing v7

Post by medelec35 »

Version I downloaded is also 1,169,186,816 bytes
Martin

User avatar
Steve
Matrix Staff
Posts: 3183
Joined: Tue Jan 03, 2006 3:59 pm
Contact:

Re: Problem installing v7

Post by Steve »

This size difference could be the difference between the "size" and "size on disk" properties. Or it could be that I looked at the wrong file!

Either way, it should work because (I assume) @medelec35 has installed successfully.

User avatar
medelec35
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
Posts: 8925
Joined: Sat May 05, 2007 2:27 pm
Location: Northamptonshire, UK
Contact:

Re: Problem installing v7

Post by medelec35 »

Steve wrote:Either way, it should work because (I assume) @medelec35 has installed successfully.
Indeed it does, Except when don't click OK for elevated privileges.
That's when it reports canceled.
My fault of course!
Martin

echase
Posts: 429
Joined: Mon Jun 11, 2007 11:55 am
Contact:

Re: Problem installing v7

Post by echase »

Mea cupla. There was a tick box say something like "Are you sure you want to make changes ?" that I had missed.

Post Reply