LCD not working, Help needed please

For questions and comments on programming in general. And for any items that don't fit into the forums below.

Moderators: Benj, Mods

A_Smith

LCD not working, Help needed please

Post by A_Smith »

Hi All,

I am new to not only flowcode and the forum but also programming in general. I have been playing with flowcode V4 for about 4 weeks (demo) and I have learned the basics which all seemed to work on simulation. I have now bought a copy as I am attempting a reasonable sized project which will include multiple PWM's for high power LED's, Real time clock, LCD display, EEPROM, Pic to PIc comms and the usual push button inputs.

I would love to explain to you exactly what my project is as I'm sure it will interest some of you but unfortunately I plan to upgrade the license and market the end product so I have to be careful. I am however happy to share successful sub routines once I get them working.

I have started on the project but I am having problems with my LCD display not working in hardware (works in simulation). As the project is quite big, I have gone back to basics and tried the example digital clock but still I can't get it to work.

The LCD is a 16 x 2 alphanumeric and the PIC is 18F2550. I am working on a bread board. The simulation runs fine but the hardware doesn't. All I get when I first supply power is the top line of the lcd displaying black squares for a second and then it goes blank but no message/time is displayed.