Interrupt Question

For questions and comments on programming in general. And for any items that don't fit into the forums below.

Moderators: Benj, Mods

Post Reply
Sparkoids
Posts: 267
Joined: Mon Sep 14, 2009 10:34 am
Contact:

Interrupt Question

Post by Sparkoids »

Two quick questions please on interrupts in Flowcode 5.

1. On the RB0 interrupt the rising or falling edge of that particular pin can be setup in properties but on a "Change in Port B" there are no properties. Is it possible to set this port for the falling edge or is it just a change in the port full stop?

2. On one of the descriptive videos on interrupts it says that the interrupt stays inactive until the macro it is directed to is completed. Is that correct please?

Thanks in advance...


James :-}

User avatar
medelec35
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
Posts: 8925
Joined: Sat May 05, 2007 2:27 pm
Location: Northamptonshire, UK
Contact:

Re: Interrupt Question

Post by medelec35 »

Hi James,
Depending on the microcontroller, it will or will not have an internal interrupt on change register.
If It does then there will be an option to select which edge is used for triggering as properties will be enabled.
E.g an example is 16F(L)18xx range:
IOC1.png
(20.05 KiB) Downloaded 1520 times
Unfortunately, there are also thoses who do not, e.g older 16F7(L)xx.
On those devices, properties are greyed out:
IOC2.png
(7.77 KiB) Downloaded 1516 times
This means you can't select which edge to trigger on, therefore BOTH edges will be used for triggering.
If that is undesirable, then you must have means within interrupt so detect which edge was used for triggering, so wrong edge can be ignored.
Martin

Sparkoids
Posts: 267
Joined: Mon Sep 14, 2009 10:34 am
Contact:

Re: Interrupt Question

Post by Sparkoids »

Makes sense - thanks for the speedy response. I am using an ECIO-28 - the Matrix thing for fast prototyping.

Post Reply