BTEC Unit 6 - SAMs (the egg timer) sample solution

A place to discuss any problems, issues or questions surrounding the E-blocks BTEC Unit 6 course.

Moderator: Benj

Q Branch

BTEC Unit 6 - SAMs (the egg timer) sample solution

Post by Q Branch »

This is something I was working on at the end of last year, but for various reasons it's been shelved until now.
It's my take on how to navigate through the 12-hour supervised assessment period from a student's point of view.
I have no insider knowledge from Pearson - everything is based on what I interpret (or misinterpret) from the various documents and books available.

This first posting is based on the 7 P's - Perfect Planning and Preparation Prevents Poor Performance.
I call this pre-planning because it's something that can be done in advance of the 12 hour period. At least that's my understanding unless anyone has an alternative view.

My argument goes like this: If I'm in industry and expecting a product specification from a customer, I don't need to know the details of the job before I allocate or ring fence some resource for the job and put a rough plan in place.
first_attempt_egg_timer.jpg
first_attempt_egg_timer.jpg (152.65 KiB) Viewed 67196 times
Attachments
pre_planning_2_session_by_session.pdf
(63.06 KiB) Downloaded 1190 times
pre_planning_1_planning_the_timetable.pdf
(58.05 KiB) Downloaded 1084 times

The G

Re: BTEC Unit 6 - SAMs (the egg timer) sample solution

Post by The G »

Very helpful indeed! And structured in a way aligned with the mark-scheme and sample learner answers from BTEC.
G

Q Branch

BTEC Unit 6 - SAMs (the egg timer) Session 1

Post by Q Branch »

Thanks G, things are going slower than I expected because of interruptions, but I'll keep things going as best I can.

This is "Session 1" where the student has to make sense of the client brief (easier said than done).
Pearson have left us with a few issues to ponder here as detailed in the Teachers_Notes etc.