SCADA - UART Cal vs UART COmms system

For Flowcode users to discuss projects, flowcharts, and any other issues related to Flowcode 8.

Moderator: Benj

Post Reply
User avatar
petesmart
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
Posts: 395
Joined: Thu May 06, 2010 11:42 am
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

SCADA - UART Cal vs UART COmms system

Post by petesmart »

Hello matrix team,

This is properly a dumb question however....

What is the rationale for using the UART Cal component for RS 232 SCADA vs using the UART comms system component as you would find in the embedded component list?

The reason I ask is that the UART comms systems component manages TX/RX of strings versus the UART peripheral Cal component sends/receives data character by character.

Basically I'm being lazy and not writing the additional code to manage strings etc. :wink:

Interested in the reason behind your approach with SCADA

All the best

Pete
sorry about that Chief!

User avatar
Benj
Matrix Staff
Posts: 15045
Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2006 10:48 am
Location: Matrix TS Ltd
Contact:

Re: SCADA - UART Cal vs UART COmms system

Post by Benj »

Hi Pete,

I can add strings to the two CAL UART components. Should be a fairly quick job to do.

Basically the only real difference is the pin connection properties. SCADA mode does not work with pins.

User avatar
petesmart
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
Posts: 395
Joined: Thu May 06, 2010 11:42 am
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Re: SCADA - UART Cal vs UART COmms system

Post by petesmart »

Thanks Ben,

That would be great....is it possible to add flasher as well?

No urgency, as I said earlier I was being lazy :wink:

Btw I’m loving the SCADA feature...playing with all of the shapes and components...it there a way to layer components on top of each other and control the order? I want to layer the 7 deg display on top of the dial gauge to provide digits on top of the analogue display...
sorry about that Chief!

User avatar
Benj
Matrix Staff
Posts: 15045
Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2006 10:48 am
Location: Matrix TS Ltd
Contact:

Re: SCADA - UART Cal vs UART COmms system

Post by Benj »

Hi Pete,

Hmm hadn't thought about the flasher. Let me think on it, maybe we have a high level SCADA UART component with a flasher?

I've now pushed updates to the CAL UART and CAL UART SCADA components now so they can deal with strings and byte arrays.
Btw I’m loving the SCADA feature...playing with all of the shapes and components...it there a way to layer components on top of each other and control the order?
If you use the 3D panel then you can adjust the Z coordinate of the relative components to get things on top of each other nicely. Once laid out correctly you can group the components and then move back to the 2D panel if required.

Let me know how you get on.

User avatar
petesmart
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
Posts: 395
Joined: Thu May 06, 2010 11:42 am
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Re: SCADA - UART Cal vs UART COmms system

Post by petesmart »

Thanks Ben for the quick response....it’s very much appreciated

I will check out the UART mods and let you know...flasher is a nice to have but not mandatory....

I will give the 3D panel a go.....thanks for the advice

Best

Pete
sorry about that Chief!

User avatar
Steve
Matrix Staff
Posts: 3232
Joined: Tue Jan 03, 2006 3:59 pm
Contact:

Re: SCADA - UART Cal vs UART COmms system

Post by Steve »

petesmart wrote:is there a way to layer components on top of each other and control the order? I want to layer the 7 deg display on top of the dial gauge to provide digits on top of the analogue display...
Hi Pete,

I found this to be an issue too. It is linked to the "collision detection" setting which can force objects on top of each other when they get moved. We have a few ideas to make this work better, but Ben's suggestion can also help.

Regards,
Steve.

User avatar
petesmart
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
Posts: 395
Joined: Thu May 06, 2010 11:42 am
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Re: SCADA - UART Cal vs UART COmms system

Post by petesmart »

Thanks Steve,

I will have a play and see how it works...

It would be interesting to see how difficult it would be to implement the equivalent functionality that you see in Microsoft PowerPoint or Microsoft Visio where you can layer different graphics on top of each other by using the "send to front" or "send to back" functions.

I will give the z-axis a go on 3D system panel has been suggested..

Appreciate the response

All the best

Pete
sorry about that Chief!

User avatar
Steve
Matrix Staff
Posts: 3232
Joined: Tue Jan 03, 2006 3:59 pm
Contact:

Re: SCADA - UART Cal vs UART COmms system

Post by Steve »

Cheers, Pete. We're investigating the "send to back" (etc) functions as I type this. Hopefully this will be released as a further patch some point soon.

Post Reply