Using BMP280 Barometer and the Hall_Digital1 mcros

For Flowcode users to discuss projects, flowcharts, and any other issues related to Flowcode 8.

Moderator: Benj

Post Reply
JBEATY46
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2018 8:25 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Contact:

Using BMP280 Barometer and the Hall_Digital1 mcros

Post by JBEATY46 »

Hi All,
This is my first posting on this forum.

I am working on a flowchart in Flowcode8 to build a weather station. The code so far is working ok for temperature and humidity. I am using the BMP280
as the sensor. The air pressure part of the macro doesn't return the correct value, (if the value on the displayed dial is correct). A value on the dial of 750 comes up with a reading of 246 or around that, quite often varying.

The Hall_Digital1 macro comes up with the following: "One or more pins of component Hall_Digital1 are not connected to the micro controller. Simulation and compilation may not behave as expected. Either ensure that all component connections are made or remove the component from the flowchart."
I was going to use the Hall Effect device in the wind speed measurement. I can't see a way of making the connections to the micro.

The ultimate idea is to have the sensing part of the equipment sited remotely, using wifi, to communicate with the display station indoors.

Looking for any help.
Thank you and regards, John.

User avatar
Benj
Matrix Staff
Posts: 15312
Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2006 10:48 am
Location: Matrix TS Ltd
Has thanked: 4803 times
Been thanked: 4314 times
Contact:

Re: Using BMP280 Barometer and the Hall_Digital1 mcros

Post by Benj »

Hello,

Please can you attach your project file so we can have a look for you.

JBEATY46
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2018 8:25 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Contact:

Re: Using BMP280 Barometer and the Hall_Digital1 mcros

Post by JBEATY46 »

Hello Benj,

I have attached two of my files that are exhibiting the problem.
As I am quite new to Flowcode and programming then I am probably missing something.

Regards,
John.
WeatherStation_v8.fcfx
An earlier version
(15.47 KiB) Downloaded 148 times
WeatherStation_v8.1.fcfx
Trying a different sensor in the file
(18.31 KiB) Downloaded 168 times

JBEATY46
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2018 8:25 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Contact:

Re: Using BMP280 Barometer and the Hall_Digital1 mcros

Post by JBEATY46 »

Hello Benj,

Some minor changes to the file.
I have found the properties panel and got over the pin connection problem. The sensor does now seem to be changing state.
The air pressure reading is still not correct.

Regards,
John.
WeatherStation_v8.1a.fcfx
New file with some minor changes
(17.99 KiB) Downloaded 162 times

viktor_au
Posts: 342
Joined: Fri Jan 26, 2018 12:30 pm
Location: South Australia
Has thanked: 44 times
Been thanked: 60 times
Contact:

Re: Using BMP280 Barometer and the Hall_Digital1 mcros

Post by viktor_au »

Hello JBEATY46

Your program has 3 states:
Sense = 0 (OK and run)
Sense = 1 (No replay)
Sense = 2 (CRC error)
------------------------------
By default Sense value is not set.
-----------------------------
Question: where do you measure or get Sense value?

JBEATY46
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2018 8:25 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Contact:

Re: Using BMP280 Barometer and the Hall_Digital1 mcros

Post by JBEATY46 »

Hi Viktor,

Thank you for your reply.
Your right there are three states, this part of the flowchart was taken from an example and is currently not being fully used. I do have the temperature, and humidity working, but the air pressure returns a wrong value. I have now got the hall effect device to function, now that I have set up the connections in the device properties. I have to now do the calculations to work out revolutions and then speed.

I am also trying to get a TFT_320QVT_9341 display to work. So far all I get is a white screen,

Thank you again.
John.

viktor_au
Posts: 342
Joined: Fri Jan 26, 2018 12:30 pm
Location: South Australia
Has thanked: 44 times
Been thanked: 60 times
Contact:

Re: Using BMP280 Barometer and the Hall_Digital1 mcros

Post by viktor_au »

Understood Jbeaty46

You didn't show the working code.
------------------------------------------
About barometric measurements.
I have attached the PIC-based example (not my code).
You probably found it on this forum...
-----------------------------------------
One more question please.
What kind of hall device to measure the wind speed do you use?
Attachments
Pic_BME280.fcfx
(12.03 KiB) Downloaded 152 times

JBEATY46
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2018 8:25 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Contact:

Re: Using BMP280 Barometer and the Hall_Digital1 mcros

Post by JBEATY46 »

Hi Viktor_au,

Sorry for the delay in replying to your post.

I haven't as yet selected a specific Hall Effect device, I'm just trying to get the script sorted at this stage. I have been researching the different ways to measure the wind speed and it seems to come down to 3 ways. Hall Effect switch, Reed Switch or IR light sensing. I have also been researching physical measurements for making the 3 cup anemometer and checking out the required math for the calculation of the wind speed from the counting of the pulses. That's w.i.p. at the moment. I keeping looking for a suitable example script but as yet I have not found anything.

I do have some success with the gLCD device in Flowcode8. I now have that working, but the programme isn't compiling to the Arduino Mega correctly. I'm not 100% sure I have the correct gLCD device selected as the error message says there is a wrong handle. I'm assuming that means wrong device.

Thank you so much for your interest.
Regards,
John.

Post Reply