Page 1 of 2

SSD1963 hardware not working properly

Posted: Mon Sep 07, 2020 11:39 am
by kabouras_33
Hello!
So I am trying to implement a nice LCD screen with touch(ssd1963) and I ordered one but until it arrives I decided to prepare the software .Unfortunately, when I try to load a bitmap from bitmap drawer fat it doesn't display anything. For the photo, I try to use the dragon for the glcd flowcode example and it works with other screens ex. ILI9341 (simulation and real).
Any pointers please? maybe i am missing something!!

Re: SSD1963 simulation not working properly

Posted: Tue Sep 08, 2020 2:11 pm
by kabouras_33
Anyone????
A difficult question I guess...

Re: SSD1963 simulation not working properly

Posted: Wed Sep 09, 2020 2:47 pm
by Benj
Hello,

I've replicated the problem, started looking for you yesterday but then got pulled onto something else. I'll look again for you today.

Re: SSD1963 simulation not working properly

Posted: Mon Sep 14, 2020 10:05 pm
by kabouras_33
Thank you Benj,
I hope it is not too much trouble!

Re: SSD1963 simulation not working properly

Posted: Wed Sep 16, 2020 7:09 pm
by kabouras_33
Hello Benj,
Any update on the problem??

Re: SSD1963 simulation not working properly

Posted: Sun Sep 20, 2020 8:09 am
by kabouras_33
Hello again,
Any news? I need it for a product release??

Re: SSD1963 simulation not working properly

Posted: Thu Sep 24, 2020 5:33 pm
by Benj
Hello,

I'll try and have a look for you tomorrow, sorry for the delay. Does the code work ok on hardware or is it not working there either?

I have had a look for you a few times now and get so far into it and then get something else come in that needs attention. I'm out the office tomorrow so hopefully a good oppertunity to have a good look for you.

Re: SSD1963 simulation not working properly

Posted: Fri Sep 25, 2020 10:43 am
by Benj
Should be fixed for you now via the update system.

Let me know if you have any problems.

Re: SSD1963 simulation not working properly

Posted: Mon Sep 28, 2020 9:57 pm
by kabouras_33
Thank you so much benj,
I ll check it this week both hardware and software and let you know...I havent tried on hardware yet because screen arrived today!!!good timining
I ll keep you posted!!!
Thanks again for your support and quick response!!!!
New product due to be released until December 😄
You are a life savior!!!

Re: SSD1963 simulation not working properly

Posted: Sun Dec 06, 2020 9:59 am
by kabouras_33
Hello again...so I tested the hardware and unfortunately no go...
the screen is this one https://www.ebay.com/itm/7-inch-800x480 ... 2749.l2649
and I have my project attached...pretty simple really pic18f67j50 with 18432000 external crystal. Flashing led and try to print hello.
Led is flashing but tft turns black when I power on and stays black.
Connections are 3x checked
TFT - pic
data port - D0-D7
CS - C0
WR - C1
RD - C2
RS - C3
REST - C4
5V - 5V (BACKLIGHT)
3V3 - 3V3 from a regulated power supply
grd - grd
Any help would be much appreciated

Re: SSD1963 hardware not working properly

Posted: Mon Dec 07, 2020 4:55 pm
by kabouras_33
Hello again!!!anyone has experience in above screen!!it is supposed to be tested and working.

Re: SSD1963 hardware not working properly

Posted: Mon Dec 07, 2020 6:30 pm
by jgu1
Hi karoubas!

Don´t know if it is the same as in the other display. But you need to give the display some more info (setting) I change a little in your program, maybe it can give you some help. now it work in simulation but slow, maybe a "heavy display" need a fast processor. But look good, and expensive :lol:

Could be.

Jorgen

Re: SSD1963 hardware not working properly

Posted: Mon Dec 07, 2020 10:01 pm
by kabouras_33
Dear jgu1,
Thank you very much for your response and effort but unfortunately, after loading your code the result is still the same....black screen...

Re: SSD1963 hardware not working properly

Posted: Mon Dec 07, 2020 10:14 pm
by mnf
Have you tried with 'display method' set to 'bitmap' (not 'point cloud')?
Certainly works (only) with this in simulation mode.

Martin

Re: SSD1963 hardware not working properly

Posted: Mon Dec 07, 2020 11:07 pm
by kabouras_33
Thank you Martin!!
Just tried and nope...no difference in hardware same result...black screen...
But i wonder .....i have a dspic33fj256gp710a and i will try it tomorrow

Re: SSD1963 hardware not working properly

Posted: Tue Dec 08, 2020 7:58 am
by mnf
Hopefully some luck..

Sorry, but don't have one of the displays to try - so can only suggest the usual 1s blinkie, wiring and the like.I

Martin

Re: SSD1963 hardware not working properly

Posted: Tue Dec 08, 2020 12:32 pm
by kabouras_33
The fact that you even try is much appreciated!!!
Thank you!!

Re: SSD1963 hardware not working properly

Posted: Tue Dec 08, 2020 1:56 pm
by kabouras_33
dspic33fj256gp710a with INTERNAL FRC W/PLL 48Mhz also no working.....led blinks.....I have ordered a pic32 80Mhz but with the covid situation, it will take forever to arrive.....bummer...
Any suggestions will be appreciated...

Re: SSD1963 hardware not working properly

Posted: Tue Dec 08, 2020 8:10 pm
by mnf
Give us a pointer to the exact type of display you are using - there are lots using the same controller....

I don't think the MCU is the problem - speed / memory should be sufficient so that leads to:

1) Hardware error. Something in the setup doesn't work. So display is faulty / wiring is faulty / MCU is faulty.
(Note we can probably rule out 1 and 3...)
or
2) Software error - something in the timing or setup doesn't work / the component doesn't work / the MCU isn't communicating properly (WDT issues seem common)

I would try and get the display working first (forget touch and SD) then build on that..

Note - I've been 'playing' with some ST7789 displays and managed to get some displays running and others not - and I suspect a 'subtle' difference in startup requirements between chip revisions - but stumped at the moment :-(

Martin

Re: SSD1963 hardware not working properly

Posted: Tue Dec 08, 2020 10:27 pm
by kabouras_33
Dear Martin on previous posts i have informed on all the informations i have including links to the screen as well as a test flowcode...i am just trying to make the screen go only for now...
The connections cannot be the problem 3 days i am checking and checking....
But thanks again for your guidance!!!
Anyone from flowcode team care to give some support?
Thank you!!!!

Re: SSD1963 hardware not working properly

Posted: Wed Dec 09, 2020 5:38 pm
by kabouras_33
Any updates....pointers....something...... :D

Re: SSD1963 hardware not working properly

Posted: Thu Dec 10, 2020 10:55 am
by kabouras_33
I tried with internal OSC w/pll at 40Mhz on the dspic33fj256gp710a and reached 500000 baudrate :shock: :shock: nice find but the screen still doesn't work...sometimes when I change configurations I can see flashing constantly other times I can see white noise with a few colour lines....bummer....I am in a dead-end I do not where to look

Re: SSD1963 hardware not working properly

Posted: Fri Dec 11, 2020 12:14 am
by kabouras_33
Well after more searching i came to the conclusion that maybe flowcode init uses the pmp of the pic32....so since there is nothing else to try with the pics i have, i ll wait until the pic32mx764f128h arrives and i try again covid 19 delays :twisted: :twisted: .
Anyway thanks for the support...

Re: SSD1963 hardware not working properly

Posted: Fri Dec 11, 2020 1:41 pm
by Benj
Hello,

I had a dig for my 1963 display but couldn't lay my hands on it. I'll keep looking to see if I can help.

PIC32 shouldnt be required.

Re: SSD1963 hardware not working properly

Posted: Fri Dec 11, 2020 1:54 pm
by kabouras_33
Thanks Benj,
I hope you can have the time because i was pretty sure that this component works before i order and plan my new release (i shouldn't before i actually tested) and now nothing....
I will look forward to your reply and just keep trying...