BME680 – Air quality sensor

Moderator: Benj

Post Reply
viki2000
Posts: 190
Joined: Mon Jul 07, 2014 9:38 am
Has thanked: 30 times
Been thanked: 77 times
Contact:

BME680 – Air quality sensor

Post by viki2000 »

In Flowcode 7 there is a component for the BME280 Bosh sensor.
Now we have Flowcode 8 and Bosch has also a new sensor BME680, which adds air quality measurement.
https://www.bosch-sensortec.com/bst/pro ... cts/bme680
On the link above, if you go at "Downloads" and then "Further application boards", there are enough examples and boards to be seen.

For example here is Adafruit breakout board with the BME680 sensor and also Arduino code:
https://learn.adafruit.com/adafruit-bme ... iring-test
http://www.theorycircuit.com/bme680-arduino/

https://www.banggood.com/CJMCU-680-BME6 ... rehouse=CN
https://www.aliexpress.com/item/1pcs-Ul ... 70390.html

Can you develop a component for the new BME680 sensor?

User avatar
Benj
Matrix Staff
Posts: 15312
Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2006 10:48 am
Location: Matrix TS Ltd
Has thanked: 4803 times
Been thanked: 4314 times
Contact:

Re: BME680 – Air quality sensor

Post by Benj »

Hello,

I've made a start and got quite far but then looking at the Adafruit example code they are reading a number of "calibration" registers that are simply not mentioned at all in the device datasheet.

I'll park it for now and have another look when I have more time to try and understand what's required to get meaningful values out of the sensor. I might also take a look at the Arduino code for comparison. Aha no it uses the same Adafruit library :?

viki2000
Posts: 190
Joined: Mon Jul 07, 2014 9:38 am
Has thanked: 30 times
Been thanked: 77 times
Contact:

Re: BME680 – Air quality sensor

Post by viki2000 »

I do not know if noticed the links recommended by Bosh directly, where we can see different breakout boards and the afferent code/library. Maybe that helps to debug further:
1) Here is from BlueDot:
A) An example based on Arduino and Adafruit library:
https://www.bluedot.space/sensor-boards/bme680/
B) An example based on ESP8266:
https://www.bluedot.space/tutorials/air ... he-bme680/
In the middle of the page there is “Integrating the BSEC Library to the Arduino IDE” and you can download the library “BlueDot_BME680_ESP8266.zip”
https://www.bluedot.space/app/download/ ... 1544438166

2) Here is from MikroElektronika:
https://www.mikroe.com/environment-click
And the library is here:
https://libstock.mikroe.com/projects/vi ... ment-click

3) Here is from Tindie:
https://www.tindie.com/products/FabLab/ ... valuation/
At the bottom of the webpage ypu may see documentation and software/libarary.

4) Pimoroni board:
https://shop.pimoroni.com/products/bme680-breakout
and the code/library in python:
https://github.com/pimoroni/bme680-python
https://github.com/pimoroni/bme680-pyth ... _init__.py
and small tutorial:
https://learn.pimoroni.com/tutorial/san ... 0-breakout

5) Watterott board:
https://www.watterott.com/en/BME680-Breakout
Help documents:
https://learn.watterott.com/sensors/bme680/
Driver:
https://github.com/BoschSensortec/BME680_driver
https://github.com/vicatcu/BME680_Break ... 80_Library
https://github.com/DFRobot/DFRobot_BME680
https://github.com/kriswiner/BME680/blo ... 680_t3.ino
https://github.com/twartzek/bme680-rasp ... 680_main.c

viki2000
Posts: 190
Joined: Mon Jul 07, 2014 9:38 am
Has thanked: 30 times
Been thanked: 77 times
Contact:

Re: BME680 – Air quality sensor

Post by viki2000 »

It is now over 1 year…
Any chance to work on BME680 and have it as standard component in Flowcode?

viki2000
Posts: 190
Joined: Mon Jul 07, 2014 9:38 am
Has thanked: 30 times
Been thanked: 77 times
Contact:

Re: BME680 – Air quality sensor

Post by viki2000 »

Now is 2 years later.
Is this sensor included now in Flowcode 9?

mnf
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
Posts: 1188
Joined: Wed May 31, 2017 11:57 am
Has thanked: 70 times
Been thanked: 439 times
Contact:

Re: BME680 – Air quality sensor

Post by mnf »

I wrote a basic component - see viewtopic.php?t=22246
There wasn't much interest so left as was - but should work on AVR or PiC (but not MCUs that use i2c transaction mode (Arm and ESP32 amongst others)
If there is interest I could alter it to use transactions.

Try it and see if you can get it to work

Martin

Post Reply