Page 1 of 1

SSD1322 Init Doesn't Work

Posted: Tue Mar 23, 2021 8:06 pm
by ronaldlijs
Hi guys,

Flowcode 8.2.2 (latest version). We are using an SSD1322 in parallel mode (Interface Type: 8080) with a PIC32MZ. When I try to initialize the display, it just shows rubbish on the screen :-(
SSD1322_Init.jpg
SSD1322_Init.jpg (81.7 KiB) Viewed 6321 times
We are sure the PIC32MZ is running at correct speed and not crashing as we have a second LCD display SSD1306 in Buffer mode (serial) alongside working perfectly well.

Where can we start troubleshooting this problem? Would be possible at all to get the FC8 source of the SSD1322 to make sure the timings are correct? The module we are using is from Buydisplay.com, same source we got the SSD1306 which is workng very well.

Many thanks in advance for your help!

Re: SSD1322 Init Doesn't Work

Posted: Tue Mar 23, 2021 9:10 pm
by Benj
Hello,

Here's the component source, please let me know if you find anything. It looks like maybe the initialise is ok but the clear is not working correctly. Maybe to do with the GotoXY function.
glcd_SSD1322.fcfx
(132.61 KiB) Downloaded 201 times

Re: SSD1322 Init Doesn't Work

Posted: Tue Mar 23, 2021 9:42 pm
by ronaldlijs
Hi Ben,

Very kind of you and super quick, thanks! I will keep you posted with any news.

Cheers!
R

Re: SSD1322 Init Doesn't Work

Posted: Tue Mar 23, 2021 10:03 pm
by ronaldlijs
Hi Ben,

Yes there seem to be some minor differences in the init routines between the FC8 SSD1322 component and the LCD I'm using. So will adapt, test and report back.

Really appreciate providing the source, it makes things so much quicker to fix.

Again cheers for this!

Re: SSD1322 Init Doesn't Work

Posted: Tue Mar 23, 2021 11:11 pm
by ronaldlijs
OK commands didn't make any difference.

Seems that when I enable the display with command 0xAF then the noise shows.

I have asked the supplier to help with what could be wrong here, so might take some time before I get any news about this one.

Thanks!

Re: SSD1322 Init Doesn't Work

Posted: Wed Mar 24, 2021 1:40 am
by ronaldlijs
Some more on this. I can control the brightness of the display, so there is communication and the display is responding for sure to the commands.

The Init routines seem fine, but the Clear Display is indeed doesn't work :-(

Re: SSD1322 Init Doesn't Work

Posted: Wed Mar 24, 2021 11:05 am
by Benj
Hello,

Please can you try the new component file I've pushed to the update system.

Hopefully this will clear the display and if that works then I know how to fix the pixel functions too.

Let me know how you get on.

Re: SSD1322 Init Doesn't Work

Posted: Wed Mar 24, 2021 6:42 pm
by ronaldlijs
Hi ben,

It's strange, it still doesn't work. With the component source, I did expose the WirteCommand and WriteData functions so I could play with those from the FC8 propram.

I can send a command followed by data to the display and works fine, for example set brightness level. But I'm not sure how to write data to the dispay.

I have noticed the Write RAM Command (5Ch). But I'm not sure how to use it either... (After entering this single byte command, data entries will be written into the display RAM until another command is written. Address pointer is increased accordingly. This command must be sent before write data into RAM).

I have not found this command in the component source, so I'm lost as to how to implement it...

Many thanks again for your help,
R

Re: SSD1322 Init Doesn't Work

Posted: Wed Mar 24, 2021 6:52 pm
by ronaldlijs
One more thing, the contact from BuyDisplay gave me a quick example routine to clear the display as follows.

Code: Select all

void Clear_ram()
{ unsigned char x,y;
 Write_Instruction(0x15);
 Write_Data(0x00);
 Write_Data(0x77);
 Write_Instruction(0x75);
 Write_Data(0x00);
 Write_Data(0x7f);
 Write_Instruction(0x5C);
 for(y=0;y<128;y++)
  { for(x=0;x<120;x++)
   {   Write_Data(0x00);
   }
  }
}
Hope this helps!
R

Re: SSD1322 Init Doesn't Work

Posted: Thu Apr 01, 2021 12:50 pm
by ronaldlijs
Any more thoughts on this one?

Cheers,
R

Re: SSD1322 Init Doesn't Work

Posted: Fri Apr 09, 2021 7:54 am
by ronaldlijs
Hi guys,

The people from Buydisplay have shared a demo code that should work with this display for your reference.

Thanks!

Re: SSD1322 Init Doesn't Work

Posted: Mon Apr 12, 2021 12:11 pm
by Benj
Hello,

I've had another look at the code compared to what you posted and it all seems to look ok. However it appears the clear function is not working for some reason.

Do you know the pixel dimensions of your display? It might be worth trying to increase the pixel height in the component properties and see if this makes any difference. I'm wondering if there is an offset between the display pixels and the controller IC ram.

Re: SSD1322 Init Doesn't Work

Posted: Tue Apr 13, 2021 9:25 pm
by ronaldlijs
Thanks Ben,

The display is 256x64 pixels.

What I'll do is to mimic he init routine the Egineer from Buydisplay gave me and see if that inits the display correctly. If not, I'll get back to them, if it does, then we would have moved a step forward.

Regards
R

Re: SSD1322 Init Doesn't Work

Posted: Mon Jun 21, 2021 11:45 am
by katela
Hi Ronald,

Did you get it right?
I'm also trying to use the SSD1322 with PIC16F1887 but doesn't work.
Tried with Parallel and buffered mode with no success.
I am using Flowcode v9. More info here: https://www.flowcode.co.uk/forums/viewt ... f=10&t=506