Custom E-Blocks

For E-blocks user to discuss using E-blocks and programming for them.

Moderators: Benj, Mods

Post Reply
User avatar
JohnCrow
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
Posts: 1367
Joined: Wed Sep 19, 2007 1:21 pm
Location: Lincolnshire
Contact:

Custom E-Blocks

Post by JohnCrow »

I have just recently completed building a couple of custom E-Blocks.
They have both been built on the EB017 Patch Board

4 x 20 LCD Display
LCD-Display - Web.jpg
LCD-Display - Web.jpg (20.96 KiB) Viewed 6233 times
This uses a standard 4x20 LCD display from Rapid. The connections run on the back of the board to the 10 pin SIL header.
Connections are basically the same as the normal Matrix E-Block display

Multisensor Board
Sensor Board-Web.jpg
Sensor Board-Web.jpg (25.99 KiB) Viewed 6233 times
This board has a slection of the common sensors and indicators I use for experiments.

SR04 Ultrasonic Transducer
RGB Led
Bi Colour LED
Reed Relay
SPDT Switch
LM35 Temperature Sensor
LDR
Potential Divider
Microphone
Buzzer - Driven by a transistor

The SIL headers next to each sensor allow it to be connected by jumpers to the patch sockets next to the 9 way D Plugs and then connected to the Programmer
As I have 2 ports and 8 lines on each port, several sensors can be used at once, depending on the sensor and the pic type.

As can be seen there is still room to add more sensors to the board if required.
1 in 10 people understand binary, the other one doesn't !

singhdeol
Posts: 30
Joined: Sat Dec 18, 2010 6:07 am
Contact:

Re: Custom E-Blocks

Post by singhdeol »

good stuff thx for the post, I am thinking of making some E board of my own.

User avatar
Steve001
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
Posts: 1159
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 2008 3:37 pm
Contact:

Re: Custom E-Blocks

Post by Steve001 »

saw this and thought i would add one of the boards i made.

it has 16 x 1k pots for analougue inputs which are switchable in and out of circuit.
2 x 1k 10 turn pots (on on each block) for detailed testing and calibrating of the inputs
all with test points to test the voltages.

However with a quiescent current of 92 ma i use a seperate voltage regulator powered from the 14v supply as i do not wish to damage my muiltprogrammer especially if i am using my 4x16 display which has a back light and runs at 68 ma

steve
Attachments
Photo0138.jpg
Photo0138.jpg (70.17 KiB) Viewed 5928 times
Success always occurs in private and failure in full view.

User avatar
JohnCrow
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
Posts: 1367
Joined: Wed Sep 19, 2007 1:21 pm
Location: Lincolnshire
Contact:

Re: Custom E-Blocks

Post by JohnCrow »

Hi Steve
Not sure what you would use that amout of pots for :shock: :) , but being able to put a custom board together like that shows the flexibility of the E-blocks system.
The protoboards are very useful.
1 in 10 people understand binary, the other one doesn't !

User avatar
medelec35
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
Posts: 9102
Joined: Sat May 05, 2007 2:27 pm
Location: Northamptonshire, UK
Contact:

Re: Custom E-Blocks

Post by medelec35 »

Very good Steve.
I thought The Eblock range is lacking in a board that contains more than 1 pot.
Perhaps 4 pots and 4 switches on the Eblock is a good idea?
(or switchable 8 pots and 8 switches even?)
Unless it's already available that is.
Steve001 wrote: it has 16 x 1k pots for analougue inputs which are switchable in and out of circuit.
2 x 1k 10 turn pots (on on each block) for detailed testing and calibrating of the inputs
What about using higher value of pots to reduce current draw.
Since analogue i/p's has a high input resistance.
I have used 50K with no issues at all.
Maybe other people could recommend a value?
Martin

User avatar
Steve001
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
Posts: 1159
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 2008 3:37 pm
Contact:

Re: Custom E-Blocks

Post by Steve001 »

hello,

in answer to johns question,

i am using a pic16f884 with 9 analougue inputs these are across ports A and B so i made so that there are 8 pots on each port that can be switched in and out of circuit with jumpers. As another pic may not have the same pins used for the inputs.

in answer to martins question,

i have a NX-877 PLUSII development board which has 5k pots on it , when the voltage was mesuared with a meter (fluke179) the voltage could be pulled down . so thats why i have used a 1k pot.

steve
Success always occurs in private and failure in full view.

Post Reply