Can I change interface of Flowcode 8?

For Flowcode users to discuss projects, flowcharts, and any other issues related to Flowcode 8.

Moderator: Benj

Post Reply
maharadga
Posts: 71
Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2014 1:38 pm
Location: Bulgaria
Contact:

Can I change interface of Flowcode 8?

Post by maharadga »

Hello.
I want to try Flowcode 8, but I don't like her interface. It's very cold.
I changed icons like Flowcode 7, but I also want to change the interface.
Is it possible?

User avatar
Steve
Matrix Staff
Posts: 3232
Joined: Tue Jan 03, 2006 3:59 pm
Contact:

Re: Can I change interface of Flowcode 8?

Post by Steve »

Like v7, Flowcode v8 has both a dark and a light style. You can change this in the "view" menu.

Also there are different inbuilt icon schemes in the "global options" page (via the "view" menu). You can create your own icon scheme within that page if you don't like ours.

maharadga
Posts: 71
Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2014 1:38 pm
Location: Bulgaria
Contact:

Re: Can I change interface of Flowcode 8?

Post by maharadga »

Hello, Steve.
I do not ask about dark and light theme, also for color of icons. I know this.
Like you can read in post above, I changed color of icons like Flowcode 7.
I do not like interface of Flowcode 8 /menu, all choices icons from left/, this blue color at all.
My question is: It's possible change vision like on Flowcode 7?
Very sad if this is impossible if in such a complex program this simple thing is not possible.

User avatar
Steve
Matrix Staff
Posts: 3232
Joined: Tue Jan 03, 2006 3:59 pm
Contact:

Re: Can I change interface of Flowcode 8?

Post by Steve »

As far as I'm aware, we have not removed any interface feature when moving from v7 to v8.

I'm sorry, but I don't understand what you mean by "change vision like on Flowcode 7". Could you maybe send a screenshot of what you would like to see? Or is there another phrase you can use?

User avatar
QMESAR
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
Posts: 1230
Joined: Sun Oct 05, 2014 3:20 pm
Location: Russia
Contact:

Re: Can I change interface of Flowcode 8?

Post by QMESAR »

Hi Steve,

If I understand the OP correctly he does not like the blue and white skin or the white skin as in the light schemes
he would like to have the black and red skin and icons in Red as in Flowcode 7 or have the possibility to change the skin and icon colors
:D
I hope i got it right
Regards
QMESAR

User avatar
Steve
Matrix Staff
Posts: 3232
Joined: Tue Jan 03, 2006 3:59 pm
Contact:

Re: Can I change interface of Flowcode 8?

Post by Steve »

Thanks, QMESAR.

There is no way to customise the colour of the menu icons and "accent" colour of Flowcode v7 or v8. So v7 will always be red and v8 will always be blue - at least for now.

I will add a suggested feature to allow additional customisation to the Flowcode interface in a future release.

maharadga
Posts: 71
Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2014 1:38 pm
Location: Bulgaria
Contact:

Re: Can I change interface of Flowcode 8?

Post by maharadga »

Exactly, QMESAR.
Maybe I did not speak correctly. It would be good for users to change the vision of the program according to their preferences. After all, this is not a whim for some. We sit for hours with Flowcode and want to be comfortable without our eyes being annoyed.
I'm sure that such an add-on that Steve is talking about will not be difficult to implement.

Brendan
Posts: 232
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2012 12:53 pm
Location: Cambridge, UK
Contact:

Re: Can I change interface of Flowcode 8?

Post by Brendan »

Having just purchased and installed it, and starting to use it in anger, I would also like to chip in with my 2Cents...

When you use an application so much in your daily life, you become accustomed to things having a certain appearance with the monitors you use and your eyes adapt. With each new upgrade, there should be the option to retain (as far as practicable) the familiar previous UI that the user is accustomed to. Sure, add funky new themes and colours if this is thought to add value and important product differentiation, but please don't deny frequent users the ability to keep the UI colours predominantly the same as they've long since become accustomed to.

Although I've yet to fully explore the new features of this upgrade, I can add that neither I or another user/colleague like the available new themes at-all, so now forced to waste time with tweaking and experimenting to either restore the UI back to personal preference, or create a new custom theme that's a best fit. Having done so, it'll be repeat again from start for the next major upgrade.

Please advise if there's a way to copy themes from FC7?

Many thanks,
Brendan

User avatar
Steve
Matrix Staff
Posts: 3232
Joined: Tue Jan 03, 2006 3:59 pm
Contact:

Re: Can I change interface of Flowcode 8?

Post by Steve »

You can simply copy them from v7 to v8. They are the same format, and live in the "GFX\schemes" folder.

The only issue is the new "group" icon will need to be changed.

Brendan
Posts: 232
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2012 12:53 pm
Location: Cambridge, UK
Contact:

Re: Can I change interface of Flowcode 8?

Post by Brendan »

Spot-on, Thanks Steve.

I can confirm this works for us :D

Best regards,
Brendan

maharadga
Posts: 71
Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2014 1:38 pm
Location: Bulgaria
Contact:

Re: Can I change interface of Flowcode 8?

Post by maharadga »

Steve wrote:You can simply copy them from v7 to v8. They are the same format, and live in the "GFX\schemes" folder.

The only issue is the new "group" icon will need to be changed.
I did this in the first use of FC8, but this changed only the icons. I want change color of toolbar, project explore, dashboard and e.t.c. like FC7.

User avatar
Steve
Matrix Staff
Posts: 3232
Joined: Tue Jan 03, 2006 3:59 pm
Contact:

Re: Can I change interface of Flowcode 8?

Post by Steve »

maharadga wrote:I want change color of toolbar, project explore, dashboard and e.t.c. like FC7.
I'm sorry - that is not possible.

Post Reply