Flowcode v5.2 for PIC Released

For Flowcode users to discuss projects, flowcharts, and any other issues related to Flowcode 5.
To post in this forum you must have a registered copy of Flowcode 5 or higher.

Moderator: Benj

Post Reply
User avatar
Benj
Matrix Staff
Posts: 14929
Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2006 10:48 am
Location: Matrix TS Ltd
Contact:

Flowcode v5.2 for PIC Released

Post by Benj »

Hello,

Flowcode v5.2 has now been officially released.

Please use the Help -> Check for updates menu in Flowcode to update your version to the latest release.

Here is the v5.2 changelog.

################################
# Flowcode for PICmicros V5.2 #
# Release: 3rd May 2012 #
################################

General
* Added Greek help file
* Added Italian help file
* Fixes help files for GSM, RS232 and gLCD components

EXE fixes
* Compare$() does not simulate correctly with case-insensitive check
* Custom interrupts are disabled on a project reload
* Flowchart command gap is not the same as v4
* Loops do not disable correctly in simulation
* Selecting pins that clash for 2 components does not warn

CAL
* IO - swapped mask and value parameters
* String - ToUpper fixed
* String - Added float CAL functions
* Typedef - String changed to unsigned char*
* UART - fixes to receive, auto-echo and HW baud

Components
* 7seg fix for multiline definitions
* UART component fixes to allow 9-bit data mode
* UART component fixes to work with other UART components
* FAT reserved sector bugfix
* RGBLED fixed disabled LED code
* LIN C code fixes
* RC5 PWM bugfix
* ADC MS substitution fix
* Keypad added MS substitutions
* Servo fixed MS simulation crash
* Servo MS substitution fix
* RS232 added function to switch BAUD on the fly
* RS232 MS substitution fix
* Switch added debounce support
* SwitchBank added debounce support
* TCP/IP added support for EB023v2
* TCP/IP added s/w UART mode
* Webserver added support for EB023v2
* Webserver added s/w UART mode
* USBHID fix to substitution
* WLAN lots of fixes & support for v1.2.3 FW
* gLCD startup code fix
* gLCD UART speed increase
* gLCD fixed crash when DrawBox (etc) has a negative X or Y coord

FCD
* 12F683/16F690 fix to GP2INT
* 16F610 fix to init code
* 16F688 added RXINT
* 16F7x7 fixed I2C definition
* 16(L)F1934 fix to timer interrupt defines
* Various fixes to the FCD creation (removed erroneous ' character)


################################
# Flowcode for PICmicros V5.1 #
# Release: 14th February 2012 #
################################

General
* Added a free/demo version
* Help file translation updates

EXE fixes
* AND, OR and XOR operators have wrong operator precedence
* Allow launching of comp help direct from context menu
* C viewer find function drifts due to UTF8 characters
* Can perform compile without generating C file
* Freeze during undo of an icon
* Lines connecting annotations to icons sometimes do not draw
* Logic for 'extra' licensing is wrong
* Make sure component connections dialog remembers ADC pin connections
* Massive projects (> 95 macros) can not load correctly
* Refreshing components constantly during simulation causes locking
* Remember last selected chip when starting a new project
* Rename ADC pins from ADCx to Anx to avoid confusion
* Some chips do not set config words correctly
* String concatenation does not work over 3 additions
* Syntax highlighting in source view mode 'drifts' when accented characters used
* Text inside loop icons not displaying correctly for 'test at end'
* The “check for updates” menu produces the wrong URL
* Toolbar positioning does not persist across saves
* Search and replace does not find variables on input icon

CAL
* Fixes for devices with multiple UARTS

Components
* Fixed FAT component compilation errors
* Fixed RS232 C code typo
* Fixed gLCD print macro simulation
* Fixed EEPROM write simulation
* Fixed ADC RAW function simulation
* Fixed PWM component crash (when PWM channel is unsupported)
* Fixed SwitchBank crash with keymapping (out of bound array index)
* Fixed Servo connection substitutions
* Added gLCD SW/HW mode

FCD
* Fixes for 16(L)F19xx devices


################################
# Flowcode for PICmicros V5.0 #
# Release: 16th January 2012 #
################################

Initial release

User avatar
medelec35
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
Posts: 9015
Joined: Sat May 05, 2007 2:27 pm
Location: Northamptonshire, UK
Contact:

Re: Flowcode v5.2 for PIC Released

Post by medelec35 »

Hi Ben, Thanks for the update.
Unfortunately the update is not updating my version of V5.1 Flowcode.
I'm running 64bit windows 7 with administration privileges.

Any one else having problems with their upgrade please?

I did notice that installer name is:
FlowcodeV5(PICmicro)_v5.0.0_to_v5.2.0.msp
Although updating V5.1 this probably has no significance?

One question without carrying out any tests:
Is the ADC issue of not displaying correct value with newer devices fixed?
It may have been fixed with initial V5.0.0 release, but not tested for that yet.

Martin
Martin

User avatar
JohnCrow
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
Posts: 1367
Joined: Wed Sep 19, 2007 1:21 pm
Location: Lincolnshire
Contact:

Re: Flowcode v5.2 for PIC Released

Post by JohnCrow »

Hi Benj / Martin
Im having the same problem.
1 in 10 people understand binary, the other one doesn't !

dazz
Posts: 1314
Joined: Sun Jan 15, 2012 3:15 pm
Contact:

Re: Flowcode v5.2 for PIC Released

Post by dazz »

Hi john/martin
I have applied the patch to 32bit Win7. although it still shows v5.1 in the help/about screen
one of the fixes mentioned (* Selecting pins that clash for 2 components does not warn) works so without testing further it appears to be working ok at this end
regards
dazz
To sign up to the V5 forum follow this link http://www.matrixmultimedia.com/forum_upgrades.php

User avatar
JohnCrow
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
Posts: 1367
Joined: Wed Sep 19, 2007 1:21 pm
Location: Lincolnshire
Contact:

Re: Flowcode v5.2 for PIC Released

Post by JohnCrow »

Hi
Ive Just downloaded the full version 5.2, uninstalled flowcode 5.1 and then done a clean install.
Thats gone in fine. Has kept the activation data (as it should)
Im running Windows 7 Pro x64
1 in 10 people understand binary, the other one doesn't !

User avatar
medelec35
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
Posts: 9015
Joined: Sat May 05, 2007 2:27 pm
Location: Northamptonshire, UK
Contact:

Re: Flowcode v5.2 for PIC Released

Post by medelec35 »

Hi Daz thanks for your response.
dazz wrote: although it still shows v5.1 in the help/about screen
one of the fixes mentioned (* Selecting pins that clash for 2 components does not warn) works so without testing further it appears to be working ok at this end
I reported that bug a while ago, and its still present on the Flowcode I tried upgrading.

Here is how to test for that bug.
Get any component e.g a switch.
It should default to A0
Now get another switch and change that also to A0.
There should be a warning that appears (and it does not with pre V5.2).
If you then look at the 1st switch, you will indeed see their is a warning which is no good as it should of appeared on the new switch.
JohnCrow wrote:Ive Just downloaded the full version 5.2, uninstalled flowcode 5.1 and then done a clean install.
Thats gone in fine.
Thanks for that, I just wanted to see if the upgrade is successful by just using check for updates link.

I will download the full version now :)

Martin
Martin

dazz
Posts: 1314
Joined: Sun Jan 15, 2012 3:15 pm
Contact:

Re: Flowcode v5.2 for PIC Released

Post by dazz »

John beat me too it , did it the same way as john and everythings spot on
To sign up to the V5 forum follow this link http://www.matrixmultimedia.com/forum_upgrades.php

dazz
Posts: 1314
Joined: Sun Jan 15, 2012 3:15 pm
Contact:

Re: Flowcode v5.2 for PIC Released

Post by dazz »

liking the new icon the orange infill is easier on the eyes than white:)
To sign up to the V5 forum follow this link http://www.matrixmultimedia.com/forum_upgrades.php

User avatar
DavidA
Matrix Staff
Posts: 1066
Joined: Fri Apr 23, 2010 2:18 pm
Location: Matrix Multimedia Ltd
Contact:

Re: Flowcode v5.2 for PIC Released

Post by DavidA »

Urgh thanks for the info guys will look into this asap!

User avatar
DavidA
Matrix Staff
Posts: 1066
Joined: Fri Apr 23, 2010 2:18 pm
Location: Matrix Multimedia Ltd
Contact:

Re: Flowcode v5.2 for PIC Released

Post by DavidA »

After a little bit of digging around it seems like the issue is patching over a "patched" Flowcode.

If you have gone 5.0 -> 5.1 -> 5.2 then the final 5.2 patch will not work

If you have gone 5.1 -> 5.2 this should still work.

If your patch does not work the only way currently to get this working is to uninstall your 5.1 Flowcode and reinstall using the 5.2 full install, we will try and work out an easier method to alleviate this problem

User avatar
JohnCrow
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
Posts: 1367
Joined: Wed Sep 19, 2007 1:21 pm
Location: Lincolnshire
Contact:

Re: Flowcode v5.2 for PIC Released

Post by JohnCrow »

Touch Screen

Just tried one of my touch screen programs with FC5.2, and there is a very noticable increase in speed with it over FC5.1
Thanks
1 in 10 people understand binary, the other one doesn't !

User avatar
medelec35
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
Posts: 9015
Joined: Sat May 05, 2007 2:27 pm
Location: Northamptonshire, UK
Contact:

Re: Flowcode v5.2 for PIC Released

Post by medelec35 »

JohnCrow wrote: Just tried one of my touch screen programs with FC5.2, and there is a very noticable increase in speed with it over FC5.1
Thanks
Now that is great news!

Touch screen is a great bit of kit!

I'm going to be working on some programs involving Touch screens soon.

Just so much you can do with them, it just deciding which application to start with :)
Martin

User avatar
JohnCrow
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
Posts: 1367
Joined: Wed Sep 19, 2007 1:21 pm
Location: Lincolnshire
Contact:

Re: Flowcode v5.2 for PIC Released

Post by JohnCrow »

Yes I noticed a big difference with the Temp Monitor program, which was quite sluggish reading the screen.

Im looking forward to FC5 for dsPIC with touch screen support being released.
Not really done very much with the V4 version but it should give a big boost to the touch screen performance.
1 in 10 people understand binary, the other one doesn't !

Post Reply