How to use internal clock on 16F88 ?

For questions and comments on programming in general. And for any items that don't fit into the forums below.

Moderators: Benj, Mods

picnewbie

How to use internal clock on 16F88 ?

Post by picnewbie »

Hello

maybe a very simple question, how do I have to program the PIC16F88 to use it without external clock ?

I just want to use its internal clock at 8 MHz - I found a C instruction osccon := 0x7E; to be set through a flowcode C Command.

But then - how can I test with the EB-006 Multiprogrammer in the internal clock mode ?

And what setting do I have to apply in the PicMicro Configuration Page of PPPv3 ?

Sorry for the maybe to easy question - but I'm a real newbie in PIC Programming ;)

Best regards

PicNewbie

Enamul

Re: How to use internal clock on 16F88 ?

Post by Enamul »

But then - how can I test with the EB-006 Multiprogrammer in the internal clock mode ?
And what setting do I have to apply in the PicMicro Configuration Page of PPPv3 ?
EB006 should work normally nothing to change..but need to use osccon as you mentioned in c code box in the beginning of code..and the attached config..
Attachments
88.PNG
(27.23 KiB) Downloaded 2604 times
Enamul
University of Nottingham
enamul4mm@gmail.com

picnewbie

Post by picnewbie »

Hallo again,

first of all thanks for this first tip - I got the device running correct in the EB-006 with the internal clock settings - at least I think its running on the internal clock, because the LED blinks even without the quarz on the EB-006 board ;)
and this independent of RC or XTAL setting of the switch of the EB-006 board.

One more question about using the pic with his internal clock setting outside the EB-006 environment:
So now I took the chip out of the card and put it on a very simple circuit just putting

5V to pin 14
Gnd to pin 5
and I connected a Resistor (470 Ohm) to a LEDs Anode to pin 17 the LEDs Kathode to Gnd.