Programming with MAG3110 Magnetometer

For Flowcode users to discuss projects, flowcharts, and any other issues related to Flowcode 5.
To post in this forum you must have a registered copy of Flowcode 5 or higher.

Moderator: Benj

Brendan

Programming with MAG3110 Magnetometer

Post by Brendan »

I am a seasoned professional experienced in hardware and host software design, only recently adding embedded coding to my arsenal with Flowcode v5.4 professional.

I'm currently working on a new project using the MAG3110 magnetometer, but (embarrassingly) I'm having difficulties interpreting/translating the necessary I2C transactions from the datasheet to Flowcode. For the record, the datasheet is here... http://www.freescale.com/files/sensors/ ... AG3110.pdf

I'm currently working with the supplied 16F88 PIC (5V logic) and, as per page 12 of the datasheet, I need to configure the device for 'multibyte read' in fast (80Hz) mode. I am using pins 7 and 10 for SDA and SCL respectively, with appropriate pull-ups either side of level translators which is all working fine.

Any pointers on the component macro's and their necessary configurations to extract MSB readings from all axes would be so much appreciated - or preferably an example if anyone's worked with this particular device before. Armed with a working example I can quickly start to move beyond this impasse for the rest of the project and other operating modes.

Many thanks in advance.

Brendan

Brendan

Re: Programming with MAG3110 Magnetometer

Post by Brendan »

Thanks to everyone showing interest in my post, but I've sussed it and working just fine now :D

I would however suggest better coverage of I2C in the help.

If you code in C then a review of the code helps users establish what's going on. However, Flowcode is all about providing embedded accessibility to users who don't, and I2C is a primary interface commonly used in modern electronics devices that make for more succinct and interesting projects.