MIAC - Advanced expansion module

For MIAC users to discuss projects, applications, and any other issues related to the MIAC unit.

Moderators: Benj, Mods

Post Reply
gangusgreen
Posts: 26
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2013 2:59 pm
Contact:

MIAC - Advanced expansion module

Post by gangusgreen »

Is it possible to run this module as it's own controller? And if so can V5 flowcode work with this?

User avatar
JohnCrow
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
Posts: 1367
Joined: Wed Sep 19, 2007 1:21 pm
Location: Lincolnshire
Contact:

Re: MIAC - Advanced expansion module

Post by JohnCrow »

Hi

Miac and expansion information is available here

http://www.matrixmultimedia.com/miac.php

The advancesd module connects to the MIAC by the CAN BUS (i.e 2 wire twisted pair), but flowcode makes it totally transparent so you dont need to understand CAN protocols. All taken care of by FC.
But it cannot be used on its own under FC. (i.e without the MIAC)

Ive never thought about using them on there own, but I suspose if you have a very good understanding of the CAN bus protocols it may be possible.
But you would still need the CAN controller E-Block and a EB006 or other upstream board to control it.
Im sure MM will be able to say yes or no on this
1 in 10 people understand binary, the other one doesn't !

User avatar
LeighM
Matrix Staff
Posts: 2043
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2012 10:07 am
Contact:

Re: MIAC - Advanced expansion module

Post by LeighM »

Hi gangusgreen

As John mentioned there are more detailed documents available on the MIAC web page.
This includes a document outlining how we use the CAN protocol to control the functionality of the expansion modules, and also how to re-program their CAN IDs if you so require. So in this way the modules can be used within an existing CAN network.

But as John said they are most easily used via FC5 and the MIAC.
The expansion modules themselves come pre-loaded with the Firmware necessary to operate as part of a MIAC System, with the controlling software developed easily on FC5 and targeting the controlling MIAC.

However, it is also possible to re-program the expansion modules for your own purposes, via a PICKit interface and using FC5 for dsPIC. This though is a more advanced task.

Regards,
Leigh

gangusgreen
Posts: 26
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2013 2:59 pm
Contact:

Re: MIAC - Advanced expansion module

Post by gangusgreen »

Hi Leigh,

Is there a port for the PicKit3 on the module?

Bill

User avatar
JohnCrow
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
Posts: 1367
Joined: Wed Sep 19, 2007 1:21 pm
Location: Lincolnshire
Contact:

Re: MIAC - Advanced expansion module

Post by JohnCrow »

Hi Bill

Yes, its on the PCB inside the unit.
Carefully unclip the board from the back of the case. Watch the wires to the LED on the front they are quite short, its best to push the led back out of its clip.
Ive used it to update the firmware on them.
1 in 10 people understand binary, the other one doesn't !

gangusgreen
Posts: 26
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2013 2:59 pm
Contact:

Re: MIAC - Advanced expansion module

Post by gangusgreen »

Thanks for the info John. :D
Bill

Post Reply