MIAC - Advanced expansion module

For MIAC users to discuss projects, applications, and any other issues related to the MIAC unit.

Moderators: Benj, Mods

gangusgreen
Posts: 26
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2013 2:59 pm
Has thanked: 6 times
Contact:

MIAC - Advanced expansion module

Postby gangusgreen » Thu Aug 22, 2013 9:16 pm

Is it possible to run this module as it's own controller? And if so can V5 flowcode work with this?

User avatar
JohnCrow
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
Posts: 1367
Joined: Wed Sep 19, 2007 1:21 pm
Location: Lincolnshire
Has thanked: 381 times
Been thanked: 715 times
Contact:

Re: MIAC - Advanced expansion module

Postby JohnCrow » Thu Aug 22, 2013 9:57 pm

Hi

Miac and expansion information is available here

http://www.matrixmultimedia.com/miac.php

The advancesd module connects to the MIAC by the CAN BUS (i.e 2 wire twisted pair), but flowcode makes it totally transparent so you dont need to understand CAN protocols. All taken care of by FC.
But it cannot be used on its own under FC. (i.e without the MIAC)

Ive never thought about using them on there own, but I suspose if you have a very good understanding of the CAN bus protocols it may be possible.
But you would still need the CAN controller E-Block and a EB006 or other upstream board to control it.
Im sure MM will be able to say yes or no on this
These users thanked the author JohnCrow for the post:
LeighM (Fri Aug 23, 2013 10:03 am)
Rating: 5.26%
 
1 in 10 people understand binary, the other one doesn't !

User avatar
LeighM
Matrix Staff
Posts: 1889
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2012 10:07 am
Has thanked: 445 times
Been thanked: 640 times
Contact:

Re: MIAC - Advanced expansion module

Postby LeighM » Fri Aug 23, 2013 10:06 am

Hi gangusgreen

As John mentioned there are more detailed documents available on the MIAC web page.
This includes a document outlining how we use the CAN protocol to control the functionality of the expansion modules, and also how to re-program their CAN IDs if you so require. So in this way the modules can be used within an existing CAN network.

But as John said they are most easily used via FC5 and the MIAC.
The expansion modules themselves come pre-loaded with the Firmware necessary to operate as part of a MIAC System, with the controlling software developed easily on FC5 and targeting the controlling MIAC.

However, it is also possible to re-program the expansion modules for your own purposes, via a PICKit interface and using FC5 for dsPIC. This though is a more advanced task.

Regards,
Leigh

gangusgreen
Posts: 26
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2013 2:59 pm
Has thanked: 6 times
Contact:

Re: MIAC - Advanced expansion module

Postby gangusgreen » Sat Aug 24, 2013 12:00 am

Hi Leigh,

Is there a port for the PicKit3 on the module?

Bill

User avatar
JohnCrow
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
Posts: 1367
Joined: Wed Sep 19, 2007 1:21 pm
Location: Lincolnshire
Has thanked: 381 times
Been thanked: 715 times
Contact:

Re: MIAC - Advanced expansion module

Postby JohnCrow » Sat Aug 24, 2013 9:02 am

Hi Bill

Yes, its on the PCB inside the unit.
Carefully unclip the board from the back of the case. Watch the wires to the LED on the front they are quite short, its best to push the led back out of its clip.
Ive used it to update the firmware on them.
These users thanked the author JohnCrow for the post (total 3):
medelec35 (Sat Aug 24, 2013 10:14 am) • Benj (Sat Aug 24, 2013 7:08 pm) • LeighM (Sun Aug 25, 2013 5:53 pm)
Rating: 15.79%
 
1 in 10 people understand binary, the other one doesn't !

gangusgreen
Posts: 26
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2013 2:59 pm
Has thanked: 6 times
Contact:

Re: MIAC - Advanced expansion module

Postby gangusgreen » Sat Aug 24, 2013 12:58 pm

Thanks for the info John. :D
Bill