RS232 possible improvement

For Flowcode users to discuss projects, flowcharts, and any other issues related to Flowcode 6.

Moderator: Benj

Post Reply
benp
Posts: 155
Joined: Sat Mar 28, 2009 5:44 pm
Location: LYON FRANCE
Contact:

RS232 possible improvement

Post by benp »

You should compare your config to mine before reading this post:
FowcodeV6.0.3
Updated RS232 component with this one:
http://www.matrixmultimedia.com/mmforum ... =25#p52401
(download and install InjectorHumanInterface.fcpx )

The flowcode program used to test the RS232 is the following:
rs232v02.fcfx
(7.61 KiB) Downloaded 114 times
In the V5, it is easy to see RX, TX and RX queue.
i0.jpg
i0.jpg (13.57 KiB) Viewed 3914 times
The bad point are:
-It is not possible to close this big console
-It was not possible to see RX and TX data time (which one is before which one)
-Only Byte and ascii possible (no hex)

What V6 can do :
i1.jpg
i1.jpg (60.64 KiB) Viewed 3914 times
It is a good idea to show TX and RX on the same line in blue and red, but it is not possible to see the RX Queue at the same time.
The horizontal scroll should not be possible, the data should adapt to the width (no white on the right).
(next post for new images)
Regards
INSA 1er cycle GCP projects with or without eblocks:
http://www.youtube.com/user/INSAgcp

benp
Posts: 155
Joined: Sat Mar 28, 2009 5:44 pm
Location: LYON FRANCE
Contact:

Re: RS232 possible improvement

Post by benp »

Here is what you can see if you right click on show data bytes:
(scroll to see the right !!!)
i2.jpg
(120.67 KiB) Downloaded 1668 times
There is to much data: the window is too big and it is not possible to see where is send and receive.
The ascii and dec data are not very well separated.
You should only show the data once and be able to choose between hex,dec or ascii. The data in hex or dec should be in red and blue like ascii.

Human interface:
i3.jpg
i3.jpg (49.91 KiB) Viewed 3913 times
Is human interface useful for somebody?


What I would like:
i4.jpg
i4.jpg (53.83 KiB) Viewed 3913 times
Explanations:
RX queue can be seen at the bottom by default.
Right click to choose between hex,dec and ascii
RXqueue tab can still exist
No horizontal scroll
Defaut tab sould not be visible
UART-Com port1 sould not be visible if not used
Regards
INSA 1er cycle GCP projects with or without eblocks:
http://www.youtube.com/user/INSAgcp

benp
Posts: 155
Joined: Sat Mar 28, 2009 5:44 pm
Location: LYON FRANCE
Contact:

Re: RS232 to UDP or TCP

Post by benp »

TCP and UDP output/input can be the next RS232 improvement.
The RS232 component would become a EB069 component. EB069 is a rs232 to UDP or TCP bridge
Here is an example of what you could do with this component:
http://www.matrixmultimedia.com/mmforum ... 54&t=13028

You can use our INSA made android application as an example:
https://play.google.com/store/apps/deta ... gacy&hl=en
Or Network stuff (for windows):
http://jacquelin.potier.free.fr/network ... _or_server
Or this virtual com to udp used in the youtube example:
http://pcmicro.com/virtualcomudp/


In the flowcode properties, here is what you can do:
i5.jpg
i5.jpg (25.25 KiB) Viewed 3910 times
The "data source" list should become:
Data injector
Com port
TCP
UDP

"Injector" should become "address:port" with this default config"127.0.0.1:5000" ( address and port can be 2 different lines)

You can add a line "server" with yes/no. In case of server, no adress needed, the server answer to any incoming call.
The matrix team can start with UDP because connections are more simple to manage.

It is possible to test this component with netstuff(see link before in the text for download).
Here is a youtube example which show how to use netstuff on harware:
[/youtube]
Regards
INSA 1er cycle GCP projects with or without eblocks:
http://www.youtube.com/user/INSAgcp

User avatar
medelec35
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
Posts: 8878
Joined: Sat May 05, 2007 2:27 pm
Location: Northamptonshire, UK
Contact:

Re: RS232 possible improvement

Post by medelec35 »

Hi Ben,
Thanks for the links, I will take a look at them.
I agree console does need more improving, but did you know you can right click on any console tabs and select New Tab Group?
Martin

If you read a post that is useful, please show appreciation by clicking on thumbs up Icon.

User avatar
Benj
Matrix Staff
Posts: 14848
Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2006 10:48 am
Location: Matrix TS Ltd
Contact:

Re: RS232 possible improvement

Post by Benj »

Hello,

Some nice idea's there, many thanks for your input.

Ben, there is a Vnet injector which should allow UDP or TCP comms and means we can just add injector functionality to all our comms components rather then adding injectors and then UDP/TCP and then Modbus, and then USB etc.... Even thinking about re-doing the COM port interface as an injector component to simplify things.

Vnet injector might not be fully up to scratch yet as I have not done a great deal of testing with it. I suppose a nice working example would probably help a lot here.

benp
Posts: 155
Joined: Sat Mar 28, 2009 5:44 pm
Location: LYON FRANCE
Contact:

Re: RS232 possible improvement

Post by benp »

Medelec, Thank you, this allow to see 2 tabs at the same time.

Benj, I am waiting for the vnet testing and example.
I didn't find the vnet in V6. Is it already available?

2 other points to implent:
- rxint in simulation-look here:
http://www.matrixmultimedia.com/mmforum ... int#p51922
- receive buffer overflow in buffer
Regards
INSA 1er cycle GCP projects with or without eblocks:
http://www.youtube.com/user/INSAgcp

User avatar
JonnyW
Posts: 1230
Joined: Fri Oct 29, 2010 9:13 am
Location: Matrix Multimedia Ltd
Contact:

Re: RS232 possible improvement

Post by JonnyW »

Evening. Thanks for the suggestions, some good things to go on there that would help improve the console.
I didn't find the vnet in V6. Is it already available?
We took VNet out in V6, as the VNet stuff was done individually for each component in v5, so we could not see how this would roll out to other users components easily. Ben has done an injector in V6, but I am not sure what state that is in, but this is now a component that can inject data into any comms component, meaning VNet is now functional to all comms.
There is to much data: the window is too big and it is not possible to see where is send and receive.
The ascii and dec data are not very well separated.
Fair point - I will see about having a screen-wrap option to be able to display the lines without needing to scroll right. Also possibly about drawing vertical lines to separate the parts.
Defaut tab sould not be visible
We might want to be able to close tabs, I will see about that. The 'Default' tab is there to allow any component (or your program) to print debug to it, but I can see why you would want to close it.
It was not possible to see RX and TX data time (which one is before which one)
If you right click on the tabs on the console you will be able to show up to 4 different views. I will add an option to order specifically horizontal or vertical to this.
Only Byte and ascii possible (no hex)
What would you show as hex? The byte mode can show both hex and decimal on the right-click context menu.

Have a good evening.

Jonny

benp
Posts: 155
Joined: Sat Mar 28, 2009 5:44 pm
Location: LYON FRANCE
Contact:

Bug V5 and V6: RS232 possible improvement

Post by benp »

There is still the same bug as in V5.
In the RS232 component, if you choose Return=16bits, receive char should receive 512 if no data

On hardware, this is OK (test OK on V5, not tested on V6)
On simulation, this is not correct (test on V5 and V6), 255 is received and not 512.

Here is an example which show the problem:
rs232intv03LCD.fcfx
(14.98 KiB) Downloaded 105 times
Another bug:
It is possible to write in the console (human interface RX Queue) during the simul pause but not during the simul play.
Regards
INSA 1er cycle GCP projects with or without eblocks:
http://www.youtube.com/user/INSAgcp

Post Reply