Arduino Programming In Flowcode v6

For Flowcode users to discuss projects, flowcharts, and any other issues related to Flowcode 6.

Moderator: Benj

john_m0ers
Posts: 29
Joined: Wed May 07, 2008 3:41 pm
Location: lincoln
Been thanked: 3 times
Contact:

Re: Arduino Programming In Flowcode v6

Post by john_m0ers »

Hi,
Some time ago I bought a few arduino unos rev3. I should have looked at the arduino language first!
Having followed this link with interest, am I correct in assuming that the only way you can program the uno is via an external
programmer such as the stk500?
Is there no way to program the uno through the usb port using flowcode 6?
thanks john

User avatar
RobH
Posts: 95
Joined: Wed Sep 11, 2013 7:51 pm
Has thanked: 29 times
Been thanked: 17 times
Contact:

Re: Arduino Programming In Flowcode v6

Post by RobH »

I'm not much help here... I did want you to know that I never got my Pro Micro to program via USB in FC6, but programming via USB works perfectly using the Arduino software.

User avatar
Benj
Matrix Staff
Posts: 15312
Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2006 10:48 am
Location: Matrix TS Ltd
Has thanked: 4803 times
Been thanked: 4314 times
Contact:

Re: Arduino Programming In Flowcode v6

Post by Benj »

Hello,

The current status is devices with the USB to UART like the Uno are working fine via Flowcode. Devices with an internal bootloader are missing the functionality to reset the board into bootloader mode so this is very hit and miss based on when you push the reset button.

Using 6.0.9 you do this to get the Uno to work.

Build -> Compiler Options -> Programmer Tab

Location: $(appdir)compilers\avr\batchfiles\avrc_arduinoA.bat

Params: $(chipalt) stk500 com7 115200 "$(target).hex"

Where Com7 is the port for the Uno.

john_m0ers
Posts: 29
Joined: Wed May 07, 2008 3:41 pm
Location: lincoln
Been thanked: 3 times
Contact:

Re: Arduino Programming In Flowcode v6

Post by john_m0ers »

Hi, thanks to RobH and Benj,
So although it mentions stk500, you actually program it through the usb port?.
Apologies for this, but I tried what was suggested in one of the earlier posts. I had
to alter its com port to 09 (it came up originally on com17).
I clicked build to chip, and it said it was finished, but my uno was still running the
previous program.
thanks john

dazz
Posts: 1314
Joined: Sun Jan 15, 2012 3:15 pm
Has thanked: 474 times
Been thanked: 458 times
Contact:

Re: Arduino Programming In Flowcode v6

Post by dazz »

Hi john
can you please post a pic of your build compiler options programmer tab for the uno, can you also please post the generated msg.txt file
regards
Dazz
To sign up to the V5 forum follow this link http://www.matrixmultimedia.com/forum_upgrades.php

dazz
Posts: 1314
Joined: Sun Jan 15, 2012 3:15 pm
Has thanked: 474 times
Been thanked: 458 times
Contact:

Re: Arduino Programming In Flowcode v6

Post by dazz »

Hi john
can you please post a pic of your build compiler options programmer tab for the uno, can you also please post the generated msg.txt file
regards
Dazz
To sign up to the V5 forum follow this link http://www.matrixmultimedia.com/forum_upgrades.php

Monie Jacobsen
Posts: 484
Joined: Mon Jul 30, 2012 3:39 pm
Has thanked: 17 times
Been thanked: 46 times
Contact:

Re: Arduino Programming In Flowcode v6

Post by Monie Jacobsen »

Hi!

I have also problem´s to get arduino running.

I use Win7 64bit

After I have install the driver the USB for AVRISP and follow the tread here and change portect.I still get this message:
Title:
Description:
Device: AVR.ATMEGA.ATMEGA328P
Generated by: Flowcode v6.0.10.0
Date: Wednesday, August 20, 2014 14:24:32
Users: 1
Registered to: Monie Jacobsen
XXXXX
http://www.matrixtsl.com
Launching the compiler...
C:\Program Files (x86)\Flowcode 6\compilers\avr\batchfiles\avra.bat atmega328p "C:\Users\Monie\Documents\ArduinoUnoFC\TestFlash.elf" "C:\Users\Monie\Documents\ArduinoUnoFC\TestFlash.c" "C:\Users\Monie\Documents\ArduinoUnoFC\TestFlash.lst"
Launching compiler...
'C:\Program' blev ikke genkendt som en intern eller ekstern kommando,
et program eller en batchfil.
Completed compilation, return = 1

C:\Program Files (x86)\Flowcode 6\compilers\avr\batchfiles\avra.bat reported error code 1

If I use Aduino 1.0.5 No problem????

Do I missing something
Best Regard
Monie

dazz
Posts: 1314
Joined: Sun Jan 15, 2012 3:15 pm
Has thanked: 474 times
Been thanked: 458 times
Contact:

Re: Arduino Programming In Flowcode v6

Post by dazz »

HI monie
WHat does your arduino show up as in the device manager , are you also using win 8.1 etc
Can you also select the arduino programmer in the compiler options and click export give it a name(i recommend using your username with a 1 added) . then post it here so i can have a look at the setup
Regards
DAzz
To sign up to the V5 forum follow this link http://www.matrixmultimedia.com/forum_upgrades.php

Monie Jacobsen
Posts: 484
Joined: Mon Jul 30, 2012 3:39 pm
Has thanked: 17 times
Been thanked: 46 times
Contact:

Re: Arduino Programming In Flowcode v6

Post by Monie Jacobsen »

Hi Dazz:
I use Win 7 64 bit.
In devicemanager I can see the Arduino USB. Sometime it connected to port 3 and sometime port 4. But I also change it in FC config (Build/compileroption/ parameters to the same port.

I follow Bens instruction.
I have install the originally Arduino software including the USB driver + Usb driver (MM) AVRISP.
Attachments
MonieJacobsen.FCS
(736 Bytes) Downloaded 526 times
Compiler_Option.JPG
Compiler_Option.JPG (50.07 KiB) Viewed 38228 times
Best Regard
Monie

User avatar
Benj
Matrix Staff
Posts: 15312
Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2006 10:48 am
Location: Matrix TS Ltd
Has thanked: 4803 times
Been thanked: 4314 times
Contact:

Re: Arduino Programming In Flowcode v6

Post by Benj »

Hello,

We are currently in the final stages of a new release which has far superior Arduino support built in and should allow these devices to be programmed much easier.

Your program is currently not even compiling.
'C:\Program' blev ikke genkendt som en intern eller ekstern kommando,
et program eller en batchfil.
Completed compilation, return = 1
Maybe try adding speech marks around the compiler location in the compiler options?

"$(appdir)compilers\avr\batchfiles\avra.bat"

Monie Jacobsen
Posts: 484
Joined: Mon Jul 30, 2012 3:39 pm
Has thanked: 17 times
Been thanked: 46 times
Contact:

Re: Arduino Programming In Flowcode v6

Post by Monie Jacobsen »

Hello Benj

I try run your setup.
But no luck.
Will wait till comes with an update of Flowcode 6 with a new update of Arduino

$(appdir)compilers\avr\batchfiles\avra.bat

Title:
Description:
Device: AVR.ATMEGA.ATMEGA328P
Generated by: Flowcode v6.0.10.0
Date: Thursday, August 21, 2014 12:29:55
Users: 1
Registered to: Monie Jacobsen
Licence key: XXXXXXXX
http://www.matrixtsl.com
Launching the compiler...
C:\Program Files (x86)\Flowcode 6\compilers\avr\batchfiles\avra.bat atmega328p "C:\Users\Monie\Documents\FlowCode V6 Projekter\Arduino\TestFlash.elf" "C:\Users\Monie\Documents\FlowCode V6 Projekter\Arduino\TestFlash.c" "C:\Users\Monie\Documents\FlowCode V6 Projekter\Arduino\TestFlash.lst"
Launching compiler...
'C:\Program' blev ikke genkendt som en intern eller ekstern kommando,
et program eller en batchfil.
Completed compilation, return = 1

C:\Program Files (x86)\Flowcode 6\compilers\avr\batchfiles\avra.bat reported error code 1
Best Regard
Monie

jgu1
Posts: 1333
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2009 9:39 am
Has thanked: 1135 times
Been thanked: 299 times
Contact:

Re: Arduino Programming In Flowcode v6

Post by jgu1 »

Hi Ben!

Do you have any idea how long time before the new release. Really look forward to test it, and if it would be easyer to setup the different Chip an Arduinoer. :D

Best regard

Jorgen

User avatar
Benj
Matrix Staff
Posts: 15312
Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2006 10:48 am
Location: Matrix TS Ltd
Has thanked: 4803 times
Been thanked: 4314 times
Contact:

Re: Arduino Programming In Flowcode v6

Post by Benj »

Hello Monie,

It looks lik eyou did not include the " speech marks around the setting as the compiler output is still giving an error about C:\Program
Launching compiler...
'C:\Program'
What happens if you include the speech marks?

"$(appdir)compilers\avr\batchfiles\avra.bat"

We are doing a deal with Elektor mid September so the release should be available around that time if not before.

Monie Jacobsen
Posts: 484
Joined: Mon Jul 30, 2012 3:39 pm
Has thanked: 17 times
Been thanked: 46 times
Contact:

Re: Arduino Programming In Flowcode v6

Post by Monie Jacobsen »

Hi Ben

I am not expert, where do I have to ADD your Path?
Best Regard
Monie

User avatar
RobH
Posts: 95
Joined: Wed Sep 11, 2013 7:51 pm
Has thanked: 29 times
Been thanked: 17 times
Contact:

Re: Arduino Programming In Flowcode v6

Post by RobH »

I'm watching this thread for details of the release date of the upgrade...

User avatar
Benj
Matrix Staff
Posts: 15312
Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2006 10:48 am
Location: Matrix TS Ltd
Has thanked: 4803 times
Been thanked: 4314 times
Contact:

Re: Arduino Programming In Flowcode v6

Post by Benj »

Hi Rob,

The upcoming upgrade is due around the end of sept / start of oct. Hopefully not long to wait now...

Monie Jacobsen
Posts: 484
Joined: Mon Jul 30, 2012 3:39 pm
Has thanked: 17 times
Been thanked: 46 times
Contact:

Re: Arduino Programming In Flowcode v6

Post by Monie Jacobsen »

Hi Ben!
Something new regarding update???
Best Regard
Best Regard
Monie

dazz
Posts: 1314
Joined: Sun Jan 15, 2012 3:15 pm
Has thanked: 474 times
Been thanked: 458 times
Contact:

Re: Arduino Programming In Flowcode v6

Post by dazz »

Hi monie

The upgrade wont be too long now :)

Regards
DAzz
To sign up to the V5 forum follow this link http://www.matrixmultimedia.com/forum_upgrades.php

Monie Jacobsen
Posts: 484
Joined: Mon Jul 30, 2012 3:39 pm
Has thanked: 17 times
Been thanked: 46 times
Contact:

Re: Arduino Programming In Flowcode v6

Post by Monie Jacobsen »

Hello Dazz

But how long time is this, because my FC6 I have bougth (expencive) is still not working with Arduino and is very unstable with my EB006 ver.9
Best Regard
Monie

dazz
Posts: 1314
Joined: Sun Jan 15, 2012 3:15 pm
Has thanked: 474 times
Been thanked: 458 times
Contact:

Re: Arduino Programming In Flowcode v6

Post by dazz »

Hi Monie
V6.1 is now available(couldnt say too much the other day as it was going through final testing), and you dont need to adjust any settings for arduino, simply add the arduino to your project, when you click on compile to chip, a pop up appears do what it asks and bingo ,works a treat

Regards
To sign up to the V5 forum follow this link http://www.matrixmultimedia.com/forum_upgrades.php

Monie Jacobsen
Posts: 484
Joined: Mon Jul 30, 2012 3:39 pm
Has thanked: 17 times
Been thanked: 46 times
Contact:

Re: Arduino Programming In Flowcode v6

Post by Monie Jacobsen »

Hi there!

Now I have install the ver.6.1.0 Sorry but I am still not able to program an Arduino uno. Can anybody tell me what I am doing wrong???

I att. The program and the compilermessage.
Attachments
Compiler messages.txt
(812 Bytes) Downloaded 451 times
Flowcode1.fcfx
(3.22 KiB) Downloaded 483 times
Best Regard
Monie

dazz
Posts: 1314
Joined: Sun Jan 15, 2012 3:15 pm
Has thanked: 474 times
Been thanked: 458 times
Contact:

Re: Arduino Programming In Flowcode v6

Post by dazz »

Hi Monie
works here, try this click on build and there should be a drop down box called programmer port select your port then compile to chip,

Regards
Dazz

Flowcode1.msg.txt
(3.34 KiB) Downloaded 553 times
To sign up to the V5 forum follow this link http://www.matrixmultimedia.com/forum_upgrades.php

Monie Jacobsen
Posts: 484
Joined: Mon Jul 30, 2012 3:39 pm
Has thanked: 17 times
Been thanked: 46 times
Contact:

Re: Arduino Programming In Flowcode v6

Post by Monie Jacobsen »

Hi Dazz!

I already have done this and i doesn´t work. For me it look like it not at all.. :(
For me it look like it not compile at all..
Best Regard
Monie

User avatar
Benj
Matrix Staff
Posts: 15312
Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2006 10:48 am
Location: Matrix TS Ltd
Has thanked: 4803 times
Been thanked: 4314 times
Contact:

Re: Arduino Programming In Flowcode v6

Post by Benj »

Hi Monie,

This is the cause of the problem.
C:\Program Files (x86)\Flowcode 6\compilers\avr\batchfiles\avra.bat atmega328p "C:\Users\Monie\Documents\FlowCode V6 Projekter\Arduino\Flowcode1.elf" "C:\Users\Monie\Documents\FlowCode V6 Projekter\Arduino\Flowcode1.c" "C:\Users\Monie\Documents\FlowCode V6 Projekter\Arduino\Flowcode1.lst"

'C:\Program' blev ikke genkendt som en intern eller ekstern kommando.
Basically the command line command cannot find "C:\Program" which is strange as we should be passing this in quotes.

"$(appdir)compilers\avr\batchfiles\avra.bat"

I cannot see the quotes on your compiler output, I wonder if the registry has been corrupted at all. Can you do a full uninstall and reinstall to see if this solves the problem?

Also are you using any tools like System Mechanic as these can play havoc with your systems registry?

Monie Jacobsen
Posts: 484
Joined: Mon Jul 30, 2012 3:39 pm
Has thanked: 17 times
Been thanked: 46 times
Contact:

Re: Arduino Programming In Flowcode v6

Post by Monie Jacobsen »

Thank you for your answer Benj
But after the reinstall still available ERROR code 1
See below Compiler Messages!
-----------------------------------------------------
http://www.matrixtsl.com
Launching the compiler...
C:\Program Files (x86)\Flowcode 6\compilers\avr\batchfiles\avra.bat atmega328p "C:\Users\Monie\Documents\FlowCode V6 Projekter\Arduino\TestFlash.elf" "C:\Users\Monie\Documents\FlowCode V6 Projekter\Arduino\TestFlash.c" "C:\Users\Monie\Documents\FlowCode V6 Projekter\Arduino\TestFlash.lst"
Launching compiler...
'C:\Program' blev ikke genkendt som en intern eller ekstern kommando,
et program eller en batchfil.
Completed compilation, return = 1

C:\Program Files (x86)\Flowcode 6\compilers\avr\batchfiles\avra.bat reported error code 1

FINISHED




----------------------------------------------------------------------
Attachments
Compiler Options.JPG
Compiler Options.JPG (52.37 KiB) Viewed 38286 times
Best Regard
Monie

Post Reply