Solved [own mistake sorry ]RS232 ReceiveString Limit 10

For Flowcode users to discuss projects, flowcharts, and any other issues related to Flowcode 6.

Moderator: Benj

Post Reply
Rudi
Posts: 666
Joined: Mon Feb 10, 2014 4:59 am
Has thanked: 493 times
Been thanked: 187 times

Solved [own mistake sorry ]RS232 ReceiveString Limit 10

Post by Rudi »

Hi guys ;-)
i am little unsure .. make i wrong.. is there a change in system or a hidden bug.
i play today for a compare prog in floats and would send a 15 length string...
but allways cut and only 10 digits send.. (floattostring)..
then i test a simple..rs232 hello world send/receive prog..

The StringVariable is StrValue[20]
so many place for 15 byte..

The RS232 Timout = 255
The NumBytes = 15

simple:

Code: Select all

StrValue=RS232::ReceiveString(255,15)
but only 10 characters are receive from a 15 long SendString .."Hello World ;-)" and cuts the "d ;-)" to "Hello Worl"
Is there a Limit now? Or must change a "PacketSize" for String?
Best wishes!
Rudi
;-)

i hope the description is enough - i can not post a example just in time from this work place.

FC 6.0.10

EDIT:
The Smilie Character for Hello World example is crazy ;-)
..

only 10 characters are receive from a 15 long SendString .."Hello World 123" and cuts the "d 123" to "Hello Worl"
Last edited by Rudi on Mon Sep 01, 2014 5:46 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Benj
Matrix Staff
Posts: 15312
Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2006 10:48 am
Location: Matrix TS Ltd
Has thanked: 4803 times
Been thanked: 4314 times
Contact:

Re: No Hurry: Q: RS232 ReceiveString Limit 10 now?

Post by Benj »

Hi Rudi,

I have had a look and cannot see a reason for this in the source of the RS232 component. Can you please attach a set of transmit and receive files that demonstrates the problem and I will investigate for you.

Rudi
Posts: 666
Joined: Mon Feb 10, 2014 4:59 am
Has thanked: 493 times
Been thanked: 187 times

Re: No Hurry: Q: RS232 ReceiveString Limit 10 now?

Post by Rudi »

Hi Benj
i am so sorry for this..
i spend 3,5 h in this ;- ( ( ( ( .

..all is ok.

the Variable was named
StrValue2[10]

6! people read 20 and not 10..all they look to the 2 ;-(

i have seen that mistake was simply in the variable -- there was a "men tell 2 men mistake"

i am verry sorry for this .. will let you know later, why this prog is written...

"where is the corner...."

Best wishes
..
Rudi
;-)

Post Reply