Flowcode and hardware (slightly off topic)

For Flowcode users to discuss projects, flowcharts, and any other issues related to Flowcode 6.

Moderator: Benj

Post Reply
secs
Posts: 71
Joined: Fri Jul 31, 2015 9:21 pm
Contact:

Flowcode and hardware (slightly off topic)

Post by secs »

Hi all.

Have great success with FC and tinkering around with Arduinos I was thinking about how I used to develop the whole board from scratch then program up PIC chips. It got me to thinking would I go down that track again for various projects. Most of my stuff around home I use arduinos but.....

If I wanted to just use a microprocessor as part of another circuit/board I have the option of making a shield and plugging it in or simply programming up a chip

I then went and looked around for bits and pieces and micros in DIP format (I cant see well enough for smaller than that) and then came across things like

http://www.robot-electronics.co.uk/htm/dev-p182432.htm

So my question is what is compatible with FC6 that either via an adapter or in dip package that has 32 bit processor and lots of io's? I cant be the only one thats nearly blind :-)

dazz
Posts: 1314
Joined: Sun Jan 15, 2012 3:15 pm
Contact:

Re: Flowcode and hardware (slightly off topic)

Post by dazz »

Hi secs

Matrix do ecio which are similar the price is very comparable and cheaper in one type, the ones you are looking at should be ok, but then again the ecio devices are 100% compatible ;)

My eyes are getting worse, so i know where you are coming from

Here is a link to the ecio pages have a look https://www.matrixtsl.com/ecio.php

Regards
Dazz
To sign up to the V5 forum follow this link http://www.matrixmultimedia.com/forum_upgrades.php

User avatar
Benj
Matrix Staff
Posts: 14950
Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2006 10:48 am
Location: Matrix TS Ltd
Contact:

Re: Flowcode and hardware (slightly off topic)

Post by Benj »

Hello,

The PIC18 and PIC24 device look like they will work but the bootloader will likely cause some issues as you then have to change the linker to shift your code up to the right address.

Dazz is correct when he says the ECIO's will work out the box and have been thoroughly tested with Flowcode.

At the end of the day though Flowcode can be made to work with either.

secs
Posts: 71
Joined: Fri Jul 31, 2015 9:21 pm
Contact:

Re: Flowcode and hardware (slightly off topic)

Post by secs »

Thanks guys.

I didnt know the ECIO's were there. So will check them out now... I am sure they will do what I want

Peter

secs
Posts: 71
Joined: Fri Jul 31, 2015 9:21 pm
Contact:

Re: Flowcode and hardware (slightly off topic)

Post by secs »

Yes they look quite good.

Think I will order an ARM unit to play with. Which licence do you need for that one as I only use FC now for Arduinos basically.

Peter

secs
Posts: 71
Joined: Fri Jul 31, 2015 9:21 pm
Contact:

Re: Flowcode and hardware (slightly off topic)

Post by secs »

Should never have gone and looked at website. Now spending my next 6 months wages :-) Found the MIACs and looking at them. I am an Electrician by trade and can see a huge cost effective use for them.

https://www.facebook.com/softwareelectr ... ns/?ref=hl

Regards, Peter

dazz
Posts: 1314
Joined: Sun Jan 15, 2012 3:15 pm
Contact:

Re: Flowcode and hardware (slightly off topic)

Post by dazz »

Hi Secs

Sorry for posting the link ;) , the miac and a few other boards are also on my to get list, if i had more money i would have 2 of everything :lol:
Also bear in mind that the support from matrix themselves is first rate and more accessible than any other company i have used in the past, also all of us vc's on here are just satisfied customers who try to help others.

Regards
Dazz
To sign up to the V5 forum follow this link http://www.matrixmultimedia.com/forum_upgrades.php

secs
Posts: 71
Joined: Fri Jul 31, 2015 9:21 pm
Contact:

Re: Flowcode and hardware (slightly off topic)

Post by secs »

Thanks for the input Dazz. Yep like you if I had more money.......

I have posted a question in another thread to get a feel on how long the MIAC's will be around. I really am excited about using them but dont want to get going and then find they are pulled. The main module is supported in FC6 but not the other modules so this has me questioning its expected life.

I do a lot of tinkering for myself but also one only jobs for others. In fact I have a mechanical bull sitting in my workshop that looks like it needs a new controller. I think the MIAC will suit just nicely. A bit disapointed that no distributor is here in Australia to speed up delivery but hey you can't have everything.

As for support. I have found both the online stuff here and thier sales support to be A1. No problems. I am currently working with a new HMI screen at one of my jobs and would love the "Flowcode" way of doing things to be implemented in other products.

Regards, Peter

dazz
Posts: 1314
Joined: Sun Jan 15, 2012 3:15 pm
Contact:

Re: Flowcode and hardware (slightly off topic)

Post by dazz »

Hi
From memory the miac extras were left out of V6 due to time constraints, i think matrix are offering V5 to those who bought V6 and use the miac add on's (search the forum as there's a thread somewhere about it .

Im sure the miac will be around for a long time yet as it's a very good product, some VC's have then and im sure will add to my post later, matrix staff will probably provide a fuller answer on monday when they get back to work. also have a search on miac as there's a thread or article on someone using one in a power room fascinating stuff.

I've been lucky enough to visit matrix during the development of V6 and although the guys were very busy ,they were very welcoming and the best bit was they were all really enthusiastic about all their products, which not only rubbed of on me but also realised these guys are not only proud of their work they will go to long lengths to help

Regards
Dazz
To sign up to the V5 forum follow this link http://www.matrixmultimedia.com/forum_upgrades.php

User avatar
petesmart
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
Posts: 395
Joined: Thu May 06, 2010 11:42 am
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Re: Flowcode and hardware (slightly off topic)

Post by petesmart »

Hi Peter,

I am based in Sydney and have been using MIAC and expansion modules for quite a while now... Leigh from MM is your man to support you, he is very knowledgable and works down to the firmware level.

As I'm in your timezone, happy to assist, pm me and I will give you my phone number so we can chat..

Best

Pete
sorry about that Chief!

dazz
Posts: 1314
Joined: Sun Jan 15, 2012 3:15 pm
Contact:

Re: Flowcode and hardware (slightly off topic)

Post by dazz »

Hi

Forgot to mention this thread http://www.matrixtsl.com/mmforums/viewt ... 54&t=16640, now if this doesn't make you hit the bank card nothing will, it's a good offer

Regards
Dazz
To sign up to the V5 forum follow this link http://www.matrixmultimedia.com/forum_upgrades.php

Post Reply