save the project

A forums to allow resolved bugs and problems with Flowcode v7 to be stored and marked as resolved.

Moderator: Benj

Post Reply
User avatar
Osta
Posts: 159
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2016 9:42 am
Contact:

save the project

Post by Osta »

save the project Ctrl + S,
sometimes disappearing panel
or both.
Regards Slava.
Attachments
Sav.jpg
Sav.jpg (35.13 KiB) Viewed 11408 times

User avatar
Steve
Matrix Staff
Posts: 3175
Joined: Tue Jan 03, 2006 3:59 pm
Contact:

Re: save the project

Post by Steve »

Hi Slava, we are having difficulty replicating this problem. I think minimising and maximizing the Flowcode window should solve the problem for now.

User avatar
Osta
Posts: 159
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2016 9:42 am
Contact:

Re: save the project

Post by Osta »

Hi Steve!
Yes, closing the window helps!
The problem is not easy, I'm sure you can do it !!!
Steve tell me Russian interface will come back?
Regards Slava.

User avatar
Steve
Matrix Staff
Posts: 3175
Joined: Tue Jan 03, 2006 3:59 pm
Contact:

Re: save the project

Post by Steve »

We were aware that most users were using English and so we decided to remove the other languages temporarily from this initial release. We can add the languages back if you like.

User avatar
Osta
Posts: 159
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2016 9:42 am
Contact:

Re: save the project

Post by Osta »

Russian course very convenient.
I understand that the program easier to correct in English
I wish you good luck and patience!
Regards Slava.

johnsondav
Posts: 186
Joined: Thu Jun 28, 2012 7:29 pm
Location: Durham
Contact:

Re: save the project

Post by johnsondav »

Hi Slava

I too have the problem you describe
Flowcode 7 Missing icons.jpg
Missing Icons
(148.92 KiB) Downloaded 3089 times
FC7 Build 7.0.0.4

Windows 10 Pro - Ver: 1511
OS Build - 10586.494

Think the problem is FC7 not our computers. We only use what you made available.

User avatar
Steve
Matrix Staff
Posts: 3175
Joined: Tue Jan 03, 2006 3:59 pm
Contact:

Re: save the project

Post by Steve »

I agree it's a problem with Flowcode, but as we cannot replicate the problem it is difficult to fix. We will continue to try to solve it.

johnsondav
Posts: 186
Joined: Thu Jun 28, 2012 7:29 pm
Location: Durham
Contact:

Re: save the project

Post by johnsondav »

Hi Steve

I think I have a solution for the icon's going missing upon saving. I have solved the problem on my PC with the following:

- Open Global options
- Select the menu 'Application'
- Change OpenGL from 'Hardware', to 'Software' as shown below:
Global Options OpenGL Software.jpg
Global Options OpenGL Software.jpg (75.67 KiB) Viewed 11173 times
Works for me. Hope it helps others.

Dave

User avatar
Osta
Posts: 159
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2016 9:42 am
Contact:

Re: save the project

Post by Osta »

Hi Dave !
Configured as you advised.
Now the sidebar began to disappear .....
Attachments
Save.jpg
(88.28 KiB) Downloaded 2876 times

EtsDriver
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
Posts: 438
Joined: Tue Apr 15, 2014 4:19 pm
Location: Kajaani, Finland
Contact:

Re: save the project

Post by EtsDriver »

Osta, may i ask what brand is your gpu?
Ill just keep the good work up!

johnsondav
Posts: 186
Joined: Thu Jun 28, 2012 7:29 pm
Location: Durham
Contact:

Re: save the project

Post by johnsondav »

Hi Osta and EtsDriver

I don't believe it. Everything was working fine. So, I started a new project to test my set up as I had finished the previous project and could not replicate your problem. However, with a new project started, your right, the left-hand side menu keeps disappearing upon doing a save. This is very strange indeed and I am beginning to thing it is an OpenGL driver problem. This is my hardware details:
GTX770.jpg
GTX770.jpg (54.47 KiB) Viewed 11093 times
I have tried to make further changes to my graphic drivers setting without success. Would be interested to know if you are using similar to mine.

Dave

EtsDriver
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
Posts: 438
Joined: Tue Apr 15, 2014 4:19 pm
Location: Kajaani, Finland
Contact:

Re: save the project

Post by EtsDriver »

myspeks.JPG
myspeks.JPG (22.27 KiB) Viewed 11033 times
For others curiosity, im having same things happening as Osta/johnsondav and keep sometimes losing all the toolbar icons from the GUI, and i use Nvidia GTX970. What GPU does Steve have? :)
Ill just keep the good work up!

johnsondav
Posts: 186
Joined: Thu Jun 28, 2012 7:29 pm
Location: Durham
Contact:

Re: save the project

Post by johnsondav »

Hi EtsDriver

Thanks for sharing your Graphics hardware details. It has help to suggest my concern that the problem may be to do with the drivers. We'll only know when other give details of their hardware/drivers that does not produce this problem.

User avatar
Benj
Matrix Staff
Posts: 14851
Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2006 10:48 am
Location: Matrix TS Ltd
Contact:

Re: save the project

Post by Benj »

Hello,
What GPU does Steve have?
It's a laptop that Steve uses so I would guess it's an on-board Intel GPU.

I have a gaming laptop with a Nvidia 670M however it has a dual mode with an on-board Intel GPU and the Nvidia card is only fired up when needed to save power so not 100% sure which is being used for Flowcode.

I'll ask around the office and see if we have other Nvidia based machines we can use for testing.

User avatar
petesmart
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
Posts: 395
Joined: Thu May 06, 2010 11:42 am
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Re: save the project

Post by petesmart »

Hi,

I'm running a nvidia quadra4k and fc7... It's running hires +2500 pixels...I will have to check the exact resolution and come back to you.....What tests would you like me to run for you?...

Best

Pete
sorry about that Chief!

EtsDriver
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
Posts: 438
Joined: Tue Apr 15, 2014 4:19 pm
Location: Kajaani, Finland
Contact:

Re: save the project

Post by EtsDriver »

petesmart wrote:Hi,

What tests would you like me to run for you?
Would be intrested to hear some other facts, like what OS, RAM amount, what CPU if you can provide :)

If you can and want to test out, put your system screen close to 1920x1080 resolution (if your GPU can handle it and you can still see the texts well, dont know about what systems and screens you are using really :D), then put color scheme to 32 bit scheme, try running fc7 in light themed mode and doing things like starting stopping simulation, saving, opening, opening help etc. And if you get some icons to mess up or go "hidden", tell us your results :)

I go now test out what happens if i use the dark theme... :O

EDIT:
I updated my GPU to same drivers as johnsondav. (Nvidia GeForce GameReady Driver 368.81)
After opening old things in dark theme and pressing save icon couple times, seems that the icons go out of their place on dark theme, if looking by the undo and redo buttons:
darkfails.JPG
darkfails.JPG (18.21 KiB) Viewed 10961 times
When some items are pointed, they go back to their original positios:
darkfails2.JPG
darkfails2.JPG (27.37 KiB) Viewed 10961 times
Video can be found behind this link:
https://youtu.be/zWr1V4b8q0Y

The things on video happen in both modes, the HW and SW OpenGL. While pressing save icon rapidly, seems that the icons get messed up much easier.. Or im just imaging things. :D

EDIT2:

I tried changing out my GPU to older GTX750TI and the problem shown on video is still happening.
Ill just keep the good work up!

johnsondav
Posts: 186
Joined: Thu Jun 28, 2012 7:29 pm
Location: Durham
Contact:

Re: save the project

Post by johnsondav »

Hi EtsDriver

Thanks for taking up so much of your time on this GUI problem. I have tried all the options as I can think of related to graphic adaptor settings (BIOS settings, type of cable to monitor, screen resolution, various Nvidia control panel settings etc..), nothing changes the problem. I have also been looking for any event logs that might show up any Windows 10 problems during boot up, none found. I did find this though - a log in the Flowcode 7 directory:
Flowcode & - logs
Changes in this version: alpha_2_160713

flickering issue in components bar when resizing
flickering issue in tabs when resizing
Fixed toolbar so that the help and code profiling buttons now show tooltips
Resizing components when grid is enabled and aspect ratio locked
Resizing components toolbar
Loading Workspace window layout
Redrawing issues in tabs
This redrawing issue with tabs problem has been present at some time. Could still be a problem with Flowcode 7! Just a though, before we get too sure it is our computer system.

User avatar
LeighM
Matrix Staff
Posts: 2043
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2012 10:07 am
Contact:

Re: save the project

Post by LeighM »

Thanks for all your investigations on this.
I've been running into similar issues on my PC, which has NVIDIA adapter.
But running the latest (pre-release) executables from our dev team I am no longer seeing the issue.
So no doubt you will benefit from the next update release :D

Post Reply