Calculation Symbol

For Flowcode users to discuss projects, flowcharts, and any other issues related to Flowcode 5.
To post in this forum you must have a registered copy of Flowcode 5 or higher.

Moderator: Benj

Post Reply
JDR04
Posts: 264
Joined: Tue Mar 05, 2013 10:49 pm
Contact:

Calculation Symbol

Post by JDR04 »

When using the CALCULATION SYMBOL I would like to know what the line ;

Duty = Duty * 53/100 means and its influence please. I have attached a screen grab as well. Thanks folks.....John
Attachments
Calculation Symbol 2.jpg
Calculation Symbol 2.jpg (64.95 KiB) Viewed 2791 times

kersing
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
Posts: 1949
Joined: Wed Aug 27, 2008 10:31 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Calculation Symbol

Post by kersing »

This looks like a question that can use some context.

In you diagram the line simply means the variable duty is multiplied by 53 and then divided by 100. (Which will not yield the result you expect because the multiplication overflows the byte [0-255 value range] variable (5 * 53 = 265 which results in duty becoming 10)

What duty does in your code we can't guess because we there is no flowchart...
“Integrity is doing the right thing, even when no one is watching.”

― C.S. Lewis

JDR04
Posts: 264
Joined: Tue Mar 05, 2013 10:49 pm
Contact:

Re: Calculation Symbol

Post by JDR04 »

Thanks for replying.Here is the flow chart in question.
Thanks for your help////John
Attachments
16F690 PWM EXP.fcf
(13.53 KiB) Downloaded 94 times

JDR04
Posts: 264
Joined: Tue Mar 05, 2013 10:49 pm
Contact:

Re: Calculation Symbol-Is this Correct?

Post by JDR04 »

OK.could somebody tell me if I'm right or wrong please.

When using the calculation ,Duty=5*53/100 should be Duty=5*51/100

So my assumption is that whatever your Duty number is it should not be multiplied by anything that results in a number bigger than 255?

User avatar
medelec35
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
Posts: 9009
Joined: Sat May 05, 2007 2:27 pm
Location: Northamptonshire, UK
Contact:

Re: Calculation Symbol

Post by medelec35 »

Hi John,
Since a byte is maximum value is 255, then:

Code: Select all

255 + 1 = 0
Another example:

Code: Select all

255+ 5 = 4
etc.
Also

Code: Select all

0 - 1  = 255 
That's why the result of a byte can't be greater than 255.
If it is, then unexpected results will be seen.
So Jac is correct but only if /100 was not used after.

You can have intermittent value within a calculation higher than 255.
It could be as high as 32767 as singed integers are used as temporary variables.
So long as final result is not greater than 255.
For your example:

Code: Select all

Duty=5*53/100
Is allowed as the final result will be 2:

Code: Select all

5 * 53 = 265 
265 / 100 = 2.65
= 2
Note:
Numbers are not rounded up, so 2.65 will round down to 2

Martin
Martin

Post Reply