Pickit 3 problem with hex file?

For Flowcode users to discuss projects, flowcharts, and any other issues related to Flowcode 4.
To post in this forum you must have a registered copy of Flowcode 4 or higher. To sign up for this forum topic please use the "Online Resources" link in the Flowcode Help Menu.

Moderator: Benj

Post Reply
mrclauds
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri May 13, 2011 6:25 pm
Contact:

Pickit 3 problem with hex file?

Post by mrclauds »

Hi everyone...

Need some help quickly...
I've been using a pickit 3 to download my programs to the ucontroller...
I last used it 2 weeks ago and today when I tried to download it, it simply says:

Return code = 0

Launching the programmer...
C:\Program Files\Matrix Multimedia\Flowcode V4\Tools\PICkit3\pk3cmd.exe -P16F877A -FFlash test.hex -E -M -Y


HEX File not found
Return code = 1

Flowcode was unable to transfer the flowchart to the microcontroller. Check the programmer options and physical connections.


It was working 2 weeks ago?
Things I've tried to correct it to no avail:
Made sure that mplab is sending the files correctly... It is
Make sure mplab is not open when using flowcode...
Redid the setting and configuration for compiler and programmer
Moved workfolders into documents library
rebooted the pc multiple times

Does anyone have any suggestions?

Thanks
Clauds

User avatar
medelec35
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
Posts: 8877
Joined: Sat May 05, 2007 2:27 pm
Location: Northamptonshire, UK
Contact:

Re: Pickit 3 problem with hex file?

Post by medelec35 »

Martin

If you read a post that is useful, please show appreciation by clicking on thumbs up Icon.

mrclauds
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri May 13, 2011 6:25 pm
Contact:

Re: Pickit 3 problem with hex file?

Post by mrclauds »

Hi

Yes, exactly the same... even redownloaded the pickit 3 zip file to make sure...?
Running windows XP...

The only change I've made since I last used flowcode was that I installed a usb to serial converter driver...
Could this be the problem?

Thanks
Clauds

User avatar
Benj
Matrix Staff
Posts: 14848
Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2006 10:48 am
Location: Matrix TS Ltd
Contact:

Re: Pickit 3 problem with hex file?

Post by Benj »

Hello Clauds,

I cant really see the USB to serial device causing you any problems. Have you changed the location of your Flowcode project files at all? It may also be worth opening MPLAB and ensuring the firmware on the PICkit is ok and up to date.

mrclauds
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri May 13, 2011 6:25 pm
Contact:

Re: Pickit 3 problem with hex file?

Post by mrclauds »

Hi Benj

I was able to program the microcontroller by compiling in Flowcode, opening the asm file and then copy and paste to a project through MPlab..
It worked perfectly... So there is def no problem with MPlab or pickit...

I have also not moved any files on any programs at all, much less flowcode files...

I also tested making a new program through flowcode instead of just calling up an already made one, but still to no avail...
It's is one of the strangest problems I have had...

Everything works perfectly through flowcode or through MPlab (I don't have them on at same time when trying to program) except for the download to chip in flowcode...

?
Thanks

User avatar
Benj
Matrix Staff
Posts: 14848
Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2006 10:48 am
Location: Matrix TS Ltd
Contact:

Re: Pickit 3 problem with hex file?

Post by Benj »

Hello,

The last time we had reports of a problem like this it was an antivirus software that was causing problems. Are you running antivirus or firewall software? If you are then can you let us know what they are and try making the PK3CMD application an exception to see if this helps.

It is located in this directory. C:\Program Files\Matrix Multimedia\Flowcode V4\Tools\PICkit3

If this doesn't help then you could also try making the Flowcode exe an exception and see if this changes anything.

As you say it was working fine so potentially it may have just been a system / software update that is now causing the issue.

mrclauds
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri May 13, 2011 6:25 pm
Contact:

Re: Pickit 3 problem with hex file?

Post by mrclauds »

Hi Benj

I had my antivirus disabled and still could not get it to work...
I played in pk3cmd and manually tried a bunch of options and finally came right...

I had to change my parameters, but now have it working...
I changed it from:
-P%p -F%f.hex -E -M -Y

to:
-P%p -F"%f.hex" -E -M -Y"%f.hex"

It is working perfectly now...
Not sure why I've had to change it, but at least it is done now, and might help someone if they get stuck on same problem :)

Thanks for all the guidance :)

User avatar
Benj
Matrix Staff
Posts: 14848
Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2006 10:48 am
Location: Matrix TS Ltd
Contact:

Re: Pickit 3 problem with hex file?

Post by Benj »

Hello,

Glad you have it working again and thanks for letting us know. I will add the findings to the FAQ topic.

User avatar
Eric Brouwer
Posts: 20
Joined: Sat Oct 30, 2010 10:17 am
Contact:

Re: Pickit 3 problem with hex file?

Post by Eric Brouwer »

mrclauds wrote:Hi everyone...

Need some help quickly...
I've been using a pickit 3 to download my programs to the ucontroller...
I last used it 2 weeks ago and today when I tried to download it, it simply says:

Return code = 0

Launching the programmer...
C:\Program Files\Matrix Multimedia\Flowcode V4\Tools\PICkit3\pk3cmd.exe -P16F877A -FFlash test.hex -E -M -Y


HEX File not found
Return code = 1

Flowcode was unable to transfer the flowchart to the microcontroller. Check the programmer options and physical connections.


It was working 2 weeks ago?
Things I've tried to correct it to no avail:
Made sure that mplab is sending the files correctly... It is
Make sure mplab is not open when using flowcode...
Redid the setting and configuration for compiler and programmer
Moved workfolders into documents library
rebooted the pc multiple times

Does anyone have any suggestions?

Thanks
Clauds
Hi Clauds

From your info, I notice that your original file you had problems with, was "Flash Test.FCF" When using the PicKit3, I have noticed that file names can not contain any spaces. Instead of "Flash Test.fcf", use "Flash_Test.fcf"

Post Reply