GSM E Block

For E-blocks user to discuss using E-blocks and programming for them.

Moderators: Benj, Mods

User avatar
JohnCrow
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
Posts: 1367
Joined: Wed Sep 19, 2007 1:21 pm
Location: Lincolnshire
Has thanked: 381 times
Been thanked: 715 times
Contact:

GSM E Block

Postby JohnCrow » Wed Jun 08, 2011 8:07 pm

Hi
Your new GSM E-Block looks very interesting. A couple of questions
1) Will the macros for this (and the wifi board) be in the forthcoming update to FC4 or will we have to wait for FC5.

2) In the data sheet the test program says enter the SMS message using the E-Blocks keypad. Does this function like a normal phone keypad in this application
i.e. No.1 gives A B C etc, or is the test program just a numeric message.

This board is certainly going to be added to the system in the not to distant future. Have one or two ideas for such a module.
Thanks
1 in 10 people understand binary, the other one doesn't !

User avatar
misoct
Posts: 64
Joined: Sat Sep 04, 2010 11:03 pm
Location: Egypt
Has thanked: 8 times
Been thanked: 17 times
Contact:

Re: GSM E Block

Postby misoct » Wed Jun 08, 2011 8:59 pm

Hi JohnCrow
I think FC4 do all operations and instructions for the new product GSM e Block since any GSM depends only how to send AT commands to the module like RS232 and this is available in FC4
best wishes
Tharowat
These users thanked the author misoct for the post:
JohnCrow (Thu Jun 09, 2011 10:06 am)
Rating: 5.26%
 

User avatar
Benj
Matrix Staff
Posts: 14361
Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2006 10:48 am
Location: Matrix TS Ltd
Has thanked: 4443 times
Been thanked: 4143 times
Contact:

Re: GSM E Block

Postby Benj » Thu Jun 09, 2011 9:51 am

Hello,

Tharowat is correct that the GSM can be controlled by the RS232 component. However I am also happy to announce that we do have components for GSM and WIFI included in the upcoming v4 update.

The test program does use the keypad as a text input device eg 1 - A/B/C.
These users thanked the author Benj for the post:
JohnCrow (Thu Jun 09, 2011 10:05 am)
Rating: 5.26%
 

User avatar
greentech
Flowcode V4 User
Posts: 158
Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2011 2:11 pm
Has thanked: 10 times
Been thanked: 2 times
Contact:

Re: GSM E Block

Postby greentech » Sat Jun 11, 2011 8:16 pm

hey there,

this sounds very interesting how do i go by gsm code? can u xplain

User avatar
JohnCrow
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
Posts: 1367
Joined: Wed Sep 19, 2007 1:21 pm
Location: Lincolnshire
Has thanked: 381 times
Been thanked: 715 times
Contact:

Re: GSM E Block

Postby JohnCrow » Sun Jun 12, 2011 11:49 am

Hi
Well as far as I see from the data sheet for this board, you have to get a pay as you go sim card (Prepay), not a contract type as these are normally encrypted to work with phones locked to their network.
The update to FC4 which is due for release shortly is going to have the macros to drive it. So it should be a case of connect the board to the programmer, write the code and for example you could sent a text from your phone to the eblocks phone no. and it could for example turn bit 0 on port d high and this could switch on a relay.
Anything else thats not in the data sheet will have to be answered by BenJ @ Matrix
1 in 10 people understand binary, the other one doesn't !

User avatar
Benj
Matrix Staff
Posts: 14361
Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2006 10:48 am
Location: Matrix TS Ltd
Has thanked: 4443 times
Been thanked: 4143 times
Contact:

Re: GSM E Block

Postby Benj » Tue Jun 14, 2011 10:18 am

Cheers John,

The GSM component will include macros to do the following.

Check for incoming messages (call or text)
Answer Phone
Hang Up Phone
Dial Number
Read Incoming SMS Message
Send Outgoing SMS Message

User avatar
greentech
Flowcode V4 User
Posts: 158
Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2011 2:11 pm
Has thanked: 10 times
Been thanked: 2 times
Contact:

Re: GSM E Block

Postby greentech » Fri Jun 17, 2011 9:09 am

when the update will be available?

User avatar
greentech
Flowcode V4 User
Posts: 158
Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2011 2:11 pm
Has thanked: 10 times
Been thanked: 2 times
Contact:

Re: GSM E Block

Postby greentech » Fri Jun 17, 2011 9:10 am

untill then can i do it via rs232?

User avatar
Benj
Matrix Staff
Posts: 14361
Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2006 10:48 am
Location: Matrix TS Ltd
Has thanked: 4443 times
Been thanked: 4143 times
Contact:

Re: GSM E Block

Postby Benj » Fri Jun 17, 2011 9:53 am

Hello,

Yes RS232 will currently work fine to send and receive the AT commands. We hope to make this release as soon as possible, hopefully in the next couple of weeks.

User avatar
greentech
Flowcode V4 User
Posts: 158
Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2011 2:11 pm
Has thanked: 10 times
Been thanked: 2 times
Contact:

buying new product

Postby greentech » Tue Jun 21, 2011 2:03 pm

hi benj
hope you are well. one of my friend is interested in buying flowcode, what is the latest package, is it coming alongwith dev board? any special offers going on. what is the difference between student and professional edition?

User avatar
Benj
Matrix Staff
Posts: 14361
Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2006 10:48 am
Location: Matrix TS Ltd
Has thanked: 4443 times
Been thanked: 4143 times
Contact:

Re: GSM E Block

Postby Benj » Tue Jun 21, 2011 2:29 pm

Hello,

The latest package of Flowcode PIC is the v4.3 release. We will also be releasing version 4.5 shortly as a free update.

You can get the Flowcode package along with a E-block starter pack.
http://www.matrixmultimedia.com/product ... PHPSESSID=

Or you can get Flowcode with a older version 6 EB006 board
http://www.matrixmultimedia.com/product ... PHPSESSID=

Most of the E-block bundles also come with a license of Flowcode.
http://www.matrixmultimedia.com/eblockbundles.php

Student edition is not limited in code size but will not compile code for all the advanced components such as RS232, SPI, servo, stepper etc. A full list can be found in the marketing datasheet.

Professional edition comes with all the components and also a commercial license to allow you to sell any products you create using Flowcode.

User avatar
greentech
Flowcode V4 User
Posts: 158
Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2011 2:11 pm
Has thanked: 10 times
Been thanked: 2 times
Contact:

Port Scan

Postby greentech » Wed Jun 22, 2011 1:21 pm

Hi there,

I am trying to scan port c for the outputs. if 4 lights are on digit 4 is displayed on 7 segment, if if 2 are on digit 2 should display. How can i do this.

User avatar
Benj
Matrix Staff
Posts: 14361
Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2006 10:48 am
Location: Matrix TS Ltd
Has thanked: 4443 times
Been thanked: 4143 times
Contact:

Re: GSM E Block

Postby Benj » Wed Jun 22, 2011 3:11 pm

Hello,

Are you controlling the outputs on portC in your program or are they outputs from another external device eg switches?

If you are controlling the outputs then you cannot read the port using an input icon or you will essentially disable the outputs and convert the port to be an input.

User avatar
greentech
Flowcode V4 User
Posts: 158
Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2011 2:11 pm
Has thanked: 10 times
Been thanked: 2 times
Contact:

Re: GSM E Block

Postby greentech » Fri Jun 24, 2011 7:59 am

i am trying to read output pins of micro controller. isn't there a way in which i can scan whats the out put on port c?

User avatar
greentech
Flowcode V4 User
Posts: 158
Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2011 2:11 pm
Has thanked: 10 times
Been thanked: 2 times
Contact:

Re: GSM E Block

Postby greentech » Fri Jun 24, 2011 8:01 am

Can u tell me what at commands ill have to send to the gsm module in order to initialize it, then send an sms to a number?

User avatar
Benj
Matrix Staff
Posts: 14361
Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2006 10:48 am
Location: Matrix TS Ltd
Has thanked: 4443 times
Been thanked: 4143 times
Contact:

Re: GSM E Block

Postby Benj » Fri Jun 24, 2011 10:16 am

Hello,

You can read the contents of the port register by using a C code icon and a Flowcode variable.

Here the Flowcode variable "port" would be loaded with the portc value. Reading the tris register too would allow you to see the data direction of the port bits.

FCV_PORT = portc;

FCV_TRIS = trisc;

User avatar
Benj
Matrix Staff
Posts: 14361
Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2006 10:48 am
Location: Matrix TS Ltd
Has thanked: 4443 times
Been thanked: 4143 times
Contact:

Re: GSM E Block

Postby Benj » Fri Jun 24, 2011 10:17 am

Hello,

There is a GSM component as part of the Flowcode update.

In the mean time here is a program that will send out a sms message.
Attachments
MSG.fcf
(46.33 KiB) Downloaded 397 times

User avatar
greentech
Flowcode V4 User
Posts: 158
Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2011 2:11 pm
Has thanked: 10 times
Been thanked: 2 times
Contact:

Re: GSM E Block

Postby greentech » Sun Jun 26, 2011 8:42 pm

thats gr8

thankyou benj.....

User avatar
greentech
Flowcode V4 User
Posts: 158
Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2011 2:11 pm
Has thanked: 10 times
Been thanked: 2 times
Contact:

Re: GSM E Block

Postby greentech » Wed Jun 29, 2011 1:30 am

the program have got quite alot of macros, can i use only initialize gsm and send msg macro. i dont want to enter the message text i want to send out a default msg txt. do i have to use SPI?

User avatar
Benj
Matrix Staff
Posts: 14361
Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2006 10:48 am
Location: Matrix TS Ltd
Has thanked: 4443 times
Been thanked: 4143 times
Contact:

Re: GSM E Block

Postby Benj » Wed Jun 29, 2011 10:36 am

Hello Greentech,

Yes you should be able to get away with just using the initialise and send message macros and chop out all the sections on entering the number and the message.

Also no the SPI component is not needed by the program.

User avatar
greentech
Flowcode V4 User
Posts: 158
Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2011 2:11 pm
Has thanked: 10 times
Been thanked: 2 times
Contact:

problem in chip selection fcd for ds pic

Postby greentech » Thu Jul 07, 2011 9:49 pm

Hi there,

I just bought fcd for ds pic. the problem is, when i click chip / configure it gives an error unrecognized chip on command line.

when i click ok it takes me further to the pic configuration window where when i select chip it says unable to create microcontroller dspic33------ as the definition file. dsPIC33------ is missin or corrupt.



can u xplain me what to do.

best regards.
Ismi

User avatar
Benj
Matrix Staff
Posts: 14361
Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2006 10:48 am
Location: Matrix TS Ltd
Has thanked: 4443 times
Been thanked: 4143 times
Contact:

Re: GSM E Block

Postby Benj » Mon Jul 11, 2011 11:18 am

Hello Ismi,

Can you tell me which device you have selected for your target and I will see if I can replicate your problem.

User avatar
greentech
Flowcode V4 User
Posts: 158
Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2011 2:11 pm
Has thanked: 10 times
Been thanked: 2 times
Contact:

Re: GSM E Block

Postby greentech » Sat Jul 16, 2011 7:11 am

Hi there,

Sorry for replying late ive been away for a while.

benj it doesnt matter what chip i am using. any chip i try to load gives me an error message..... i am attaching some pictures.


i also found flow code was unable to compile the rf component.

" Launching the compiler...
C:\Program Files\Matrix Multimedia\Flowcode PIC24&dsPIC V4\Tools\MX_bats\pic16_C30_comp.bat "Flowcode2" "C:\Users\COMMON~1\DOCUME~1\FLOWCO~1\FLOWDO~1" 24FJ256GB106

C:\Users\COMMON SENSE\Documents\FLOWCODE PROJECTS\flowdoce for dspic>pic30-gcc -c -mcpu=24FJ256GB106 -funsigned-char -fno-short-double -Os -I"C:\PROGRA~1\MATRIX~1\FLOWCO~2\Tools\MX_bats\..\C_tools\support\h" -I"C:\PROGRA~1\MATRIX~1\FLOWCO~2\Tools\MX_bats\..\MX_support" -Wall -std=gnu99 "Flowcode2".c -o "Flowcode2".o
Flowcode2.c:127: warning: ignoring #pragma error
Flowcode2.c:132: warning: ignoring #pragma error
Flowcode2.c:137: warning: ignoring #pragma error
Flowcode2.c:142: warning: ignoring #pragma error
Flowcode2.c:147: warning: ignoring #pragma error
Flowcode2.c:152: warning: ignoring #pragma error
Flowcode2.c:157: warning: ignoring #pragma error
Flowcode2.c: In function 'FCD_RF0_SPI_Byte':
Flowcode2.c:254: error: 'PORTPORTA' undeclared (first use in this function)
Flowcode2.c:254: error: (Each undeclared identifier is reported only once
Flowcode2.c:254: error: for each function it appears in.)
Flowcode2.c:254: error: syntax error before ')' token
Flowcode2.c:256: error: syntax error before ')' token
Flowcode2.c:260: error: syntax error before ')' token
Flowcode2.c:264: error: syntax error before ')' token
Flowcode2.c:269: error: syntax error before ')' token
Flowcode2.c: At top level:
Flowcode2.c:296: error: invalid storage class for function 'FCD_RF0_SPI_Byte16'
Flowcode2.c:304: error: invalid storage class for function 'FCD_RF0_SPI_Command'
Flowcode2.c: In function 'FCD_RF0_SPI_Command':
Flowcode2.c:308: error: syntax error before ')' token
Flowcode2.c:313: error: syntax error before ')' token
Flowcode2.c: At top level:
Flowcode2.c:320: error: invalid storage class for function 'FCD_RF0_Wait_For_SDI'
Flowcode2.c: In function 'FCD_RF0_Wait_For_SDI':
Flowcode2.c:322: error: syntax error before ')' token
Flowcode2.c: At top level:
Flowcode2.c:327: error: invalid storage class for function 'FCD_RF0_Init_RF_Module'
Flowcode2.c: In function 'FCD_RF0_Init_RF_Module':
Flowcode2.c:334: error: syntax error before ')' token
Flowcode2.c:335: error: 'TRISPORTA' undeclared (first use in this function)
Flowcode2.c:335: error: syntax error before ')' token
Flowcode2.c:337: error: syntax error before ')' token
Flowcode2.c:338: error: syntax error before ')' token
Flowcode2.c:340: error: syntax error before ')' token
Flowcode2.c:341: error: syntax error before ')' token
Flowcode2.c:343: error: syntax error before ')' token
Flowcode2.c:456: error: syntax error before ')' token
Flowcode2.c:457: error: syntax error before ')' token
Flowcode2.c: At top level:
Flowcode2.c:467: error: invalid storage class for function 'FCD_RF0_Uninit_RF_Module'
Flowcode2.c:474: error: invalid storage class for function 'FCD_RF0_Send_Byte'
Flowcode2.c:484: error: invalid storage class for function 'FCD_RF0_Send_String'
Flowcode2.c: In function 'FCD_RF0_Send_String':
Flowcode2.c:491: error: syntax error before ')' token
Flowcode2.c:514: error: syntax error before ')' token
Flowcode2.c: At top level:
Flowcode2.c:519: error: invalid storage class for function 'FCD_RF0_Receive_Byte'
Flowcode2.c:533: error: invalid storage class for function 'FCD_RF0_Receive_String'
Flowcode2.c: In function 'FCD_RF0_Receive_String':
Flowcode2.c:544: error: syntax error before ')' token
Flowcode2.c:548: error: syntax error before ')' token
Flowcode2.c:552: error: syntax error before ')' token
Flowcode2.c:561: error: syntax error before ')' token
Flowcode2.c:579: error: syntax error before ')' token
Flowcode2.c:592: error: syntax error before ')' token
Flowcode2.c: At top level:
Flowcode2.c:595: error: syntax error before 'else'
Flowcode2.c:598: warning: type defaults to 'int' in declaration of 'Length'
Flowcode2.c:598: error: 'Length' redeclared as different kind of symbol
Flowcode2.c:532: error: previous definition of 'Length' was here
Flowcode2.c:598: warning: data definition has no type or storage class
Flowcode2.c:599: error: syntax error before 'return'
Flowcode2.c:605: error: invalid storage class for function 'FCD_RF0_Activate_RX_Mode'
Flowcode2.c:615: error: invalid storage class for function 'FCD_RF0_Activate_TX_Mode'
Flowcode2.c:626: error: invalid storage class for function 'FCD_RF0_Update_Centre_Frequency'
Flowcode2.c:639: error: invalid storage class for function 'FCD_RF0_Set_Sync_Pattern'
Flowcode2.c:663: error: invalid storage class for function 'FCD_RF0_RX_Tune'
Flowcode2.c:689: error: invalid storage class for function 'FCD_RF0_TX_Tune'
Flowcode2.c:708: error: invalid storage class for function 'FCD_RF0_Set_Data_Rate'
Flowcode2.c:731: error: invalid storage class for function 'FCD_RF0_Read_RX_Signal_Strength'
Flowcode2.c:598: warning: unused variable 'Length'

Error returned from [pic30-gcc.exe]

Return code = 1

Flowcode was unable to compile the flowchart's C code due to the following errors:


If your flowchart contains C code, please review this carefully. If your flowchart contains no C-code or you have thoroughly reviewed the code, contact Technical Support.

FINISHED "
Attachments
error3 in rf compilation.jpg
error in rf compilation
(202.09 KiB) Downloaded 5709 times
error2.jpg
the chip selector is frozen when i select starter package.
(141.83 KiB) Downloaded 5709 times
error.jpg
(154.34 KiB) Downloaded 5709 times

User avatar
Steve
Matrix Staff
Posts: 3073
Joined: Tue Jan 03, 2006 3:59 pm
Has thanked: 87 times
Been thanked: 387 times
Contact:

Re: GSM E Block

Postby Steve » Mon Jul 18, 2011 9:32 am

Flowcode does not support the dsPIC30F2022 device, and I can't find a reference for it as a current device on Microchip's site.

I have not looked at the specific GSM compilation error. Can you please post the FCF and the C code file that is created by Flowcode for this project and we'll look into it for you.

User avatar
greentech
Flowcode V4 User
Posts: 158
Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2011 2:11 pm
Has thanked: 10 times
Been thanked: 2 times
Contact:

Re: GSM E Block

Postby greentech » Mon Jul 18, 2011 7:24 pm

this is not even loading 30f2020 which is supported according to the datasheet, can u provide me with the fix?
Last edited by greentech on Mon Jul 25, 2011 11:22 pm, edited 1 time in total.