Pic Programming for a pre-amp

For questions and comments on programming in general. And for any items that don't fit into the forums below.

Moderators: Benj, Mods

philip davies
Flowcode v5 User

Pic Programming for a pre-amp

Post by philip davies »

Hi

I'm trying to design a pre-amp by using the 16F877 to control a VFD display, source select buttons and standby button, also I'm trying to use a rotary encoder (optical type) to turn the volume up and down.

I have very little experience with programming pic controllers so any help would be very much apreciated.

Thank you

Phil

Benj
Matrix Staff

Re: Pic Programming for a pre-amp

Post by Benj »

Hello Phil,

I would try and work on a small piece at a time to increase your confidence with the software and also so that you don't end up with a very large program that doesn't work.

Maybe working on the encoders would be a good starting point.

Eg can you display a numeric variable to a LCD.

Once you can do this then try getting the encoder to increment and decrement this number and update the LCD accordingly.

Once you have this sorted you can then move onto the next step.

fotios

Post by fotios »

Hi Phil
Why encoder for volume control? Are you intend to use those PGA2311 of T.I. (or something similar) for volume control?
Fotios
Last edited by fotios on Thu Jun 30, 2011 6:21 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Best Regards FOTIS ANAGNOSTOU

philip davies
Flowcode v5 User

Post by philip davies »

Thank you both for your reply and suggestions.

Yes I am planning on using the PGA2311 chip to control the volume.

So far the program can switch on the pre-amp, show a "Power On" on the display and a "Power Off" message. I've startded working on the source select buttons but I'm trying to figure out how to get the outputs to the relays to latch on untill another source select button has been pressed.

Phil

Benj
Matrix Staff

Post by Benj »

Hello,

You could do something like this.

Loop Start

Read Switch 0