5X5 led array using Flowcode (NO C)

For E-blocks user to discuss using E-blocks and programming for them.

Moderators: Benj, Mods

singhdeol
Posts: 30
Joined: Sat Dec 18, 2010 6:07 am
Has thanked: 6 times
Been thanked: 2 times
Contact:

5X5 led array using Flowcode (NO C)

Post by singhdeol »

I have recently built a 5x5 led array and connected it to the E-Block kit port A and B. All the positive side of the Row led are connected to Port A, and all the negative side of the columns led are connected to port B. Every thing works fine. I am able to turn the rows leds on by setting all the connected pins on Port A ON and the corresponding Port B pin off and so on. I am also able to display couple other stuff as well.
But my question is that Is it possible to write characters with my 5x5 led array with using C.
I hope i explained it well :roll: .
Thx.

User avatar
Steve
Matrix Staff
Posts: 3424
Joined: Tue Jan 03, 2006 3:59 pm
Has thanked: 114 times
Been thanked: 422 times
Contact:

Re: 5X5 led array using Flowcode (NO C)

Post by Steve »

You should be able to by continually outputting the patterns for each row of the character you wish to display. Something like this:

Code: Select all

Repeat forever
  Output Row 1
  Small delay
  Output Row 2
  Small delay
  Output Row 3
  Small delay
  Output Row 4
  Small delay
  Output Row 5
  Small delay
End Repeat
You'll need to set this up to happen as part of a timer interrupt to be able to do anything else in your program.

User avatar
Jan Lichtenbelt
Posts: 797
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2009 8:35 pm
Location: Haren GN, the Netherlands
Has thanked: 128 times
Been thanked: 264 times
Contact:

Re: 5X5 led array using Flowcode (NO C)

Post by Jan Lichtenbelt »

Perhaps the font generator can help. Chance the grid from 5x7 into 5x5. There is more information in the FORUM.

Jan Lichtenbelt
Attachments
LCD_font_generator.xls
(28.48 KiB) Downloaded 1038 times

User avatar
Dan81
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
Posts: 268
Joined: Sun Jan 15, 2006 4:07 pm
Location: Albi France
Been thanked: 60 times
Contact:

Re: 5X5 led array using Flowcode (NO C)

Post by Dan81 »

Hello singhdeol

Here is a start for your flowchart.
As wrote Steve, it's better using timer interrupt instead of using delay.
If you want to write lot of characters; you'd better declare arrays in "rom" with Ccode or use Pic 18F with lot of RAM.

Good Luck

Daniel
Attachments
Ledmatrix.fcf
simulated with Proteus
not hard tested
(11.32 KiB) Downloaded 1200 times

singhdeol
Posts: 30
Joined: Sat Dec 18, 2010 6:07 am
Has thanked: 6 times
Been thanked: 2 times
Contact:

Re: 5X5 led array using Flowcode (NO C)

Post by singhdeol »

On my E-block I am using the PIC 16f88 and the all the pins on the port A (serial)are connected to 8 leds through resistors. I am not using the Eblock led board for this. Only the first 0-4 pins on port A seem to turn the led when I set the pin to 1. But the 5-8 pin I think are reserved for something else what can i do so they may be used to turn the led's on or off. :)

medelec35
Matrix Staff
Posts: 9520
Joined: Sat May 05, 2007 2:27 pm
Location: Northamptonshire, UK
Has thanked: 2585 times
Been thanked: 3815 times
Contact:

Re: 5X5 led array using Flowcode (NO C)

Post by medelec35 »

Hi singhdeol,
Did you sort your LED problem out?
If you want to connect more LED up, take a look here:
http://www.josepino.com/microcontroller ... ntrol_leds
That page shows how to connect 20 LEDs to just 5 ports.
(Or other multiples e.g. 6 LEDs to 3 I/O pins)
If you would like to post your flowchart (if you don't mind making it public) , and state which version of flowcode you are using,
then we can help to to resolve the problem.
Martin

singhdeol
Posts: 30
Joined: Sat Dec 18, 2010 6:07 am
Has thanked: 6 times
Been thanked: 2 times
Contact:

Re: 5X5 led array using Flowcode (NO C)

Post by singhdeol »

medelec35 thx for the link it really explain very well how to connect multiple leds
I am also done with the hardware as well as the software part of my led array
and will be uploading it to the forum soon.

medelec35
Matrix Staff
Posts: 9520
Joined: Sat May 05, 2007 2:27 pm
Location: Northamptonshire, UK
Has thanked: 2585 times
Been thanked: 3815 times
Contact:

Re: 5X5 led array using Flowcode (NO C)

Post by medelec35 »

Your welcome singhdeol.
You can only use port A0 to A4 to control LED's. You should be able to use the whole of port B
Don't forget if using the multiple arrangement, you will be using tristate logic, i.e o/p = 1, 0 or High impedance (just set port as i/p)
Look forward to viewing your Flowchart.
Martin

singhdeol
Posts: 30
Joined: Sat Dec 18, 2010 6:07 am
Has thanked: 6 times
Been thanked: 2 times
Contact:

Re: 5X5 led array using Flowcode (NO C)

Post by singhdeol »

Here is the code that I wrote for the led array, I am not familiar with flowcode at all and neither do I know any programing language. This project was based on the simple concept of setting the bit ON and OFF, so by setting certain led to high and low I tried creating as many characters as I can using 4 row and column.
Attachments
32LED ARRAY.fcf
(18.69 KiB) Downloaded 1070 times

alejandrozama2002
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Mar 07, 2012 1:55 am
Contact:

Re: 5X5 led array using Flowcode (NO C)

Post by alejandrozama2002 »

Hello, I have a question, such as that carried out the array of LEDs as not meeting the elements.

what happens is I make a one of 8x8

User avatar
Benj
Matrix Staff
Posts: 15312
Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2006 10:48 am
Location: Matrix TS Ltd
Has thanked: 4803 times
Been thanked: 4314 times
Contact:

Re: 5X5 led array using Flowcode (NO C)

Post by Benj »

This schematic design is quite good and allows an 8 x 8 matrix using only 10 I/O pins.

http://howcircuits.com/picxie-2-8x8-ani ... board.html

alejandrozama2002
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Mar 07, 2012 1:55 am
Contact:

Re: 5X5 led array using Flowcode (NO C)

Post by alejandrozama2002 »

I did not understand my question, what happens is that I'm using google translator.

not asked about the physical connection, I question that within the Flowcode program is a matrix of LEDs and I encuntro that elemneto within Flowcode program available items.

I need to do a 8x8, as they made this array of LEDs within the Flowcode program??

User avatar
Benj
Matrix Staff
Posts: 15312
Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2006 10:48 am
Location: Matrix TS Ltd
Has thanked: 4803 times
Been thanked: 4314 times
Contact:

Re: 5X5 led array using Flowcode (NO C)

Post by Benj »

Hello,

The Flowcode program needs to be designed around the hardware. Can you post up a schematic showing how your system is wired including xtal speed or are you using the PICXIE design?

User avatar
Benj
Matrix Staff
Posts: 15312
Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2006 10:48 am
Location: Matrix TS Ltd
Has thanked: 4803 times
Been thanked: 4314 times
Contact:

Re: 5X5 led array using Flowcode (NO C)

Post by Benj »

Here is a very basic v5 program that should work with systems similar to the PICXIE design.
Attachments
8x8-LED.fcf
(15.5 KiB) Downloaded 888 times

alejandrozama2002
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Mar 07, 2012 1:55 am
Contact:

Re: 5X5 led array using Flowcode (NO C)

Post by alejandrozama2002 »

Flowcode is my version of the 4.2

User avatar
Benj
Matrix Staff
Posts: 15312
Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2006 10:48 am
Location: Matrix TS Ltd
Has thanked: 4803 times
Been thanked: 4314 times
Contact:

Re: 5X5 led array using Flowcode (NO C)

Post by Benj »

Hello,

The program is quite simple so you could download the v5 demo and use this to open the file and see how the code has been put together, then repeat the code in v4.

alejandrozama2002
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Mar 07, 2012 1:55 am
Contact:

Re: 5X5 led array using Flowcode (NO C)

Post by alejandrozama2002 »

I downloaded the version 5.

my question is for picture element,
where are these elements??
or are they made???
because I need to do a 8x8 (64 LEDs)

http://tinypic.com/view.php?pic=2n7l3kk&s=6

User avatar
Benj
Matrix Staff
Posts: 15312
Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2006 10:48 am
Location: Matrix TS Ltd
Has thanked: 4803 times
Been thanked: 4314 times
Contact:

Re: 5X5 led array using Flowcode (NO C)

Post by Benj »

Hello,

To display an image you basically have 8 x 8 pixels which is equivalent to 8 bytes.

In the all_on and all_off macros I basically set all 8 bits in all 8 bytes to 1 or to 0. You could create another macro that setup an image or you could even have a macro that allows you to print text and other graphics such as lines, shapes etc to the LEDs.

Renjith
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Jul 23, 2014 4:13 am
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 1 time
Contact:

Re: 5X5 led array using Flowcode (NO C)

Post by Renjith »

Dear Mr. Benj,

Thanks for this great forums.
Further to your attached flowchart named 8x8-LED.fcf in your previous replay for alejandrozama2002 ,
could you please explain the following functions in macros all on & all off as i cant see any variable changes when run it.
also please advice how can i display some strings and numbers on a LED Matrix use this flowchart.
1) what mean .idx, is it a variable?
2) .idx = 0
3) .idx < 8 (While Loop)
4) LED_Data[.idx] = 0
5) LED_Data[.idx] = 0xFF

Renjith.

User avatar
Benj
Matrix Staff
Posts: 15312
Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2006 10:48 am
Location: Matrix TS Ltd
Has thanked: 4803 times
Been thanked: 4314 times
Contact:

Re: 5X5 led array using Flowcode (NO C)

Post by Benj »

Hello Renjith,

Not sure if you are aware but Flowcode 6 now comes complete with a version of the LED Array component that will fully simulate and allow text etc to be displayed easily.

In answer to your questions.

A variable with a full stop eg .idx is what's known as a local variable, it is only available inside that macro. Double click the macro begin icon to see the local parameters, constants and variables or use the Macros tab of the project explorer window.

.idx = 0 - Assign the value 0 to the local variable idx.

.idx < 8 - Loop while the local variable idx is less than 8.

LED_Data[.idx] = 0 - Assign position idx (0-7) of the LED_Data array with the value 0.

Renjith
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Jul 23, 2014 4:13 am
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 1 time
Contact:

Re: 5X5 led array using Flowcode (NO C)

Post by Renjith »

Dear Mr. Benj,

Thanks for your prompt reply.
I tried v6 it seems too advanced and difficult for me because I am not good in electronics and programming as-well.
your flowchart with this post is looking very simple, so could you please post an example which is able to display some text and numbers
only use flowchart. my doubt is how can i store bytes in advance for each row of characters and how can call when it required to display.
If i make separate macro for each character then how can call macro to main program one by one according to the text use decision icon.

Renjith.

User avatar
Benj
Matrix Staff
Posts: 15312
Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2006 10:48 am
Location: Matrix TS Ltd
Has thanked: 4803 times
Been thanked: 4314 times
Contact:

Re: 5X5 led array using Flowcode (NO C)

Post by Benj »

Hello,

Have you seen these examples available for v6, they should do exactly what you are asking for.

Parrallel 8-bit based data - http://www.matrixtsl.com/wiki/index.php ... 0fdba5ea79

Serial 1-bit based data - http://www.matrixtsl.com/wiki/index.php ... 36244800d1

Both examples have example schematics and there is also an E-block available to go with the component if your not keen on the electronics side.

http://www.matrixtsl.com/product.php?Pr ... PHPSESSID=

Flowcode v6 shouldn't be any harder to use then Flowcode v5. If you do find you have any problems then please let us know.

Replicating the work in Flowcode v5 would likely be a large undertaking and would not simulate.

Renjith
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Jul 23, 2014 4:13 am
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 1 time
Contact:

Re: 5X5 led array using Flowcode (NO C)

Post by Renjith »

Dear Benj,

V6 LED matrix component is good and very easy to use but when i go through the datasheet of EB-087 there is using separate buffer IC's for each column.
i would like to configure LED's as per attached Schematic so please advice how to set up V6 LED matrix component for it.

Renjith.
Attachments
Led Matrix.png
(54.9 KiB) Downloaded 10238 times

User avatar
Benj
Matrix Staff
Posts: 15312
Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2006 10:48 am
Location: Matrix TS Ltd
Has thanked: 4803 times
Been thanked: 4314 times
Contact:

Re: 5X5 led array using Flowcode (NO C)

Post by Benj »

Hello Renjith,

Aha ok I see what you need now, your basically using LED modules that requires multiplexing. In this case my best suggestion for an example is my LED cube as this does lots and lots of multiplexing and also shows how to generate characters etc.

http://www.matrixtsl.com/mmforums/viewt ... =25#p56266

Renjith
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Jul 23, 2014 4:13 am
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 1 time
Contact:

Re: 5X5 led array using Flowcode (NO C)

Post by Renjith »

Hi Benj,

Thanks for reply that LED cube project is very nice but its too big for me and i can't understand that due to my lack of knowledge in programming.
Kindly help me to convert the attached C code to Flowcode. This example project is downloaded from internet along with above Schematic.

Renjith.
Attachments
main.c
(6.16 KiB) Downloaded 506 times

Post Reply