How to use large SPI-EEprom with component macro?

For Flowcode users to discuss projects, flowcharts, and any other issues related to Flowcode 5.
To post in this forum you must have a registered copy of Flowcode 5 or higher.

Moderator: Benj

Niro

How to use large SPI-EEprom with component macro?

Post by Niro »

Hi guys,

I have a large SPI-EEprom for logging data and I'm trying to get it work with an ATmega328P with FC5.
The EEprom is a Microchip 25AA1024, I think that's 1024 kbits (x8) = 1.024.000 byte.
The component macro command NVM_Send_Char has only hi and lo_addr, but I think I need to have at least 3 byte for addressing the complete eeprom.

I'm totally new at using SPI- components, so maybe someone could help.

Many thanks!
Niro

Benj
Matrix Staff

Re: How to use large SPI-EEprom with component macro?

Post by Benj »

Hello Niro,

1024Kbit = 128KByte.

The NVM functions are specifically for the NVM used on the EB013 SPI E-block.

To access this chip you will have to toggle the CS line manually using an output icon in pin mode and follow the protocol laid out by the device datasheet using the SPI send and receive component macros.

If you get stuck then post what you have so far and we will try and help.

Note that AVRs have an issue with the hardware SPI and the SS pin (pin B2 on the ATmega328P). Be sure to either use this as your CS pin or to at least set it as an output before initialising the hardware SPI component. If the pin is allowed to float as an input then it has the potential to lock the SPI peripheral and therefore the processor.

Niro

Post by Niro »

Dear Benj,

many thanks for your response!
Of course you are right, this is a 128k eeprom.
As I'm not very familiar with the FC AVR C-Compiler and C-programming I'ver been looking for simple examples.
I found this page: http://jaxcoder.com/Projects.aspx?id=1597727146
Could you please have a look, and tell me if this is usable for FC5 and my eeprom (25AA1024, programming sequence attached).