development board Version 3

For Flowcode users to discuss projects, flowcharts, and any other issues related to Flowcode 2 and 3.

Moderators: Benj, Mods

jagjit (Jag) sehra

development board Version 3

Post by jagjit (Jag) sehra »

Hi Folks,
I am new to this forom so hello to everyone, I have got version 3 development board and am using flowcode version 3. I was looking at the circuit diagram for the board which is available on the matrix multimedia website. Am I right in thinking that the board uses Port A and port B for I/O. I guess this is due to the fact that the board can use a variety of PICs and the board must be designed assuming the smallest devise. However the thing that I cant understand is that it seems that only four bits of Port A are bieng used RA0-RA3, if so how are these bieng expanded to eight bits for the LEDs, switches and external I/O. In flow code if I was to output the decimal number 255 to the LEDs then I would excpect all eight LEDs to illuminate, however as there really only four bits where is the hardware thats expanding it. I know this may be fairly obvious to some, however I cant find the device on the circuit diagram. Thanks in advance for your help.

Jag.

Benj
Matrix Staff

Re: development board Version 3

Post by Benj »

Hello Jag

A lot of the PICmicro devices have a reduced set of I/O connected to PortA. All 8 leds / switches on portA will only be available to the PICmicro devices without the reduced set of I/O pins.

jagjit (Jag) sehra

Post by jagjit (Jag) sehra »

Thanks Benj for that reply, Seems I was mistaken in my thinking, I got confused looking at the circuit diagram of page 4 of the development board version 3 data sheet. Which states that Port A (RA0-RA3). Thanks for learing that up for me, however I have another small question what is a vernier sensor there a digital and analogue one on the board, does that simply mean that a sensor can be connected to the board and there a pins on the board to accept it.