Trialing Flowcode 8 programmer problem

For Flowcode users to discuss projects, flowcharts, and any other issues related to Flowcode 8.

Moderator: Benj

Post Reply
iain wilkie
Posts: 97
Joined: Tue Jul 14, 2009 4:37 pm
Has thanked: 13 times
Been thanked: 9 times
Contact:

Trialing Flowcode 8 programmer problem

Post by iain wilkie »

I am thinking of upgrading from V4 to V8 so playing around with the free 30 day trial version.
I am using the AVRISP mkII programmer and when running V4 all is good.
However it fails to recognise the chip when running V8 (see picture below)

Any help appreciated !!!!

Iain
Attachments
programmer problem.jpg
programmer problem.jpg (26.81 KiB) Viewed 4147 times

User avatar
Benj
Matrix Staff
Posts: 15312
Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2006 10:48 am
Location: Matrix TS Ltd
Has thanked: 4803 times
Been thanked: 4314 times
Contact:

Re: Trialing Flowcode 8 programmer problem

Post by Benj »

Hello,

Looks like you will need to edit the default programming parameters to use the AVRISP mkII. We currently default to the AVR TinyUSB.

Simply click on Build -> Compiler Options.

Select the Programmer tab.

Click the save icon and give the new configuration a name, e.g. AVRISP

Ensure you have the new configuration highlighted and ticked as set to default.

Then change the programmer path and parameters as shown here.

https://www.matrixtsl.com/wiki/index.ph ... VRISP_mkII

Let us know how you get on.

iain wilkie
Posts: 97
Joined: Tue Jul 14, 2009 4:37 pm
Has thanked: 13 times
Been thanked: 9 times
Contact:

Re: Trialing Flowcode 8 programmer problem

Post by iain wilkie »

Hi Benj,

Did that but now it doesn't seem to find the programmer on the USB !!!
Programmer is plugged in and does enumerate ..... also still works fine in the V4 Flowcode.

Any more ideas ???

Snapshot of error attached

Iain
Attachments
Programmer problem 2.jpg
Programmer problem 2.jpg (72.71 KiB) Viewed 4117 times

User avatar
Benj
Matrix Staff
Posts: 15312
Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2006 10:48 am
Location: Matrix TS Ltd
Has thanked: 4803 times
Been thanked: 4314 times
Contact:

Re: Trialing Flowcode 8 programmer problem

Post by Benj »

Hello,

It could be a driver issue, I believe Flowcode 4 worked with an earlier version of the AVRISP mkII USB driver.

There is a newer signed driver available from the "Flowcode 8\Drivers\AVRISPmkII" folder which hopefully should work fine with v8 and also not break the v4 installation.

iain wilkie
Posts: 97
Joined: Tue Jul 14, 2009 4:37 pm
Has thanked: 13 times
Been thanked: 9 times
Contact:

Re: Trialing Flowcode 8 programmer problem

Post by iain wilkie »

Hi Benj,

Ok updating the driver worked for V8 but doesn't work on my V4 !!!
This is causing me problems as to upgrade to V8 I need my V4 programs to work under V8 and they don't and I'm not entirely
sure why. I *think* it might have something to do with the PORT i/o writing or TMR0 interrupt ... has there maybe been some changes there ?
Also I note in V8 there is no "View ASM" ????

Iain

User avatar
Benj
Matrix Staff
Posts: 15312
Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2006 10:48 am
Location: Matrix TS Ltd
Has thanked: 4803 times
Been thanked: 4314 times
Contact:

Re: Trialing Flowcode 8 programmer problem

Post by Benj »

Hello Iain,

Glad v8 is now able to program, rolling back the device driver will allow v4 to work again. The USB driver for the AVRISP is very messy and I'm very glad we have now moved away from it as our go to AVR programmer. The USB tiny has no driver issues :D

Regarding updating projects from v4 to v8. This is a big jump in terms of components and devices etc and so the fact there are some problems is probably not that unexpected. I would check things like component properties and interrupt icon properties. If these are all ok then hopefully the programs will work as expected.

iain wilkie
Posts: 97
Joined: Tue Jul 14, 2009 4:37 pm
Has thanked: 13 times
Been thanked: 9 times
Contact:

Re: Trialing Flowcode 8 programmer problem

Post by iain wilkie »

Hi Benj,

The problem I seem to have is with TIMR0 overflow interrupt (on a ATTiny13) It works fine downloading to chip in V4 but not downloading from V8
It seems the interrupt screws things .... could it be too long in V8 ??? not sure.

I note there is no "View ASM" in V8 ????? this would help me find out what could be wrong ......

Regards

Iain

User avatar
Benj
Matrix Staff
Posts: 15312
Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2006 10:48 am
Location: Matrix TS Ltd
Has thanked: 4803 times
Been thanked: 4314 times
Contact:

Re: Trialing Flowcode 8 programmer problem

Post by Benj »

Hello Iain,

You can still view the assembler code by opening the .asm file in your project folder with a text editor.

Maybe check the timer interrupt enable icon's properties are setup as you are expecting, they likely will have reverted back to default.
Ok updating the driver worked for V8 but doesn't work on my V4 !!!
It works fine downloading to chip in V4 but not downloading from V8
These statements seem to contradict each other. Please could you clarify.

iain wilkie
Posts: 97
Joined: Tue Jul 14, 2009 4:37 pm
Has thanked: 13 times
Been thanked: 9 times
Contact:

Re: Trialing Flowcode 8 programmer problem

Post by iain wilkie »

Ok updating the driver worked for V8 but doesn't work on my V4 !!!

What I mean is the programmer now works on V8 but not on V4 ... I have to revert back to the old driver to work on V4
It works fine downloading to chip in V4 but not downloading from V8
What I mean is the program runs good if programmed from the V4 flowcode, but doesn't run when programmed from the V8 flowcode
but this seems to be something to do with the timer0 interrupt

Iain

iain wilkie
Posts: 97
Joined: Tue Jul 14, 2009 4:37 pm
Has thanked: 13 times
Been thanked: 9 times
Contact:

Re: Trialing Flowcode 8 programmer problem

Post by iain wilkie »

Benj,
You can still view the assembler code by opening the .asm file in your project folder with a text editor.
There is no .asm file produced !! ... only a .lst file

Iain

Post Reply