SPI Sending Stings

For Flowcode users to discuss projects, flowcharts, and any other issues related to Flowcode 4.
To post in this forum you must have a registered copy of Flowcode 4 or higher. To sign up for this forum topic please use the "Online Resources" link in the Flowcode Help Menu.

Moderator: Benj

Jay Dee

SPI Sending Stings

Post by Jay Dee »

Hi,
I wish to communicate with an SPI device but it requires me to clock the data into the register as a string with a length of 192 bits. (16 x 12 bit values).
The standard SPI component (for the DAC eblock) only allows the sending of characters, 8 bit integer.
I should say at this point I've not bought the chip yet so do not know for sure if the device would accept the whole 192 bit string chopped up into 8 bit blocks. Even if it did it would be a clunky process, which I would like to avoid. ;-)
So heres the question,
Can the SPI_send_char macro be changed to allow the sending of Strings approaching 200 bits? I am a total C novice (or less) and I'm sure there are more parameter that effect this that are obvious to me, but does this just need the variable declaration be changed from a char to a string? and then the system will simple clock out the whole string until the spi buffer is empty or is the spi buffer size restricted ?

MACRO as follows

//GetSPI_Send_CharCode
#ifdef MX_MIAC_SYSTEM
#if (%a != MX_MIAC_MM_MIAC_BASE)

unsigned int ModID = ((%b << 5) + %a) << 9;

MIAC_CAN_TX[0] = Char;
MIAC_Module_WR(ModID, 354, 1,1,0);
MIAC_Module_GetAck(ModID + 32, 354, 20);
#endif
#else
#ifndef MX_SPI
#error "Chip does not have SPI capability"
#endif

//send the Char
sspbuf = Char;

//wait until sspbuf is empty
while ((sspstat & 0x01) == 0);
#endif

Any help or pointers appreciated. Remember my C is...eeerr, limited!
Cheers all.
J.

Benj
Matrix Staff

Re: SPI Sending Stings

Post by Benj »

Hello,