Avast see Fowcode dspic as a Malware

Moderator: Benj

Post Reply
benp
Posts: 155
Joined: Sat Mar 28, 2009 5:44 pm
Location: LYON FRANCE
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 41 times
Contact:

Avast see Fowcode dspic as a Malware

Post by benp »

Avast detect flowcode dspic as a malware: Win32:Malware-gen
Here is the screen copy:
malware.jpg
malware.jpg (60.07 KiB) Viewed 15413 times
If we try to install direct from the download, avast detect the malware again.
We can reproduce the problem on 2 different computers.

Does anybody have the same problem?

I report the problem to avast.

We have the same problem on 2 computer
We use flowcode dspicV5.5.2.0 site licence.

Can we safely say Avast the the file is clean?

I noticed that flowcode send an TCP string at startup. Can this be the problem?

We have the same problem with flowcode pic...
Regards
INSA 1er cycle GCP projects with or without eblocks:
http://www.youtube.com/user/INSAgcp

benp
Posts: 155
Joined: Sat Mar 28, 2009 5:44 pm
Location: LYON FRANCE
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 41 times
Contact:

Re: Avast see Fowcode dspic as a Malware

Post by benp »

I tried the following online scanners:
Eset online scanner: no infection
Secuser online scanner: no infection

Flowcode can start if I restaure the file and remove avast protection.
Does anybody have the same problem?
Is the last flowcode and flowcodedspic package safe in Matrix team opinion?
Regards
INSA 1er cycle GCP projects with or without eblocks:
http://www.youtube.com/user/INSAgcp

JLP
Flowcode v5 User
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Apr 21, 2013 5:31 pm
Contact:

Re: Avast see Fowcode dspic as a Malware

Post by JLP »

I have the same issue with Avast.
I have uninstalled Avast and installed AVG instead. And now it works.
But my AVG is only for 29 days and my Avast for 1 year !
Does Matrix members can contact Avast for us ?
JLP

dazz
Posts: 1314
Joined: Sun Jan 15, 2012 3:15 pm
Has thanked: 474 times
Been thanked: 458 times
Contact:

Re: Avast see Fowcode dspic as a Malware

Post by dazz »

Hi
After 29 days avg will switch to free mode , Avast should allow you to create an exception for flowcode, avast should have moved the file to its chest you'd need to go in there select the flowcode file then add exception

Regards
Dazz
To sign up to the V5 forum follow this link http://www.matrixmultimedia.com/forum_upgrades.php

JLP
Flowcode v5 User
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Apr 21, 2013 5:31 pm
Contact:

Re: Avast see Fowcode dspic as a Malware

Post by JLP »

dazz wrote:Hi
After 29 days avg will switch to free mode , Avast should allow you to create an exception for flowcode, avast should have moved the file to its chest you'd need to go in there select the flowcode file then add exception

Regards
Dazz
I've already used the exception from Avast, but it doesn't work. Why i don't know ?
There's many way to create an exception but none is working.
JLP

benp
Posts: 155
Joined: Sat Mar 28, 2009 5:44 pm
Location: LYON FRANCE
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 41 times
Contact:

Re: Avast see Fowcode dspic as a Malware

Post by benp »

Here is how to make an exception for the french avast with win7-64:

Step1:Restaure the files
Maintenance/Zone de Quarantaine
Right click on the flowcode files: Restaurer

Step2:make an exception
Paramétres(on the right top)
Exclusions globales
Add for flowcode PIC
C:\Program Files (x86)\Flowcode(dsPIC)\v5\Flowcode5_PIC_16bit.exe
Add for flowcode dsPIC:
C:\Program Files (x86)\Flowcode\v5\Flowcode5_PIC.exe

But this is not very safe because avast will not protect that files.

Can Matrix staff do something or is it only an avast problem?
Regards
INSA 1er cycle GCP projects with or without eblocks:
http://www.youtube.com/user/INSAgcp

User avatar
Benj
Matrix Staff
Posts: 15312
Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2006 10:48 am
Location: Matrix TS Ltd
Has thanked: 4803 times
Been thanked: 4314 times
Contact:

Re: Avast see Fowcode dspic as a Malware

Post by Benj »

Hello,

False positive, we take great care to ensure there are no viruses present in Flowcode!

We had a similar issue in the past with Kaspersky. I will see if I can report these files to Avast as false positives and get them removed from the Avast system to avoid future issues.

User avatar
Mantas
Posts: 221
Joined: Tue May 15, 2012 10:32 pm
Location: Klaipeda, Lithuania - North sea, UK
Has thanked: 57 times
Been thanked: 27 times
Contact:

Re: Avast see Fowcode dspic as a Malware

Post by Mantas »

Hi,

Same happened to my ARM version today...AVAST just deleted the FC exe file :o
Science is my true religion.

medelec35
Matrix Staff
Posts: 9521
Joined: Sat May 05, 2007 2:27 pm
Location: Northamptonshire, UK
Has thanked: 2585 times
Been thanked: 3815 times
Contact:

Re: Avast see Fowcode dspic as a Malware

Post by medelec35 »

I started using Avast today (before I have read this thread)
Flowcode False positive .png
(35.67 KiB) Downloaded 7768 times
Avast did the same with me so I sent file to Avast as a false positive and sent link for Matrix Multimedia to them.
If a few people do that, then I would of thought they can sort it for next update?
In the mean time I just selected all the Flowcode directories for exempt from scanning.
Mantas wrote:AVAST just deleted the FC exe file :o
The Flowcode exe files can then be restored from Virus Chest found in Maintenance section.
That's where my files went to.

Depends on settings I guess?

Martin

Edit just posted on a different thread:
What I did was open Avast user interface, Select Antivirus, then File System Shield, Settings.
Select Exclusions then browse to your Flowcode directory/s path.
You can find path when selecting Build then compiler options.
Martin

brandonb
Posts: 438
Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2011 12:26 am
Location: arizona
Has thanked: 175 times
Been thanked: 173 times
Contact:

Re: Avast see Fowcode dspic as a Malware

Post by brandonb »

to note i've had system mechanic in the past remove certain item's from registry on the ppp side, to where i had to do a fresh install on flowcode, sometimes this stuff happens, it might pop up as a problem out of the blue then go away when they figure it out from the feedback

medelec35
Matrix Staff
Posts: 9521
Joined: Sat May 05, 2007 2:27 pm
Location: Northamptonshire, UK
Has thanked: 2585 times
Been thanked: 3815 times
Contact:

Re: Avast see Fowcode dspic as a Malware

Post by medelec35 »

Update:

Scanned all Flowcode exe file with todays virus definitions.
Results:
Avast no virus found now.png
(51.94 KiB) Downloaded 7662 times
Martin
Martin

User avatar
DavidA
Matrix Staff
Posts: 1076
Joined: Fri Apr 23, 2010 2:18 pm
Location: Matrix Multimedia Ltd
Has thanked: 58 times
Been thanked: 258 times
Contact:

Re: Avast see Fowcode dspic as a Malware

Post by DavidA »

Hi guys,

Thanks for this we are working hard to get these false positives removed, i have done a thorough check of the source and compilers and there is nothing untoward in them at all.

At the moment i know that these antivirus programs are still flagging Flowcode:

- BitDefender
- DrWeb
- F-Secure
- GData
- McAfee
- nProtect
- VBA32

Thank you for your patience hopefully this issue will be resolved soon.

GTF
Posts: 170
Joined: Sat Dec 10, 2011 7:21 pm
Location: Canada
Has thanked: 20 times
Been thanked: 52 times
Contact:

Re: Avast see Fowcode dspic as a Malware

Post by GTF »

I have a similar issue. When I try to open one of my FC files the Windows installer process starts and Vipre Antirus gives a known trojan warning. The FC .exe has been quarantined by VIPRE. I guess that the installer is trying to restore it and the cycle will just keep repeating. FC works if I set VIPRE to always allow the process.
Attachments
FC Trojan3.jpg
FC Trojan3.jpg (80.56 KiB) Viewed 15146 times
FC Trojan2.jpg
FC Trojan2.jpg (77.21 KiB) Viewed 15146 times
FC Trojan.jpg
FC Trojan.jpg (114.76 KiB) Viewed 15146 times

Post Reply