MODbus in Flowcode

For Flowcode users to discuss projects, flowcharts, and any other issues related to Flowcode 2 and 3.

Moderators: Benj, Mods

Walbeek
Flowcode v5 User
Posts: 67
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2007 10:48 am
Location: Netherlands
Been thanked: 3 times
Contact:

MODbus in Flowcode

Postby Walbeek » Wed Nov 05, 2008 12:46 pm

Hi there,

Does anybody have any experiance on integrating the MODbus in Flowcode?
Are there any macro's and/or suggestions available on this?
Please let me know.

Thanks, Rinie

tello
Posts: 88
Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2013 11:37 am
Has thanked: 55 times
Been thanked: 12 times
Contact:

Re: MODbus in Flowcode

Postby tello » Tue Apr 02, 2013 9:54 am

Hi, I'm new to the forum and I want to do a project with modbus.
Have you found any macro in Flowcode??
Thank you.

User avatar
Benj
Matrix Staff
Posts: 13380
Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2006 10:48 am
Location: Matrix TS Ltd
Has thanked: 3932 times
Been thanked: 3745 times
Contact:

Re: MODbus in Flowcode

Postby Benj » Tue Apr 02, 2013 12:44 pm

Hello,

Modbus is a protocol on top of CAN. I'm not 100% sure but I think it should be possible to create Flowcode flowchart macros which will do the additional modbus protocol for you from the standard CAN packets. If I get some time then I will have a look at squeezing this into v6 though it is unlikely for the initial release as we are already fighting a loosing battle for time and features.
These users thanked the author Benj for the post:
tello (Wed Apr 03, 2013 7:50 am)
Rating: 5.88%
 

User avatar
petesmart
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
Posts: 377
Joined: Thu May 06, 2010 11:42 am
Location: Sydney, Australia
Has thanked: 183 times
Been thanked: 137 times
Contact:

Re: MODbus in Flowcode

Postby petesmart » Tue Apr 02, 2013 12:54 pm

Hey Ben,

I have just got off a project which involves engine control, management of the 2 MVA gen set, one MVA UPS, synchronous mains transfer switches and control plane. All of this was managed by Modbus protocol using embedded microcontrollers.

From my research, it appears that Modbus is becoming quite common in industrial strength control systems.

I still have access to quite a great deal of information on Modbus and systems. Let me know if I can assist you with supplier information.

Understand the time pressure on V6, let me know and I will set up a dropbox folder for you.

All the best,

Pete
sorry about that Chief!

User avatar
Benj
Matrix Staff
Posts: 13380
Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2006 10:48 am
Location: Matrix TS Ltd
Has thanked: 3932 times
Been thanked: 3745 times
Contact:

Re: MODbus in Flowcode

Postby Benj » Tue Apr 02, 2013 4:32 pm

Hi Pete,

That would be great if you don't mind and have the time. Can Modbus also be used over Ethernet as well as CAN or am I thinking of something different?

User avatar
Steve001
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
Posts: 1020
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 2008 3:37 pm
Has thanked: 421 times
Been thanked: 477 times
Contact:

Re: MODbus in Flowcode

Postby Steve001 » Tue Apr 02, 2013 4:56 pm

have a look at this it may be of some use ( I have not managed to get round to trying it tho ) :(

viewtopic.php?f=29&t=7827

in answer to pete's and bens questions at work we use modbus entensivley in energy management system (EMS) both modbus and modbus over tcp protocols and are very common in industry

steve
These users thanked the author Steve001 for the post:
tello (Wed Apr 03, 2013 7:50 am)
Rating: 5.88%
 
Success always occurs in private and failure in full view.