Flowcode 7.3

A forums to allow bugs and problems with Flowcode v7 to be reported and resolved.

Moderator: Benj

User avatar
Alan_37
Posts: 152
Joined: Sun May 01, 2016 8:36 pm
Has thanked: 53 times
Been thanked: 53 times
Contact:

Flowcode 7.3

Postby Alan_37 » Wed Jan 24, 2018 11:23 pm

Hi I have just updated to the latest flowcode 7.3

Now have a problem when I try to use AVRDUDE (USBASP) to burn the Atmega 2560 as usual flowcode stops responding and has to close
after doing some investigation i found that the problem is in the new FlowcodeV7.exe

I can confirm this because when I restore the old EXE file everything works fine again.

My settings for AVRDUDE ( USBASP ) are as explained in the following post :

viewtopic.php?f=71&t=19376#p85198

Hope you can fix this cause i Can't make any updates.

Thanks

User avatar
Benj
Matrix Staff
Posts: 14223
Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2006 10:48 am
Location: Matrix TS Ltd
Has thanked: 4363 times
Been thanked: 4096 times
Contact:

Re: Flowcode 7.3

Postby Benj » Fri Jan 26, 2018 1:00 pm

Hi Alan,

Thanks for letting us know. For the 7.3 release I believe the only thing we changed in relation to AVR programming was we added a "Do not show again" option when programming a COM port device such as an Arduino.

There is a newer version of the 7.3 EXE here which fixes a bug with constant strings.
viewtopic.php?f=63&t=19743

Maybe this would help? Otherwise it's maybe a new problem that we need to investigate. Is it just programming using your altered settings that is causing the not responding message? When not responding does it still manage to program the device?

User avatar
Alan_37
Posts: 152
Joined: Sun May 01, 2016 8:36 pm
Has thanked: 53 times
Been thanked: 53 times
Contact:

Re: Flowcode 7.3

Postby Alan_37 » Fri Jan 26, 2018 2:04 pm

Hi Benj

Thanks for your reply, No the chip does not program Flowcode compiles to hex ok then a window pops up
"Connect Your Arduino" after pressing ok Flowcode stops responding and has to close.

I will try the new EXE and let you know.

Thanks

User avatar
Alan_37
Posts: 152
Joined: Sun May 01, 2016 8:36 pm
Has thanked: 53 times
Been thanked: 53 times
Contact:

Re: Flowcode 7.3

Postby Alan_37 » Sat Jan 27, 2018 9:47 pm

hi Benj

Just check the EXE file but the same thing it stops and has to close .

User avatar
LeighM
Matrix Staff
Posts: 1875
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2012 10:07 am
Has thanked: 439 times
Been thanked: 632 times
Contact:

Re: Flowcode 7.3

Postby LeighM » Tue Jan 30, 2018 3:11 pm

Hi,
Could you tell us about your PC? Windows version etc?

User avatar
Alan_37
Posts: 152
Joined: Sun May 01, 2016 8:36 pm
Has thanked: 53 times
Been thanked: 53 times
Contact:

Re: Flowcode 7.3

Postby Alan_37 » Sat Feb 17, 2018 9:43 pm

A bit old but i don't think that is the problem.

pc.png
pc.png (8.72 KiB) Viewed 1475 times

User avatar
Steve
Matrix Staff
Posts: 3073
Joined: Tue Jan 03, 2006 3:59 pm
Has thanked: 87 times
Been thanked: 387 times
Contact:

Re: Flowcode 7.3

Postby Steve » Mon Feb 19, 2018 2:13 pm

Hi Alan,

Another thing to try is to run Windows in safe mode. If Flowcode works in safe mode then there might be something on your PC (e.g. anti-virus or firewall) that is interfering.

Regards,
Steve.
These users thanked the author Steve for the post:
medelec35 (Fri Jul 20, 2018 11:53 pm)
Rating: 5.26%
 

User avatar
Alan_37
Posts: 152
Joined: Sun May 01, 2016 8:36 pm
Has thanked: 53 times
Been thanked: 53 times
Contact:

Re: Flowcode 7.3

Postby Alan_37 » Tue Feb 20, 2018 9:35 pm

hi Steve, thanks for your reply


I will try running it in safe mode as you advise, but I don't think that is the problem because
if I use an older flowcode.exe file everything work well again and as I mentioned
with the new exe file everything works well until it is time to download the hex to the MCU.


but I have a go in safe mode and let you know.