Programming a PIC12F629

For questions and comments on programming in general. And for any items that don't fit into the forums below.

Moderators: Benj, Mods

Post Reply
spryderweb
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Jul 22, 2008 6:25 am
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 2 times
Contact:

Programming a PIC12F629

Post by spryderweb »

I am having issues programming the '629 and getting it to work on the development board ver3 HP-488-00-3. I use flowcode. After I compile to chip it says that it is finished but nothing works on the board. I have tried something as simple a just turning on a port so the LED will light. If I use the 16F88 it works fine. Am I missing something on the '629?

User avatar
Benj
Matrix Staff
Posts: 15312
Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2006 10:48 am
Location: Matrix TS Ltd
Has thanked: 4803 times
Been thanked: 4314 times
Contact:

Re: Programming a PIC12F629

Post by Benj »

Hello

What configuration are you using to set up the 629? This could be the cause of it not running your program.

spryderweb
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Jul 22, 2008 6:25 am
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 2 times
Contact:

Re: Programming a PIC12F629

Post by spryderweb »

Using the simple config in Flowcode I entered the following:

Select Chip 12F629
Oscillator XTAL
Watchdog OFF

If I change the Oscillator to RC it give me a OSCCAL error.

Is this what your looking for?

User avatar
Benj
Matrix Staff
Posts: 15312
Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2006 10:48 am
Location: Matrix TS Ltd
Has thanked: 4803 times
Been thanked: 4314 times
Contact:

Re: Programming a PIC12F629

Post by Benj »

Hello

What is your clock speed set to to give the OSCCAL error?

Also which pin are you trying to light up an LED on? I think bits 4 and 5 are configured to use the oscillator unless you are using the internal oscillator. Even if you are using the internal oscillator the XTAL pins are hardwired on the V3 Dev board and therefore you will not be able to see the output changes.

spryderweb
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Jul 22, 2008 6:25 am
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 2 times
Contact:

Re: Programming a PIC12F629

Post by spryderweb »

Clock Speed set at 19.6MHz

Your second statement might be it. I am trying to light and LED using pin 5. Opps. The other is with pin 3 and that doesn't work either. humm I'll try a different configuration of pins.

User avatar
Benj
Matrix Staff
Posts: 15312
Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2006 10:48 am
Location: Matrix TS Ltd
Has thanked: 4803 times
Been thanked: 4314 times
Contact:

Re: Programming a PIC12F629

Post by Benj »

Hello

Ok by default the 12F629 has the following inputs / outputs.

GP0 - Connected to HP488 LB7
GP1 - Connected to HP488 LB6
GP2 - Connected to HP488 LB2
GP3 - Setup as reset by default, Connected to HP488 Reset button - Can be converted to an input via the advanced configuration, No output function for this pin.
GP4 - Setup as OSC2 by default, Can be converted to an input/output via the advanced configuration, Connected to HP488 Crystal
GP5 - Setup as OSC1 by default, Can be converted to an input/output via the advanced configuration, Connected to HP488 Crystal

Hope this helps.

spryderweb
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Jul 22, 2008 6:25 am
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 2 times
Contact:

Re: Programming a PIC12F629

Post by spryderweb »

Very helpful, thank you.

Can I change the advance configuration in Flowcode? I see where I can go to the expert config screen but don't see where to do this?

User avatar
Benj
Matrix Staff
Posts: 15312
Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2006 10:48 am
Location: Matrix TS Ltd
Has thanked: 4803 times
Been thanked: 4314 times
Contact:

Re: Programming a PIC12F629

Post by Benj »

Sorry by advanced configuration I mean Expert configuration.

GP3 is controlled by the MCLR setting and GP4 and GP5 are controlled by the oscillator setting.

Post Reply